Go the F*ck to Sleep by Adam Mansbach

This book was super cute. I really loved this one and I laughed at every single page as the narrator of the story got more and more irritated as the story progressed. Maybe it’s a good thing I’m not a dad (yet) because I would probably ACTUALLY read this to my child :p It’s one that I think everyone would enjoy! It manages to still have a lot of sentiment behind it while being quite offensive at the same time. And the art is truly amazing!!! I didn’t expect to see such fantastic art. I thought it would just be a quirky/gimmicky picture book, which it was, but it was also much more than that and I can totally see this actually becoming a classic picture book. Pick up a copy next time you see it 🙂

9 Responses

  1. Oof. I am so not touching that one, even though I understand the sentiment behind it. I had one who didn’t go to sleep unless you drove him around in a carseat for 2 hours and even then he’d wake up screaming bloody murder when he was unloaded from the car. Soooo glad those days are over.

  2. ha ha ha! I couldn’t imagine actually reading this to a child, but whatever floats your boat. 🙂

  3. OMGtoofunny!!! It would definitely work with an infant…they just enjoy intonation…lol You’d be in trouble once they were old enough to start reciting though 😉 Great post!

  4. You should listen to the audio. Samuel L. “F’in” Jackson reads it! It’s hilarious. But yeah, I would never read it to my kids, despite knowing the sentiments VERY WELL. They would repeat every word, especially the boy. He’s quite the mimic!

  5. This sounds hilarious! I’m going to see if my library has it.

  6. I saw this at the bookstore a couple of weeks ago and laughed out loud. Way too funny.

  7. OMG that’s hysterical!! Think what a great gift it would make for a new dad, LOL!!

  8. this looks absolutely hilarious! 😀 & very much my sense of humour.

    and, like you, i’d so want to read this to my child as well!

  9. I just listened to this one on YouTube and Samuel L Jackson does a fabulous job reading. I’m SO going through this right now and know that I will for the next several years. Too bad it’s not one I could share with Elle. At least not for long. 😉

Leave a Reply

