The Baddest Bad Bloggers Part Two

So the giant box of books has arrived from my trip to see Debi and it’s um…a little ridiculous :p There are THIRTY TWO new books that walked into the house today. With the list being that long, I’m not going to post cover pictures and give explanations for each one. There is no explanation except for me not having restraint :p I’m just going to list the books I bought and who gets the points. And sadly, there aren’t as many points as I hoped to give out…which means that *I* have to take the blame for lots of these :/ Anyways, here they are!

1. A Son Called Gabriel by Damian McNicholl
2. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
3. Shadow Man by Cody McFadyen (Point for Debi)
4. If We Ever Break Up, This is My Book by Jason Logan
5. The Bucolic Plague: How Two Manhattanites Became Gentleman Farmers: An Unconventional Memoir by Josh Kilmer-Purcell
6. The Spice of Vegetarian Cooking: Ethnic Recipes From India, China, Mexico, Southeast Asia, The Middle East and Europe by Martha Rose Shulman
7. Queer in America: Sex, The Media and the Closets of Power by Michelangelo Signorile
8. New and Selected Poems by Mary Oliver (Point to Lu..I’ll always give points to Lu for Mary Oliver :p)
9. Plainsong by Kent Haruf
10. The Sailor Who Fell From Grace With the Sea by Yukio Mishima
11. Devilish by Maureen Johnson
12. Island Beneath the Sea: A Novel by Isabel Allende
13. Acts of Worship: Seven Stories by Yukio Mishima
14. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King (Point to Pat)
15. The Watery Part of the World by Michael Parker (Point to Lu)
16. Tolstoy and the Purple Chair: My Year of Magical Reading by Nina Sankovitch (Point to Heather)
17. The Bean Trees: A Novel by Barbara Kingsolver
18. March: A Novel by Geraldine Brooks (Point to Ana)
19. Uncle Tungsten: Memories of a Chemical Boyhood by Oliver Sacks (Point to Rich)
20. Homeland: And Other Stories by Barbara Kingsolver
21. Son of a Witch: Volume Two in the Wicked Years by Gregory Maguire
22. Moor’s Last Sigh by Salman Rushdie (Point to Ana even though I don’t know if she’s even read it :p She always gets a point for any Rushdie book!)
23. Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor
24. Auschwitz: A New History by Laurence Reese
25. Truck: A Love Story by Michael Perry
26. I Am the Cheese by Robert Cormier
27. Sexual Metamorphosis: An Anthology of Transsexual Memoirs by Jonathan Ames (Point to Debi)
28. Fasting Girls: The History of Anorexia Nervosa by Joan Jacobs Brumberg
29. Farmer Giles of Ham by J.R.R. Tolkien
30. Selected Poems by Anne Sexton
31. The Egypt Game by Zilpha Keatley Snyder (Point to Rebecca Makkai)
32. Raising Elijah: Protecting Our Children In an Age of Environmental Crisis by Sandra Steingraber

Phew…..

10 Responses

  1. most of these I never heard of so they will be very new to me when you do reviews!.. gads 32 chris. did your mother cringe when the box arrived?? heh.

  2. If you’d still been here yesterday that pile would be even bigger–Rich and I went back to Borders for its final week. The result–well, you can imagine. And yeah, I totally wish you’d been here, even though we would have had to find a bigger box. πŸ˜‰

  3. Oh my gosh The Egypt Game was my absolute favorite book as a kid!!!!!

  4. Nothing like a great box of books! I’ve written a few of these down for myself. πŸ™‚

  5. Wow, that’s a lot of books. And no points for me. I am really good (bad?) at this Bad Bloggers thing. lol

  6. Holy crap! That’s an AWESOME haul! I just finished Tolstoy and the Purple Chair and hope you like it as much as I did. πŸ™‚

  7. Surely, Debi should get the unassigned points, by default for encouraging you! πŸ˜‰

  8. Squeeeee for Beekeeper’s Apprentice and Uncle Tungsten!!! Two of my fave authors, and Uncle Tungsten is what made me fall in lurve with Sacks (seriously, I would marry him if he wanted me to).

  9. It totally makes my day when I get bad blogger points from you, Chris!

    ❀ I hope you enjoy them.

  10. Wow! That is one big stack of books, Chris. I love the fact that it includes some poetry and that cookbook sounds fabulous.

Leave a Reply

