How About Some Bad Bloggers Points?

One of these days I’m going to have to stop bringing books into the house…but today is not that day :p Here’s what’s come into the house:

1. Puppy Fat by Morris Gleitzman – Just because it’s Morris Gleitzman. (Paperback Swap)

2. Full Tilt by Neal Shusterman – Can’t wait to read this one! Sounds very “something wicked this way comes…” I recently heard that Shusterman has a sequel coming out to Unwind in 2012!!! Woohoo!! (Bought it)

3. Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal – This one sounds SO good..described as a Jane Austen novel but with magic. Point to Carl for putting it on my radar! (Bought it)

4. Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark by Guillermo Del Toro – This book looks AMAZING. Seriously, it’s just designed gorgeously. It’s part diary/part fairy dictionary. Can’t wait to read this! (Bought it)

5. The Wisdom of the Radish by Lynda Hopkins – I’ve already started this one and it’s so so so so good. It’s about a girl who starts a farm with her boyfriend and they sell their veggies and herbs at a local farmers market. Makes me want to do the same!! Point to Debi for telling me I had to read this one 🙂 (Bought it)

6. The Beekeeper’s Lament by Hannah Nordhaus – I’ve been wanting to read a book about bees for awhile now and I saw that Nancy was reading this one…which led me to pick it up too :p Point to Nancy! (Bought it)

7. Wicked Plants by Amy Stewart – I’ve been wanting this one for ages…now I want her new one, Wicked Bugs too! (Bought it)

8. Pretty Monsters by Kelly Link – I’ve heard that this is a very very good short story collection! And Shaun Tan illustrated it..yeah, had to have it :p (Bought it)

9. The Church of Dead Girls by Stephen Dobyns – In Carl’s farewell to Borders post, he mentioned this book as being very creepy and I just couldn’t pass up that endorsment! Another point for Carl! (Paperback Swap)

9 Responses

  1. Nice haul! Full Tilt is one of the very few books I’ve read lately that made me stay up late to finish. Happy reading!

  2. buying books is like eating potato chips.. one is never enough! :o) (sounds like an excuse huh? lol) Hope you enjoy each and every one of them!!!!

  3. Oh Yay!!! Great haul Chris 😉

  4. I just read the Beekeeper’s Lament- it’s pretty good!

  5. I am really curious about Shades of Milk and Honey. You guys are going to lead me to buy it!

  6. Who the hell do you really think you’re fooling there, sweetie? You’re NEVER going to stop bringing books into your house!

    Did I tell you that I bought Full Tilt for Gray last summer? But neither of us have read it yet.

    I’ve been wanting to buy The Beekeeper’s Lament…hope you like it. And when you tell me you do, I can go buy it and give you a point for tipping me over the edge. 😛

    Btw, email finally coming later today–promise!

  7. Hey-

    I keep trying to send a message to you, but I’m not sure it’s going through. Mind emailing me? It involves an LGBT short story…with proceeds benefiting a scholarship. 🙂

    -Lauren

  8. I am a bad influence!!!

    Then again, you are too. I’ve got to get that Radish book. Sounds right up my alley. Perfect for my Odd Shelf. So far I’m really enjoying The Dirty Life, which is also a book about a girl and a guy and farming. If it keeps up like this I’ll be recommending that book to you as well.

  9. I have just added five books to my reading list because of you!!!! You are so bad it’s good! lol ok that sounds wrong, doesn’t it?? I read Shades of Milk and Honey, I have to review it soon. It was good, and fun, but light. You’ll know what I mean when you get to it. I really want to find the Guillermo Del Toro book now.

Leave a Reply

