Spooky Reading Time!!

Guys! The time has finally come!! Carl has announced his RIP challenge for this year. The SIXTH year…geez…I can’t even believe that! This will be my fifth tie participating as I just missed the first one which was hosted in 2006. This blog came shortly after in it’s original blogspot place. I’m so freaking excited guys!!! I can’t tell you how badly I’ve needed this challenge. Life has not been the best lately, and this is sure to pick me up.

For me, Autumn embodies happiness. The crisp air, the falling leaves, the decorations, the food, and of course, the wonderful, atmospheric books. Though it certainly does not feel like Autumn here right now, it’ll be nice to pretend. Well you know what? Actually tonight was the first night I could sit on the patio and not feel like I was dying while I read..so maybe it is coming šŸ™‚

I’m making a (comparably) small pool this year. I normally way overdo it and that just ends in disappointment. So here are some of the books that I’m really dying to read right now that fit the bill:

And that should be more than enough :p Though I DO have the right to change this up or read any of the many preorders I have coming in…..Can’t wait to see everyone else’s lists!!!!

23 Responses

  1. It’s time for the RIP??? Ack! How will I fit it in? Fall just isn’t right if you don’t participate. Think, think. Must work on my time management. Looks like you’ve got one heck of a fine pile to choose from. I’m particularly curious about Daphne. Have fun!

  2. Ooh, Handling the Dead looks intriguing! I was not aware of Swedish zombie novels. Hmmm….

  3. So many great books on your list! I’m reading Sunshine at the moment, its good.

  4. I’ve read three of those – The Hound of the Baskervilles, The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and Sunshine. All are fantastic. A nice pool and I look forward to seeing which ones you choose.

  5. I love hound of the baskervilles.. it’s short and sweet and oh so gothic! lol
    ohhh the cover to under the poppy and Daphane are nice I may have to check those out…*groan*.. :o)

  6. I am so unbelievably excited for this challenge! I’m with you – it’s like it’s just time to slough off the nasty summer and glide into fall. This challenge has become just one indicator of an upcoming fall (something I badly need after surviving 110-degree temps this past weekend, eek!). I’m very excited about some of your selections and I think I went way overboard on my own list. šŸ˜€

  7. geez Chris.. I already added Daphne to my wish list!.. only I will get a used hardback so the print is bigger lol

  8. Yay! I love RIP time. Hope you like Daphne. I read it a few years ago and really enjoyed it. And Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie too.

    I’m going to have to crochet some creepy little critter to get into the spirit!

  9. I think you’ll really enjoy Sunshine. It’s an excellent book!

  10. You keep hinting around that things are bad for you lately… If you need to talk about anything, you can always email me. Actually, even if you don’t want to talk about that specifically, you should email me. šŸ™‚

    Great list! I read Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie for last years challenge, so I plan to read the sequel at some point for this one. Pretty Monsters was not my favourite book ever, but it was still pretty good. And, even though I finished Daphne a couple days ago, I actually have included it as a read for this challenge because we will be reviewing it sometime during then. I also read I really must read more of Laurie King. I have only read the first book so far.

    Sunshine is on my list, too! And, Under the Poppy, of course.

  11. Yay, Sweetness! I adore Flavia de Luce.

    I’ve said this before, but your enthusiasm always buoys my spirit. Thank you, and thank you always for jumping in on these events and having a good time. You spread the community spirit so well and I appreciate it and enjoy it.

    As Kailana said, if you want to talk about anything just drop me a line. I would love to be there for you in any way that I can. Sorry things have been rough and I do hope this little fun thing provides a respite from your troubles.

  12. What a fantastic pool! I’m especially eager to see what you think of UNDER THE POPPY.

  13. Eeeeee! I am so excited! So excited I, uh, kinda started early. I can’t wait to read Daphne and Under the Poppy with you!

    I’m sorry things aren’t going so great. šŸ˜¦ I know why, sorta, and I won’t broadcast here, but you know who is there for you when you need us. We love you Chris!!!! MWAH. *hugs*

  14. I think you’ll really, really enjoy The Beekeeper’s Apprentice. I’m hoping to catch up with the last two books in the series during this challenge myself. Can’t wait to see what you think of those that you choose to read!

  15. Sunshine is just wonderful, as is Red Spikes.

    The cover of Under the Poppy looks very interesting, may have to add that to my tbr list.

  16. Whatwhatwhat?! There’s a book with my name on it and it’s suitable for RIP? I must investigate. šŸ™‚

    Great list. I loved Hound of the Baskervilles last year. And Flavia is always a treat (I’m hoping to read her latest this RIP).

    and I chime in with everyone else, if you want to chat about whatever’s been going on, feel free to email or Twitter me. Much love, you are a light in the blogging world. Hugs.

  17. Dear Chris, you do know how much you are loved, right? I know it sounds strange, coming over the blogging sphere, but you are. I wish I could do more for you because I would love to meet with you and let you talk, and then take you to a bookstore to take your mind off things for a little bit šŸ™‚ So, if you like the look of any of my books on my RIP list, let me know and I’ll send you a copy. šŸ™‚ I think something must be going on with Tauruses, because this has been one of the hardest years I think I’ve ever gone through, and that’s saying a lot. *hugs* from me, and hang in there. And really, let me know what you would like to read. I want an excuse to go book shopping, and cheering a friend up with a book is an excellent reason!

    Plus, you know, because of you I have added THREE books for my own little RIP shopping trip coming up on Friday. Under the Poppy, Unwind, Anya’s Ghost…oh, really it’s FOUR: Church of the Dead Girls.

    From your list: I LOVED Handling the Undead, and Sunshine. In fact, I have to read Sunshine again, it’s been around 10 years and I need to revisit it. It was such a good vampire novel. I really hope you enjoy both of them.

  18. Looks like a stack of delicious fall reading! I haven’t read *anything* on your list (horrors!), but I can’t wait to hear what you think of your choices, so I can add some more good reads to my wish list.

  19. What a fun stack of books. I’m not sure I will be participating but your list is very interesting. Red Spikes and The Church of Dead Girls looks especially interesting to me. Good luck with the challenge.

  20. I really should look into some more Anne Rice. I was kind of luke-warm on Interview With The Vampire but liked it enough to see what her other books are like. Good luck with the challenge! It looks like you’re off to a good start.

  21. Great list!! I need this now too. I love love this challenge.

  22. Oooooh, just look at all those yummy choices!!! I know you’re more than ready for fall, but *sigh* I just can’t believe summer flew by so quickly. Of course, except for the whole back-to-school thing, I absolutely adore fall, too. And RIP is just the ABSOLUTE PERFECT way to kick it off, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

