Weekend Cooking – HAM!

Guys I made a freaking ham! All by myself! Well not entirely by myself…with the help of the Beekman Boys’ Heirloom cookbook which is absolutely amazing by the way and you should have it in your kitchen library. This thing tastes so freaking good!! The flavors are all definitely there and I kind of never want to stop eating this…but I have to because we plan on eating this on french rolls tomorrow during the Saints game. So here’s the recipe guys!! If you want more great recipes like this, visit Beth Fish’s Weekend Cooking AND/OR go buy the Beekman 1802 Heirloom Cookbook.

Note: This recipe calls for no rosemary :p It’s just me trying to make the ham look pretty.

Currant Glazed Baked Ham:

Ingredients:

1 Fully cooked, bone in half ham (6 to 8 pounds), preferably from the butt end (Note: I actually got a boneless ham…used a Hormel Cure 87..half ham)
1 Cup Pineapple juice
1 Cinnamon stick, split
8 Whole Cloves
2 Bay leaves (used them from my own tree :))
1/2 Cup red currant jelly (I actually used black currant jelly for mine!)
2 Tablespoons Brown mustard
2 Tablespoons light brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Place the ham on a rack in a roasting pan with a lid. Using a sharp knife, score the fat on top of the ham in a diamond pattern. Pour the pineapple juice and 1/2 cup water into the bottom of the pan along with the cinnamon stick, cloves, and bay leaves. Cover the ham (if you don’t have a covered roasting pan, oil a large piece of foil and cover the pan, oiled side down); roast for 45 minutes.
In a small skillet, melt the jelly over low heat. Stir in the mustard, brown sugar, and ginger.

Uncover the ham and brush it with one-third of the jelly mixture. Bake for 10 minutes. Brush with half the remaining jelly mixture, baste with the pan juices, and bake for 10 minutes. Brush the ham with the remaining jelly mixture and bake for 10 to 15 minutes, or until an instant-read thermometer registers 140 degrees.

Let the ham rest for 10 minutes before slicing.

FREAKING ENJOY IT!

15 Responses

  1. It looks so good!! I like the idea of using currant jelly – going to look for the Beekman Boys’ cookbook. Good luck to your team πŸ™‚

  2. It looks very pretty! I admit, I’m not a ham fan at all, but I have come to LOVE the Weekend Cooking meme! I’ll be putting up a post either later tonight or tomorrow morning. πŸ˜€

  3. Gorgeous! Have you got a giant rosemary bush, too? Ours has taken over half the kitchen garden, but since the other half is fallow, that’s fine. For now. If it gets much bigger, it’s getting a major haircut.

  4. Oh that does sounds so good! reading all these weekend cooking posts have made me hungry!

  5. OMG — look at that photo! I’m going to be eating a boring shrimp and broccoli rabe stir-fry tonight. I’d better not let Mr. BFR see that you’re having ham. You and Dawn have convinced me to get the cookbook — I meant to pick it up yesterday but home football traffic kept me at home.

  6. if you keep up such good gardening and learn how to cook like that all I can say is that I totally expect you and Matt to adopt me and let me move in with you both when you get your own home!.. then I can grow fatter but I’ll smile alot! lol

  7. That ham is beautiful! Save me a slice or two! πŸ˜‰

  8. Beautiful ham! I have to admit I will *always* say my mother’s ham is the best, but this recipe looks well worth a try for me. Thanks for the recipe!

  9. That’s gorgeous! What a great thing to have around for game day.

  10. That looks yummy! And I can imagine that everyone present needed a yummy ham to occupy their thoughts, because that game was stressful as hell. I ate up all the cookies I made for my friend. :/ I’m glad it’s over, and now I can go back to supporting the Panthers as my B team, which is a more comfortable place for me because I am very fond of Cam Newton and I love seeing Brandon Lafell doing so well at wide receiver.

  11. You sound like me when I made my first turkey. It was huge news! lol

  12. That looks so awesome!

    You are much braver than I am! I can’t imagine being in a position of wanting to make a whole ham like that!

  13. MMmmmmMMMMMM!!!!!!! The rosemary adds quite the touch. Is it rosemary from your garden? It is one of my most favorite things to grow. Basil on the other hand is so darn finicky…

  14. That is too awesome, Chris. Very well done. It looks amazing! I have no doubt I could cook one myself, but to have it turn out that good looking? You da man!!!

Leave a Reply

