Yay Gay January

I don’t have any major life changing reason to want to do this, but I’m thinking that in January of 2012 I’m making it a goal of mine to read nothing but LGBT books. Why? Just because I like LGBT books a lot and want an excuse to spend an entire month reading nothing but them :p And when I say I want to read LGBT books, I mean just that…book that fall into the Lesbian category, Gay category, Bisexual category AND Transgendered category. I’m giving everyone a little air time here. I’m super super excited about this 😀 So…I have a question for you guys! What are some of your favorite LGBT books? Any genre! Non fiction, fiction, YA, fantasy, mystery, etc. etc. I had no plans to make this a challenge and still have no plans to do so, but if you want to join along and read some lgbt books in January or commit the whole month to reading nothing but lgbt books like I’m doing, please feel free to join in!! I’ll post some of my favorite lgbt books sometime soon and then post some books I really want to read. Feel free to add to my wishlist :p

12 Responses

  1. Here are some of my top favs.

    1. Luna by Julie Anne Peters
    2. Keeping You a Secret by Julie Anne Peters
    3. Pink by Lili Wilkins (altho more questioning/finding yourself than straight up LGBTQ)
    4. Pages for You by Slyvia Brownrigg

  2. That should be Lili Wilkinson, sorry!

  3. I think that’s a great idea Chris! I’m sure you already know 99% of my favorite GLBT books. Are you reading just books about GLBT characters or ones written by GLBT authors too?

    I highly recommend The White Devil by Justin Evans, The Unit by Ninni Holmqvist, If You Follow Me by Malena Waltrous, Notes on a Scandal by Zoe Heller, and of course anything by Julie Anne Peters or David Levithan!

  4. you might want to give a try for Chaz Bono’s book: Transition: The Story of How I Became a Man .. I have to say since he’s been on dancing with the stars I’ve never seen him smile so much or be so happy.. life is not always kind, but when it’s right.. it’s right.

  5. You could always read MOAR Sarah Waters 😀

  6. One of my goals for 2011 was to read some LGBT lit, as I really haven’t read much before. I got a little sidetracked with review books (remedying that now!), but I did read a couple and enjoyed them both. I’m really looking forward to your list posts! I may try to read a couple in January as well. Great idea!

  7. I imagine you’re rather gunshy about any book suggestion from my by this point, but “Better Angel” by Richard Meeker, is a beautiful little book written by a man who came to terms with being homosexual in the 1920’s, novelizing his experiences of that. Its in the public domain, I think. Also Carmilla, by Sheridan Le Fanu, if that counts. Also, I’ve read “Oranges are Not the Only Fruit” AND “The Passion” by Jeannette Winterson and they were both AMAZING books that I highly recommend.

  8. Sounds like fun! I hope you read lots of great books! I am with Ana, read more Sarah Waters. 🙂

  9. Have you ever read Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden? It was one of my favorite books as a teenager. It’s also a banned book.

  10. What a great project, Chris! I’d recommend anything by Michelle Tea, Holding Still for as Long as Possible by Zoe Whittall, and The Bermudez Triangle by Maureen Johnson, among others. So much good stuff!

  11. Ooh, awesome! And what fun! I would recommend Tipping the Velvet or Affinity. If you can find an omnibus of Strangers in Paradise graphic novel, it’s one of the very best. I may join you on this!

  12. You should read more from Lynn Flewelling! The next two Tamir books (I think you said once you’ve only read the first one?) are great for trans content, and the Nightrunner books are fun gay fantasy adventures.

    Jacqueline Carey is wonderful, too. Pretty well everyone in her books is bisexual. SANTA OLIVIA is a shortish standalone, so it could be a great place to start. The tone is different from that of her Kushiel books, though, so it isn’t entirely representative of her body of work.

    Sarah Monette’s books are my favouritest of favourites. Begin with MELUSINE. It starts off a tad slow, but it becomes mindblowingly awesome. A COMPANION TO WOLVES, her collaboration with Elizabeth Bear, is also really good. I just finished the sequel, THE TEMPERING OF MEN, and was pleased to find some trans characters therein as well as gay folks.

    Elizabeth Bear’s solo work is well worth picking up, too. My favourites are NEW AMSTERDAM (about a vampire detective and forensic sorceress) and CARNIVAL (about two ambassador-spies who’re also exes).

    On the nonfiction front, GAY NEW YORK is wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. It’s the book that got me into social history.

    For literary/historical fiction, Ann-Marie MacDonald’s FALL ON YOUR KNEES and THE WAY THE CROW FLIES are both amazing. I’m not sure if you’re one of those readers who shies away from Oprah books, but if you are, please don’t let that put you off. MacDonald is brilliant.

    You already know about Gregory Maguire. SON OF A WITCH has more overt LGBT elements than WICKED did, and I’m hopeful the forthcoming OUT OF OZ will continue in that vein. A LION AMONG MEN is also great, but I don’t recall any specifically LGBT content.

    … and that’s probably way more than you wanted, so I’ll shut up now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

