Yay Gay Season 1!

I’ve been in a HUGE reading funk lately. As in I haven’t finished a book all month. I think it’s partly because I’ve been looking forward to my Yay Gay January that I planned this year. So I said, what the hell, let’s just make a whole season of gay reading. So that’s exactly what I’m doing!! From now through January 31st, the plan is to read nothing but books by lgbt authors, or books that have an lgbt theme, or books that can teach me some more history about the lgbt community. Looking forward to it! And I started last night with The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky and my funk is now gone! I’m thinking of doing this anually. After RIP, it’s natural I guess to go into a reading funk, so this will give me more time for deliberate reading. Every November through January. So here’s the list of what I’ll be reading. Of course, it is subject to change:

    1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
    2. Anabel by Kathleen Winter
    3. Girl Meets Boy by Ali Smith
    4. We the Animals by Justin Torres
    5. Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters
    6. The Night Watch by Sarah Waters
    7. Hidden Warrior by Lynn Flewelling
    8. Fun Home by Alison Bechdel
    9. The Love We Share Without Knowing by Christopher Barzak
    10. One For Sorrow by Christopher Barzak
    11. The Boy in the Dress by David Walliams
    12. The Passion by Jeanette Winterson
    13. Oranges are Not the Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson
    14. The Poems of Sappho by Sappho
    15. Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk by David Sedaris
    16. Naked by David Sedaris
    17. Barrel Fever by David Sedaris
    18. The Body of Christopher Creed by Carol Plum-Ucci
    19. Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult
    20. Keeping you a Secret by Julie Anne Peters
    21. Rage by Julie Anne Peters
    22. The Misfits by James Howe
    23. Annie On My Mind by Nancy Garden
    24. Notes on a Scandal by Zoe Heller
    25. Hero by Perry Moore
    26. A Son Called Gabriel by Damian McNicholl
    27. My Queer War by James Lord
    28. Ash by Malinda Lo
    29. The Full Spectrum edited by David Levithan
    30. The Bucolic Plague by Josh Kilmer-Purcell
    31. The Bermudez Triangle by Maureen Johnson
    32. Sexual Metamorphosis: An Anthology of Transsexual Memoirs edited by Jonathan Ames
    33. Carnival by Elizabeth Bear
    34. A Queer History of the United States by Michael Bronski
    35. The Secret Fruit of Peter Paddington by Brian Francis
    36. I’ll Get There.Β  It Better Be Worth The Trip by John Donovan
    37. Boyhoods by Ken Corbett

Let me know if you can think of anything else that NEEDS to be on this list! And of course, feel free to join in if you want πŸ™‚ You don’t have to read all three months, nothing but lgbt lit of course, but maybe let this be a chance for you to dive in! This is not an official challenge or anything like that. More just something I wanted to do for myself. Hope everyone is doing fantastic!!

10 Responses

  1. Oh what fun! And I’m glad it ended your reading slump. πŸ™‚ Odd Girls & Twilight Lovers was a really neat history of US 20th century lesbians.

  2. lol, I love the button πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to hear what you think of Perks. And you need to read Girl Meets Boy RIGHT NOW! PS: Not sure What I Was qualifies, though I definitely want you to read it at some point πŸ˜›

  3. the last 2 (3 if I count the book I am reading now) has perked me up also. But I don’t know if it will perk up my whole slump or not.. my better feelings came from reading Oscar Wilde and the Candlelight murders (names mentioned in the book are Conan Doyle, Sherlock Holmes and of course Oscar Wilde) then I read “A Walk in the Woods” by Bill Bryson…and his sense of humor helped me a lot! So I am hoping my slump is over also! If I seem to go back to the slump I will try reading an old favorite book that I’ve read before and KNOW I will enjoy…

    did you read all the sarah waters books??? I know you read some but wondered if there was more that might interst you? It’s sure a good feeling to be out of a reading slump!!!

  4. I have The Night Watch by Waters on my shelf, but haven’t read it, though. I did enjoy Ivan and Misha about two gay brother from Russia in New York, it was very moving to me. And, I just finished People Tell Me Things written by a gay man (David Finkle) who’s a wonderful writer! Review to be posted on Monday. I’ll pass my copy on to you if you’ll resend me your mailing address.

  5. That’s great that you have found something to jump start your reading. Good luck with your project!

  6. This sounds like so much fun! I hope you enjoy Anne on my Mind. It’s one of my favorites. Happy reading!

  7. Oh em gee! I freakin’ adored Perks like a basket full of kittens. I just wanted to pet that book all day long. Post your review soon please!

  8. I LOVE THIS!!!! And whoa–what an awesome pile of books!!! So many I want to read on there. (You know, like all the ones I haven’t read yet. πŸ˜› ) I loved The Body of Christopher Creed, but I don’t remember any gay characters. Is Carol Plum-Ucci lesbian? Anyway, I haven’t read it yet, but I think her book What Happened to Lani Garver would qualify (it sounds really good!) And did I tell you that I found Anabel in the used section of B&N the other day–made Rich buy it for me for Christmas. πŸ™‚

  9. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Jeanette Winterson. “Better Angel” by Richard Meeker is really good too, if you haven’t read it?

  10. […] take a toll on some of the Liars while others blossom. Love is not for the faint of heart. – After a shocking revelation from the police, the spotlight is turned on four little liars who loo… crying wolf. But with everything pointing to Ian, how could the girls be wrong? Or could this be […]

Leave a Reply

