Call Me By Your Name by Andre Aciman

 

Well I had no idea what this book was about going into it aside from it was an lgbt book. I was at Barnes and Noble one night looking for an lgbt book so I decided to pull out my trusty iphone and search for lists. I found a list of 100 modern lgbt books…and this was the ONLY one that Barnes and Noble had. Truly sad. But I bought it. And I came home and started reading it right away and got totally sucked into it!

The book is about a family in Italy in the 1980’s that takes in someone as a boarder every summer. This year, they’ve taken in Oliver, a 24 year old writer from the states that has come to finish his book. 17 Year old Elio, the son of the family boarding Oliver, quickly gets attached to Oliver and fantasizes about him and spends as much time around him as he can. As the two spend more and more time together, it is only a matter of time before they are honest about their feelings.

This book was SO beautifully written. It’s a coming of age tale, a sexual awakening tale, a tale of friendship. There are some very graphic scenes in the book, but it is ALWAYS done tastefully. Graphic sex is portrayed as art here and I think Aciman does an amazing job of capturing young lust mistaken for young love. Though who am I to say whether or not these characters love each other…their relationship certainly holds throughout the book.

I was worried at first that it would be creepy having a 17 year old and 24 year old sleeping together, but honestly, it wasn’t at all. It worked for them. Obviously there was a reason the author made Elio 17 rather than an adult at 18, but I think it added to the whole wonder and riskiness of the book. Though I have to say that if this were real life I may feel a little differently :p

Bottom line, great first read of 2012 and I only hope they get better from here! Highly recommended.

___________________________________________________________

I also wanted to mention that over the next several days I’ll be listing numerous books on ebay. These will mostly be first editions, signed copies, limited editions. As part of getting my debt down, I’m getting rid of some true treasures that I hold on to just to hold on to. So I figured I’d sell them to other good homes that would appreciate them. I am NOT asking you all to bid on my items…just making you aware that they’re out there in case there’s anything that really catches your eye and you might want to scoop up for a decent price. Here’s my ebay page and like I said, more books will be added every day. There will be about 50 books going up in total.

9 Responses

  1. That’s sad out of 100 books this is the only one a major book store had…

  2. Sounds really beautiful. And I’m with Kelly – only ONE book?? How awful.

  3. I’m going to comment on everything I’ve missed, here. Am sick, so I’ll try to make it quick and keep from throwing up on your blog. Haha. Anyway, about Dave Ramsey . . . I swear by his principles. We read Total Money Makeover long ago and it really has helped make life more tolerable (we also spent a weekend “Dave Ramsey-ing” our eldest when he was spending wildly, during his college years). Remember, you can save money, even when you’re paying off debt! Don’t forget to put away a little, each week, and build up your emergency fund. It’s a huge load off your mind knowing that if an appliance breaks or a roof leaks, etc., you have the money to take care of it. I’m also working on just reading from my stacks. It’s hard seeing shiny, fresh titles and resisting, but when you have plenty of unread books, reading what you already have is definitely a great way to save money. And, third comment — I had no idea you shop to ease depression! I used to do that. It’s a hard habit to break but I promise you don’t want to end up living in a house cluttered with things you’ll never use. That’s why we’ve spent a year purging ourselves of possessions (and will keep doing so). Love your goals. So glad to see you posting, again!!!!! XXOO

  4. let me mention another possibility to you that doesn’t cost a cent… Craigs List… you and list on there for free… you might want to check it out. Just a thought…

    glad you liked this book! I love that you love almost everything you read!!!

  5. Okay, boo for only one out of the hundred to be found. Really?! How irritating. I’m glad that they had this one at least.

    Also, it’s interesting that you had a moment of considering the age difference and appropriateness. I would have paid no attention to those numbers. Initially I wondered if it was a gender thing…assuming that there was a female and she was 17 and the male or other female was 24. Then, I don’t think anything of the male being 17 and the other male being 24. But I DO kinda get a weird feeling in my stomach when I think of a female being 24 and a male being 17.

    WHAT IS UP WITH THAT???

  6. I had this out from the library but didn’t manage to get to it: I definitely will now!

    I don’t think 17/24 is quite in the creepy realm for me (unless there’s some other power aspect, like boss-employee, teacher-student going on), but it’s definitely a bit eyebrow raising. I know that as a 25 year old, I can’t imagine dating an 18 year old: they seem SO young and I don’t think we’d have anything in common. lol

  7. Kelly, Isn’t it though? It’s so sad 😦

    Amanda, It is really beautiful!! And yes…one book :/

    Nancy, You know I love your long comments 😀 😀 They always make me happy! Oh I’m so glad to have another Dave Ramsey friend!!! His principles make SO much sense and it’s kind of crazy that I wasn’t following them before 🙂 I cannot WAIT to have all of my debt paid off…god, that’s going to be the BEST feeling!! I’m working on my emergency fund right now 🙂 That’s why I’m doing the ebay auctions. I wish shomeone would’ve told me about him before…thanks to Carl, I’ve now discovered him! And yes…the shopping :/ I ALWAYS shop when I’m depressed…I need to find a new thing to keep me occupied, lol. Maybe I’ll start actually READING my books when I’m depressed!! Of course there’s always tv on netflix too :p

    Deslily, I’ve thought about Craigs List but I think I’ll actually make more money on ebay..doing pretty good so far!!! One book is at $51 already! And yeah..I do tend to like everything I read :p

    Christina, I KNOW!!! Isn’t that freaking pathetic? I mean, I didn’t expect much at all, but definitely more than ONE book :/ Disgusting…I think your thoughts on the age differences are totally natural. It really didn’t bother me at all in the end either and I’m with you…I would be TOTALLY creeped out by a 7 yr different straight couple at that age, lol.

    Eva, Aw, you definitely need to get to it when you can!!! In the end the age difference wasn’t creepy for me either…but I totally know what you mean, lol. At that age it just doesn’t seem like it would work, lol. But the 17 yr old in this novel was really mature.

  8. Ugh, I wish I had some end-of-year money left, I’d totally bid on the absolute Sandman volumes #2 and #3. If nobody goes for them (unlikely, I’m thinking. alas!), I’ll see if I can’t dredge up some money in the next month.

  9. Zach, I wish I could afford to just give them to you 😦 I know how much you’d appreciate them!! I’ll see what we can work out if they don’t sell 😉

Leave a Reply

