Geez…Another Bad Bad Bloggers…

It never ends, does it? Can I blame it on RIP???? Please??

1. RASL by Jeff Smith – I didn’t even know this series existed!! But it looks gorgeous..and yes, that’s the same Jeff Smith that wrote Bone! (Bought it)

2. The Nymphos of Rocky Flats by Mario Acevedo – So when I went to visit Debi and fam, Rich bought this book. That title. And the description just keeps getting better…really. Point to Rich! (Paperback Swap)

3. Tender at the Bone: Growing Up at the Table by Ruth Reichl – The blame for this one goes to my local indie, Octavia Books. I hadn’t heard of her books, but she’s coming to sign at the bookstore! Sadly, I won’t be able to go, but looking forward to reading the books! (Paperback Swap)

4. Comfort Me With Apples: More Adventures at the Table by Ruth Reichl – Same as above (Paperback Swap)

5. The Radiation Sonnets by Jane Yolen – OMG you guys, this book was amazing! If you missed it, I reviewed it already and loved it. It’s a book of poetry by Yolen that she wrote as her husband was going through radiation treatments. (Paperback Swap)

6. A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban – Becky wrote up a post of all of her favorite books since she started blogging and needless to say, I added them all to my wishlist :p Can’t go wrong with Becky!! Point to Becky! (Paperback Swap)

7. Valley of Fear by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – To feed my sherlock obsession (Paperback Swap)

8. The Dragonfly Pool by Eva Ibbotson – A point to Ana for making this one sound so damn good!! (Paperback Swap)

9. His Last Bow by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – More sherlock goodness…(Paperback Swap)

10. The Return of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – And yet more…(Paperback Swap)

11. Spooky South by S.E. Schlosser – I was really hoping to like this one, but it just didn’t work for me at all 😦 Aside from the art! I reviewed this one already too! (Bought it)

12. The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – I will never need to buy more Sherlock again…(Paperback Swap)

13. Walden by Henry David Thoreau – I listened to Michael Pollan’s Second Nature on audiobook and he mentioned this NUMEROUS times throughout the book. I’ve never read Walden, so I thought that maybe it’s time! Point to Michael Pollan! (Paperback Swap)

14. From the Ground Up by Amy Stewart – Because it just sounds good and Amy Stewart rocks! (Paperback Swap)

15. Blood Wounds by Susan Beth Pfeffer – This is her new one! I had preordered this ages ago actually and it just came in! Hooray 😀 I love Pfeffer!! (Bought it)

16. The Dreaming Volume 1 by Queenie Chan – Read this one already too and absolutely loved it!! Point to Annie for this one as I know she totally loves it 🙂 (Paperback Swap)

17. Every You, Every Me by David Levithan – Another that I had preordered. I reviewed this one already too. Really enjoyed it 🙂 Good lord…it’s preorder season! I’m going to have lots of books coming in, lol. (Bought it)

18. When She Woke by Hillary Jordan – laksdjflasdjf;lkadjs That was my reaction when I got this in the mail!! Nancy sent me her review copy 😀 But the point for this one goes to Heather who had me dying to read it!! (Gift from a friend)

19. The Hottest Dishes of the Tartar Cuisine by Alina Bronsky – And Nancy, being the sweet woman that she is, sent this little gift with When She Woke 🙂 I haven’t even heard of this one, but Nancy gets a point for putting it on my radar :p (Gift from a friend)

20. The Call of Cthulu and Other Dark Tales by H.P. Lovecraft – So Jill and Heather are doing Dueling Monsters again this year!! And Cthulu is one of the books!!!! YAY!!! I had to go pick up a copy to read along today 🙂 Point to Jill as this was her pick! (Bought it)

15 Responses

  1. Good haul! When She Woke was really good! I need to get back to Sherlock Holmes.

    When are you going to do another vlog? It’s been forever!

  2. Jeez, your house must be starting to look like mine, witch treacherous piles of books lurking around every corner trying to trip you. That, of course, is no reason to stop acquiring books, though. 😉

    Looks like you’ve got tons of winners here! I’m not a huge poetry person, but I read your review of The Radiation Sonnets, and I think I’m going to have to find a copy. I’m eager to hear what you think about Blood Wounds. I’m still in crazy love with Life as We Knew It, so I’m excited to see what else Pfeffer has up her sleeve. And The Hottest Dishes of the Tartar Cuisine is one of my surprise hits of the year. Hope you enjoy!

    Happy reading!

  3. I’m glad you’re in for Dueling Monsters but how COULD you betray me and join Jill’s team?! LOL Honestly I’m a bit afraid to read Cthulhu but I’m going to do it anyway …

  4. WEll, I don’t feel so badly now for the amount of books I brought in this summer! lol Isn’t it fun to have new books in the house? and look forward to reading them all.I look forward to your reviews! I’ve been thinking about reading the Ruth Reichl books, I have heard good things about her. yaay for book hauls!!! Enjoy them, Chris!

  5. When She Woke is SO GOOD. That’s the only one I’ve read, but I loved it. I hope you do, too! I’m thinking about doing Dueling Monsters — I had so much fun last year. I’ll probably pick Moreau, though, as I hate scary and it looks to be the lesser of two evils, at least in that department!

  6. I have some sherlock holmes here that I need to get to.. heh.. but then the whole tbr pile needs getting to!! Your home can’t possible hold all the books you get! you need to do a post of books “leaving” the house so we don’t put your name into the tv station as a “hoarder”! lol lol

  7. That is quite a haul, Chris. I’m going to have to find that Jeff Smith series.

  8. Hottest Dishes is a great read…in a very black humor sort of way. And I’m glad you’re joining us for Dueling Monsters. I just bought a stuffed Cthulhu to offer up as a prize. 😀

  9. You crack me up!!!! I keep telling myself that as long as I bring fewer books into our house than you bring into yours, then I’m doing okay. But ummmm, well, you’re not setting much of a challenge for me these days. 😛 But hey, I’m impressed–you’ve actually read some of these already. Actually getting them read is definitely where I fall short… 😛

  10. Btw, I *cannot* believe you got Nymphos! You two are bad influences on each other! 😛 But hey, did I tell you I got Rich Bedbugs, and he’s already started reading it.

  11. Woohoo! Heather sent me her copy of When She Woke!!! Can’t wait to read it and to find out what you think of it. 🙂

  12. UNFAIR!!! Want that point! Having said that, I hope you enjoy When She Woke. I have a feeling you’ll love it. I read The Nymphos of Rocky Flats as an ARC, long ago. It was pretty good. I wish the author would write a war book. The scenes right at the beginning really rock.

  13. Also, you *must* hurry up and read Tartar . . . or at least pick it up and read a little. It is so weird. But, it’s good weird. You can read a whole bunch of quotes from the book at my blog. You should visit my blog. Remember my blog?

    *Now getting off Stuffster’s case*

  14. Anything by Ruth Reichl is amazing. You will love her!! And I, too, have a major thing for Sherlock Holmes!

  15. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Reichl’s books. She’s such a great author. Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

