Random Monday

Hey guys! Remember me? I’m still here. I had disappeared for awhile due to NaNoWriMo, but sadly, that has ended for me. I was about four days behind where I should be and started getting super stressed out trying to catch up and I don’t need the added stress right now. So I’m bowing out. I’ve learned that NaNo is not a good writing mechanism for me. I’m too much of a perfectionist just to pump out the words and not worry as much about the quality. Though I do think that NaNo is amazing for those who can do it and I’ll continue to support them every year and donate and buy a tshirt. Anyways, to the rest of you still participating, I wish you all the best and hope you rock it!!!!!

What have I been doing in the mean time? Stressing :/ What I do best. Work has just been CRAZY lately. I don’t know what’s happening, but the mental health system in New Orleans just seems to be getting more and more crowded with less and less resources. I was kind of pissed when we reelected Bobby Jindal as governor seeing how he’s pretty much destroyed the mental health system that was already suffering. I’m sorry, but I think the man is a total asshole. I get pissed just seeing his face these days.

Also having a post Matt visit funk. Matt and Renay came to visit me a couple of weeks ago and it was AMAZING!! I love them both so much. But it’s always so hard having to say goodbye. I can’t wait til the day when there are no more goodbyes between me and Matt. It’s really rough. I think the distance has been good in some ways. It’s allowed us to take our relationship slower and really build it. But at the same time, it’s rough not being able to get a hug whenever I want one.

But onto happier things! Reading! Well…it’s not so happy, lol. I haven’t finished a single book this month yet…though I’m reading some good ones! I’m reading Umberto Eco’s new book, The Prague Cemetery. I decided to get that one after hearing an excellent interview with him on the Diane Rehm show. Also reading Catch 22 for the first time EVER! And I’m loving it! Then there’s The Magic of Reality by Richard Dawkins and Dave McKean which is so incredibly cool. A book of poetry by Margaret Atwood. AND Dark of the Moon by John Sandford, the first book in the Virgil Flowers series. Yeah…think I’m reading too much at one time? I do too :p The sad thing is, I’m really craving some non-fic to throw into that…well The Magic of Reality is nonfic, lol. But I’m thinking of starting either Boyhoods or A Queer History of the United States. Dying to read both!

Other good things…I made pineapple jelly this weekend!!! It’s easily the best jelly I’ve EVER made!! It’s actually supposed to be pineapple butter, but I think it came out more like jam. Here’s a pic of it 😀 And here’s a link to the recipe I used!

And that’s all for now folks…though I hope to be back with some book reviews EVENTUALLY! Miss everyone!!!

12 Responses

  1. Every year I sign up as a rebel for NaNo, and every year I wind up failing at even that. I’ve learned that it is definitely not how I write and that I never will write that way. Oh, well. C’est la vie. The novel will get written someday. Just not doing a NaNo, and probably not during the month of November.

  2. It’s a miracle that I’m online, so how cool that I get to catch your newest post! First off, that pineapple butter looks so good. I’ll have to keep that recipe in mind.

    Having just come through a drought in reading, I know how weird it feels to not have a bunch of books to report on. I didn’t even remotely sign up for NaNo, so I take my hat off to you for even diving in with that, especially with work and everything. How awesome that you got to see Matt and Renay too. 🙂 That had to be the best!

    Well, good luck with everything. Hopefully I’ll be back around to visit again soon!

  3. ohhhhh I am sorry you stopped writing your story! I really felt you had the right subject matter and the right feelings about what you were writing. I think you should stop Nano but keep writing on your story.. just do it when you feel like it…

    Your pinapple butter looks devine! Geez when I was married my husband nor either of my sons every attempted to cook a darn thing let alone garden or preserve things!! you are so good!!! but then you are my son! :o)

  4. So sorry to hear about your work stress. I feel ya, though! It’s been keeping me from my books much of the time. On the up side your pineapple jelly looks AMAZING! Yum-o!

  5. 😦 Boo to work stress. And Boo to being apart from those you love.

    Sounds like you’ve got some amazing reads going, but yeah, I can so relate to the feeling that you’ve just got too many going at once.

    I’m sorry you felt like you had to give up on NaNo, but I totally understand where you’re coming from. I don’t think I could ever do it…and one of the biggest reasons why is just the reason you quit. But god, Chris, don’t give up on the story–I’m begging you! It’s so damn good!!! (I’ll talk to you more about that when I email you.)

    Love you.

  6. Ugh, Jindal’s the worst. I almost wished I had delayed changing my voter registration to New York, because it would have meant I could have voted against Jindal. But it sounds like my vote would not have made any difference. 😦

  7. Pineapple butter! Cool!

    As to Nano . . . I was about a week behind when I finally decided to can it. Slept for about 5 days, thanks to jetlag and then I have so much going on in my life that I lost two more, a week later. I’m really not sad about quitting. I knew it would be hard after traveling such a long way and kind of figured I’d just use it to flex my writers’ brain. It was great for that. If it was adding to your stress, you’re best off ditching and just writing slowly when you can find the time. It’s great that you joined at all, if you ask me. I’m a big fan of Nano but sometimes it’s best to move on.

  8. I’m so sorry that work is so chaotic right now. I hope things get better. Pineapple jelly looks good. Personally I’m crazy about apple jelly. It’s so good! Have you tried it? 🙂 I hope you have a great week, Chris!

  9. I’m glad you’re back, even a little bit! I’m sad you’re dealing with work stress & missing Matt. 😦 I’m not a terribly huge pineapple fan, but those jars look so cheerful.

  10. Let’s start with hugs, shall we? Hugs.

    I don’t like those capital letters in STRESS!!! Here’s to hoping you can let go of at least a little bit of it. I love to stress about things as well but have been REALLY trying to focus on letting a bit of it go. My house is disgustingly dirty, but I’d rather spend my free time watching that baby scoot around than mopping and dusting. Right?!

    Glad you’re loving Catch-22. Really enjoyed that one!

    Ok, we’ll end with hugs, too. Hugs.

  11. OMG! That pineapple butter looks like a golden ray of sunshiny deliciousness!

  12. Pineapple jelly sounds amazing!!! I haven’t had anything like it before and my taste buds are now officially watering.

Leave a Reply

