I'll Be Home For Christmas…

I totally failed at the Advent Calendar this year. I was supposed to post yesterday, December 8th :/ I’m so sorry, Kelly and Marg!!! I felt horrible and asked Kelly if I could still join in because I love the Advent Calendar and she gave me the ok πŸ™‚ I’ve been a stranger lately. I’m not going to apologize (again) because I’m sure you all must get sick of me saying “sorry I’ve been a stranger!!” but I really do miss being around more often. Mainly, stress has me bogged down. And I won’t get into all of that because this is a HAPPY CHRISTMAS POST!!! But I will tell you about one stressor. And it’s a GREAT stress, but it’s still stress. I’m looking for a house! As in, a house to buy! While this excites me more than I can say, it’s also sad because this’ll most likely be the last Christmas that I’m here at home with my mom and sister. At least for early in the morning. So I thought I’d talk a little about our Christmas traditions. The stuff I’ll miss.

Christmas has always been a huge deal here at the Howard household for as long as I can remember. There are those embarassing videos of me and my sister opening our gifts in our underwear and a big tshirt and acting like total nuts when we get something really cool. But I love the videos so much. My mom has always spoiled the hell out of us for Christmas. I’m not even going to lie. Every year, our expectations are blown out of proportion when we see the tree on Christmas morning. And me and my sister still get excited on Christmas morning.

When we were kids, the tradition was to sleep in the same bed and try to stay up ALL NIGHT (which never actually happened) waiting for Santa to come so that we could hear him. Eventually, we’d pass the hell out when our bodies crashed from excitement. But as soon as one of us would wake up we’d go jump on my mom’s bed and wake her up. NOW came the real anticipation. And this still happens. Once we woke my mom up, we’d have to wait in the hallway behind closed doors while she brewed a pot of coffee, made some pillsbury cinnamon rolls and put on the Christmas music. Then we could finally charge in and sit by our humongous piles of pressies.

Before we could open up our presents though, we would have to throw the mouse on the floor. Yes, you heard that right. We have this Christmas countdown calendar that we’ve had FOREVER. I think my mom got it from Avon or something. It’s seen better days at this point, but we still hang it every year. It has a little spot to move a mouse forward each day counting down to Christmas. And since there’s no “25” on the calendar, me and my sister would make a tradition of throwing the mouse on the floor on Christmas morning.

We’ve had new traditions over the years. My favorite is the creepy snowman. My mom bought this thing and it freaked my sister out one year. Yes, it looks nice and sweet, but it also looks like it’s freaking ALIVE and staring at you. So me and my sister have made a tradition of freaking each other out with it :p I’ll put it right in front of her door so that when she opens it it’s just standing there and then she’ll put it in my bed under the sheets and then I’ll put it in the shower to freak her out when she goes in there, etc. etc. Right now, it’s standing on the side of her dresser so that when she gets home and lays in bed, it’ll be staring directly at her :p

So yeah…I’m gonna miss a lot of this stuff. A lot. But I know there will be new Christmas memories made along the way too and new traditions formed. Can’t wait to see what they are πŸ™‚

15 Responses

  1. Really fun Christmas traditions there Chris. When you do get your own house, I can totally see your sister making sure the creepy snowman pays a visit. Be wary about giving her a key! πŸ˜‰

  2. well thanks a bunch Chris… it’s 6:55 am and you already made me cry! lol wonderful times for you to remember. It makes me wonder if my kids ever remember christmas’s from when they were very young…
    Sometimes I wonder about as the “kids move out”..I realize we all need privacy but sometimes I think families were meant to stay together forever. it seems that large families used to do things like that and found their own ways of privacy but still remained a tight knit family…or is that just in movies?

    I hope you have a very merry Christmas Chris. :o) and all your family too!

  3. Merry Christmas and Merry Everything! Hugs, C

  4. I love this post so much!!!!! Family Christmas traditions are the absolute best! I love the mouse thing, and the creepy snowman. πŸ˜€ Oh Chris reading this made me so so happy! I should write up my own post about our Christmas traditions. πŸ˜€

  5. This is great, Chris. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas this year! And making your own traditions will be lots of fun. πŸ™‚

  6. In an odd sort of way, the snowman reminds me of the cover for The Sisters Brothers. Which is also creepy.

    Good luck on the house search…that is soooooooo exciting!!

  7. OMG. First your email and now this post. You’ve turned me into a big old soppy crying mess this evening. And I can’t possibly thank you enough for that. God, I love you.

    The creepy snowman thing just cracked me up. Seriously. It also totally cracked me up that your Mom made you all wait behind closed doors while she made a pot of coffee–she’s got her priorities straight! πŸ˜€

  8. You have some super cool traditions. The mouse throwing and snowman hiding are hilarious. Good luck house-hunting!

  9. I love this post! My brother and I had some fun traditions as well. We got to open our stockings before anyone was up, and for some reason we always did this on the kitchen floor. ??

  10. What a great post! I love the snowman hiding!

  11. I loved reading about your holiday traditions. It’s so exciting that you’re looking into buying a house. I cannot wait until I can do that! I’m so sick of renting :/. Z and I live together now, so it’s so much fun to have our own tree. We’re slowly amassing holiday decorations and traditions. We still spend the actual day apart with our families, but one day when we have kids we’ll come up with our own traditions. Though I grew up in a religious household, I’m not religious, so it will be a lot of fun to come up with secular traditions πŸ˜€

  12. Love the creepy snowman story. Family traditions are what make the holidays!

  13. Congrats on looking for a house! That’s very exciting, though I can certainly relate to missing the normal family traditions. I need to start looking for a place for my son and I, but I will miss being with my mom terribly. πŸ™‚

  14. sounds like you guys have a lot of fun on Christmas! And hey, we have that same Advent calendar too! kayeβ€”the road goes ever ever on

  15. Love this post, Chris. Your Christmas sounds a bit like ours growing up–my two sisters and I would crowd into a bed together (in our matching jammies gifted on Christmas Eve) and then all get up early early and run into parents bedroom. Thank you for sharing your joy.

Leave a Reply

