Bad Bloggers…the Pre-Christmas Post

I figured I might as well get a bad bloggers post out of the way now, because it’s sure to be super overwhelming after Christmas…good lord, where am I going to put all of these books! Hope everyone is having a great holiday season 🙂 Wish I could hug each one of you individually. And can you believe it’s time to start getting our best of lists up already?? Good lord! Alright…here’s the damage:

1. Sonnets From the Portuguese by Elizabeth Barret Browning – I tried Ms. EBB once before and we didn’t get along so well…but I thought I’d try her AGAIN!!! And of course the point for this one goes to Jason (Paperback Swap)

2. Orlando by Virginia Woolf – Well I had to get this one…I’ve been wanting it for a long time. Virginia Woolf playing with gender…it’s gotta be good! (Paperback Swap)

3. The Accidental by Ali Smith – When I was ordering Orlando, I saw the same member had this book too! I’ve yet to read any Ali Smith and I don’t know anything about this book, but she’s just one of those authors that I have a feeling I’ll love. (Paperback Swap)

4. Tales of Terror from the Tunnel’s Mouth by Chris Priestley – And so begins the bookcloseouts.com pile. Guys, I got like 14 books for $40. Couldn’t pass it up!! And this is one of them. Carl introduced me to this series of spooky tales a couple of years back and I’m hooked! Point to Carl. (Bought it)

5. Bitten: True Medical Stories of Bites and Stings by Pamela Nagami, M.D. – Saw this one on book closeouts and bought it based on the title. Sounds like my kind of nonfic! (Bought it)

6. How they Met and Other Stories by David Levithan – Debi bought this book when I was with her in New York and after flipping through it I knew I wanted my very own copy. So here it is! Point to Debs. (Bought it)

7. The Secret Year by Jennifer Hubbard – I don’t even remember what this book is about or who I learned of it from :/ I should really start keeping track of that. My memory is not the most reliable method….But I haz it now! (Bought it)

8. If You Follow Me by Malena Watrous – I don’t know who the blame goes to for this one either 😦 I feel like lots of people have reviewed this one though…so if you want to claim a point for this book OR The Secret Year, just let me know :p (Bought it)

9. Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices by Paul Fleischman – This just sounded really good!! (Bought it)

10. Breathing by Cheryl Renee Herbsman – I want to say that Amy recommended this one. Didn’t you Amy? Anyway, you get a point 🙂 I’ve always loved this cover too! (Bought it)

11. Victorian London: The Tale of a City 1840-1870 by Liza Picard – I think this is the book I’m most excited about in this stack!! Ana reviewed this one awhile ago and it just sounds like an incredibly fun book. Point to Ana. (Bought it)

12. The Impostor’s Daughter: A True Memoir by Laurie Sandell – If I recall correctly, Ana wasn’t even that crazy about this one, but she still made it sound like something I need to read…she tends to do that. Point to Ana. (Bought it)

13. Tomato Girl by Jayne Pupek – Well first off, I love the title of this book and the cover. I saw it on Debi’s Paperback Swap wishlist and so I stole it from her :p She gets a point for this one. (Bought it)

14. Bones of Faerie by Janni Lee Simner – This is one that Pat reviewed quite a while ago, but it’s been sitting prominently on the wishlist ever since she did review it. Sounds good! Point to Pat! (Bought it)

15. Salt, Lemons, Vinegar and Baking Soda – This is an awesome little reference book that I found in Barnes and Noble’s bargain section…I can see myself using this one a LOT when I get my own house to keep everything clean the natural way! (Bought it)

16. The Best American Poetry of 2011 ed. by Kevin Young – All Lu’s fault!! She said that this was a really good one and I’ve been craving poetry lately. Looks like an incredibly cool collection! Point to Lu! (Bought it)

17. The Best American Science and Nature Writing of 2011 ed. by Mary Roach – So this book just sounds like a dream come true. It’s SCIENCE and NATURE edited by MARY ROACH! How could it be bad??? (Bought it)

18. Masala Farm: Stories and Recipes from an Uncommon Life in the Country by Suvir Saran – This sounds AWESOME. It’s a book written by an Indian American who moves onto a farm and raises his own food. And as the title suggests, it’s filled with recipes and stories and beautiful pictures! Just found this at Barnes and Noble…hadn’t heard of it before, but it was screaming at me READ ME. (Bought it)

19. Sons and Lover by D.H. Lawrence – Jonathan Carroll tweeted a quote from this book one night and the quote was so beautiful that I had to get the book. I hadn’t had a desire to read it before now. Point to Jonathan Carroll. (Paperback Swap)

20. Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers: A History of Lesbian Life in Twentieth Century America by Lillian Faderman – hadn’t heard of this one before, but saw it on Paperback Swap and had to get it just for the title. I actually started wondering if maybe Ana HAD reviewed this because it sounds like something she would love..hmmmm…I should check! (Paperback Swap)

21. Flood by Stephen Baxter – FINALLY. I don’t know why I haven’t bought this until now. Renay has wanted me to read this for awhile now and it’s really intriguing to me. So I saw a copy at Barnes and Noble today when I was finishing my Christmas shopping and said “screw it, I’m getting it.” Point to Renay! (Bought it)

22. Cinder by Marissa Meyer – Yay surprise ARCs that sound really good!!!! I actually don’t get many ARCs..like pretty much none at all. But every now and then a publisher will surprise me with one and they end up sounding really good. Like this one! I read the first few pages as soon as I opened it because I loved the cover and it looks like it’s a futuristic steampunk retelling of Cinderellla. Awesome. (Review Copy)

7 Responses

  1. OMG! I got a point! LOL LOL.. wow Chris you have a good memory I can’t even remember what it was about LOL.. I do remember that I read it.. long long ago lol…

    did you get my emails????

  2. Woohoo! Sonnets from the Portuguese is so good, best poetry I’ve ever read and you know how difficult it is for me to read poetry. It’s much better than Aurora Leigh and much easier to read, too. It literally made me cry. And I loved If You Follow Me! That’s such a good one. And The Imposter’s Daughter! So many good books here.

  3. Enjoy your new books! The year is just flying by! I received your Christmas card. Thank you very much! I didn’t do Christmas cards this year… I really must plan ahead for next year..

  4. Now that’s another fine pile of loot you got there!!! Rich has Bitten–I’ve been wanting to read it for a while…but well, you know, the too many books too little time thing. And Annie just got Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers out of the library! (I actually own it, but it’s packed up in our storage unit…god, I miss our books!) And I can see why you’re excited about Victorian London–I’ve had that on my wish list ever since Ana reviewed it, too! Ahhh…just so many awesome sounding books in that haul, Chris!!! Can’t wait to see what you pull in for Christmas! 😛

  5. cinder = soooo good!

  6. So I think that we need a picture of your bookshelves. They’ve got to be OVERFLOWING!!

    I hope that you have a beautiful Christmas, Chris. 🙂

  7. I need to pick up Tales of Terror from the Tunnel’s Mouth for myself. It is the only one of the three I haven’t purchased yet. I’ve read it and loved it. Now I need to own it.

Leave a Reply

