A Spooky Bad Bloggers Post

At least some of them are spooky…Because I don’t have ENOUGH books, I went and bought six more today…add that to the five others that I’ve recently brought into the house and it’s time for another post. With RIP here, I have to say that my eye is turning to spooky books!! And the RIP reading pool just keeps on growing….here’s what came in:

1. What the Dickens by Gregory Maguire – After reading Wicked, I really just want everything the man has written! This one’s about a tooth fairy…(Paperback Swap)

2. The Marvelous Land of Oz by L. Frank Baum – This is the second book in the new Oz graphic novel series that Marvel is doing..it really looks good! (Bought it)

3. Speaker For the Dead by Aaron Johnston – I got so excited when I saw this!! Speaker for the Dead is one of my all time favorite books and Aaron Johnston has adapted it into a graphic novel! Can’t wait to read this one!! (Bought it)

4. The Lantern by Deborah Lawrenson – Other Chris is to blame for this one. I’ve heard a LOT about this one recently and know there’s a readalong of it going on during RIP…I likely won’t participate in the readalong as I’m trying to drop all commitments, but I DO want to read this one. Sounds deliciously gothicly creepy! Point to Other Chris! (Bought it)

5. Sweetly by Jackson Pearce – This is the first of the spree at Barnes and Noble tonight…the rest of these books were all bought tonight. I was intrigued by the cover of this one and then read the jacket flap and it sounds really good πŸ™‚ (Bought it)

6. Bedbugs by Ben Winters – Now this sounds like it will literally scare the shit out of me. A novel about a woman attacked by bed bugs while the rest of her family remains unscathed. I’m not a bug fan….(Bought it)

7. Wildwood by Colin Meloy – \o/ I can’t tell you how thrilled I was when this came in the mail!!!! For some reason I thought this was a picture book, but with it being over 500 pages, I can assure you it is NOT! Yes, this is written by THE Colin Meloy…the singer for The Decemberists. And it’s beautifully illustrated throughout. I preordered this ages ago because Ana told me about it, so POINT TO ANA! (Bought it)

8. We the Animals by Justin Torres – I’m SO excited that I found this little novella tonight!! I heard an interview with Justin Torres on the Diane Rehm show the other day and he read from this book that truly sounds amazing and seems to be somewhat autobiographical…point to Diane Rehm! (Bought it)

9. Boyhoods: Rethinking Masculinities by Ken Corbett – I’m really really really hoping that this one is good. I can’t tell you how long I’ve been looking for a good book on this topic. Gender, yes, but specifically male stereotypes and challenging them. If I weren’t so lazy, I’d write a book on the subject myself as it’s something I’m very passionate about. I HATE the stereotypes that boys have to be jocks and handymen, etc. etc. That’s FINE if you are…but boys are allowed to enjoy crafting and dolls and the color pink too. (Bought it)

10. The Darker Side by Cody McFadyen – Well Debi has me dying to read Shadow Man by McFadyen. It’s on my TBR list for the RIP challenge. This one caught my eye tonight in the bargain bin and I just had to have it!!! It sounds excellent! And seeing as I would’ve never bought this had Debi not told me about McFadyen, Point to Debi!! (Bought it)

11. The House of Discarded Dreams by Ekaterina Sedia – Found this tonight and I had not heard of it! But it sounds incredible!!! I loved The Secret History of Moscow. It was one of those books that I was lukewarm about after reading it but it has grown on me a LOT. Which reminds me I still have The Alchemy of Stone to read too! (Bought it)

And then I found this AWESOME canvas bag at Barnes and Noble and I couldn’t pass it up. You should totally pick one up for yourself! It’s made really well and it’s really thick and sturdy and I just absolutely love it!!

13 Responses

  1. Ooooh, I LOVE that bag!!! Must get me one. Must.
    You totally, totally crack me up. And make me feel so disciplined! After all, I only bought 4 books when I went to B&N last night. πŸ™‚
    I’ve started and have been enjoying What the Dickens…it’s taking me forever though, because it’s my “laundry book,” meaning that I leave it in the basement for those times when I go get the laundry to hang but find that the washer still has a couple to go. And I’m pretty sure I would have bought Sweetly just for the cover if I’d have seen it, too. πŸ™‚ And I am so getting Rich Bedbugs–sounds like something he’d love! I heard part of that interview with Justin Torres, too…sounds like a good book! And I sooooooooo hope that Boyhoods is good! You’re absolutely right–this world needs good books on the subject! OMG–I just finished Abandoned, the fourth in the series by Cody McFayden. Damn. The one you just bought is the third one–don’t *have* to read them in order, but I’d recommend it.
    Hmmmm…would you like me to finally shut up now? πŸ˜›

  2. I love that bag! And I hope you tell us about so many of these books! Some I would get for their covers alone. πŸ˜€

  3. That is one cool bag. But I’m here to change the topic. Remember that Japanese ghost story I sent you, Strangers? Bellezza just reviewed it and that reminded me that it would be absolutely perfect for the RIP. You *must* dig it out and read it!!!!

  4. Ooh I love that bag!

    I haven’t heard of any of your books but the Ekaterina Sedia; I haven’t read it yet. I have to do a post on the books I recently bought (last Friday) for the challenge too, because I bought one because of you!! LOL you’ll be getting a point, you know πŸ™‚

    You know, I saw Wildwood in the store on Friday, and I almost, almost picked it up. Who knows, if you like it, I probably will! lol!!!

  5. Chris, re gender issues and so on, John Barrowman’s two autobiographies are pure delight to read, Anything Goes and I Am What I Am. He also did an excellent documentary a couple of years ago, trying to determine whether there is a scientific reason for homosexuality. It was *excellent*. Might be available on YouTube.

  6. you give me bad habits Chris!!!!! grrrrrrrrrrr lol.. i just got another book from the bagain store and ordered a used one from amazon! neither of which I need!!!! hmmm I guess I can post a pic of the one I got and the one I ordered…*sigh* when I have no money for food because I bought books I will blame you and your overwhelming love for books! (love you! *smirk*)

  7. aw, that’s evil. I don’t have a Barnes and Noble and I am obsessed with bags. 😦

    On to the books, did you know that Sweetly is the sequel to Sisters Red? You don’t mention it, so I just thought I would give you a heads up. I read it with Other Chris earlier this year. It was good, but there were a few problems. I will probably pick up the sequel eventually…

  8. Debi, Yes indeed!! You must get yourself one of those bags πŸ˜€ I’m so in love with mine! Don’t know what I’ll use it for but I will indeed use it! Oh! Cool that you’ve been reading What the Dickens!! Glad that you’re enjoying it πŸ˜€ And I found out from Kelly that Sweetly is a sequel to Sisters Red…so it looks like I’m getting that one now too :/ Doesn’t Bedbugs sound cool? And deliciously creepy? Oooops! I’m glad you told me that the Mc Fadyen I bought is the third in the series otherwise I would’ve just skipped over the second!! Thanks! Hope you’re having a good day πŸ™‚

    Amanda, Isn’t that an awesome bag? And I’m totally drawn to books because of their covers all the time, lol.

    Nancy, I’ve added it to my RIP list!! It’s on the stacks now πŸ™‚ I’m glad you reminded me of it!!

    Susan, I can ALMOST guarantee you that I’ll love Wildwood :p Sounds like a combination that can’t go wrong!! And I can’t wait to see your post of all of your awesome books that you’ve bought!!

    Cath, Thank you SO MUCH for telling me about the John Barrowman books!!!! I didn’t even know he had written any and I’m so excited about them now!!! I’ve added them to my paperback swap wishlist πŸ™‚

    Mama, Hahaha….sorry about that :p When you run out of money for food, I’ll just start sending you vegetables in the mail :p I do afterall have to take some responsibility for that, lol.

    Kelly, Oh no 😦 Maybe you can order the bag online? And thanks so much for telling me that Sweetly is a sequel!!! I would’ve never known that! The description makes it sound like a standalone and mentions nothing about her other book!

  9. I. Want. That. Bag.

    I hear you on the sterotyping thing… my brother and I are both a mix of masc/fem. On the outside, I am relatively femme and I do like girly things, but I also really enjoy working on the house and I definitely do most of the manly chores. My brother, on the outside, is Mr. Manly Man (firefighter, hunter, excellent athlete) but as a boy he loved dolls, always wanted his fingernails painted when my mom and I did ours, and was very sensitive. He outgrew dolls and nail polish and developed a thicker skin, but he’s such an awesome man because he knows both sides.

    All these books look fantastic!

  10. Chris, I so love your wonderful enthusiasm! I wish I would’ve known you wanted The Lantern; I would gladly have sent you my own copy. 😦 Do love your B and N bag, though, as it would match at least one of my lipsticks! Oh, and hold the books to put inside!

  11. Lovely spooky list, Chris. I downloaded the first four chapters of Wildwood from their website and am intrigued. Have several of these titles on my TBR list and am curious about Boyhoods, I think Mr G would be interested in that one.

  12. Chris, DUDE, I’m telling you RIGHT NOW, go buy The Night Circus. Don’t waste any time. It comes out this week. I expect my point because you will LOVE IT.

  13. I loved What the Dickens =) It was really very good!

Leave a Reply

