Creeping in on Lady Business

I had the best intentions of coming back to blogging with a vengeance. EL OH EL. I need to stop promising people that I will come back to blogging regularly! Read all the posts! Answer all the comments! Clean all the things! I just had to throw that last one in there…sorry >> Anyway, I’m not going to promise that I’ll do all of the above again….but I WILL TRY. I’m appearing on the blog today though because Lady Business has a contest MADE OF AWESOME 😀 I’m posting this just because I think it’s fun and want other lists of lady books. Not for the prize. Honestly, I don’t like Hunger Games and I have a copy of Kindred. Though A Wish After Midnight would be cool 🙂

So…the homework assignment suggested topic: Prepare a short list of books by ladies about ladies (or the dudes) that fall into the spec fic genre and explain why you LOVE THEM. So off we go!

1. Mirabilis by Susann Cokal – I’ve been wanting everyone to read this for so long!!! It’s a historical novel about a woman who is the daughter of a witch who basically keeps a country alive by breast feeding them all. It’s really absolutely amazing. I love this book so much!!!

2. Wind Follower by Carole McDonnell – I’ve had the privilege of becoming friends with Carole over the years after reading her book. And she’s an AMAZING person that is all about representing the ladies. Her book Windfollower features an amazingly strong woman in an alternate historical fiction desert society. Truly amazing book. I was blown away by it. Some may want to know that it does contain a rape.

3. Anything Lois Lowry has written. She’s just amazing. I love her. She writes incredible male and female characters that are strong because of who THEY are…not because of what gender they are.

4. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – This book is just…amazing. It might be bothersome to some that Clare is referred to in the title as “the time traveler’s wife”, but she’s anything but a weak character that falls in the background of her husband. She’s an amazingly strong woman and a beautiful one at that.

5. Four and Twenty Blackbirds by Cherie Priest – One of my absolutely favorite dark fantasy/spec fic books. Eden is an absolutely amazing character that stands on her own as the strongest character in this series. Gah, I love Cherie Priest!!!!

6. The Bone Doll’s Twin by Lynn Flewelling – Fuck I love this book. In this book, gender doesn’t really matter. Well it does at it’s a central part of the plot…or the lack of gender…but the main character has to be strong because of he/she is. Once again, not because of his/her gender. Truly amazing writing and very interesting gender discussions here.

7. The Wood Wife by Terri Windling – Love this book too. Terri Windling is queen of writing amazing mythic based fiction. And here is a female character that has overcome a LOT of bullshit in her life and has made a new life for herself in the desert. It happens to be a life filled with lots of mythical creatures too…

8. Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan – Just go read my review and you’ll know why I loved it so much. Ultimate woman writing about strong women book.

9. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter – I was so swept away by Angela Carter when I first read this book. Still am. This book is an alternate take on fairy tales with a feminist slant and they’re freaking amazing. Truly amazing.

10. Foiled by Jane Yolen– This is a graphic novel about a young girl named Aleira who takes fencing lessons and eventually falls into a world that she never prepared for but finds that she IS prepared for. Beautiful story 🙂

11. Green Angel by Alice Hoffman – This book had everything I love in it. A bit of dystopia, beautiful language, gardening and an amazingly strong and beautiful woman. Love.

12. The Armless Maiden and other tales ed. by Terri Windling – This is THE best short story collection I’ve ever read. All stories that deal with surviving abuse, told in a fairy tale manner. Beautiful…every story in this collection.

And now I’m going to stop otherwise I’ll never stop :p WHAT ARE YOUR RECS??? Please write your own post and link it up to the fabulous Lady Business site!

9 Responses

  1. I’ve only read half this list, which means I have a lot to look forward to! I think I’ll start w The Wood Wife. 😀

  2. I want to read The Wood Wife – it’s here on my pile – very much, since you and Carl love it so. I love the Bone Doll’s Twin, have the third one to read to finish the series. So dark and so good, and like you say, gender doesn’t matter. Very powerful fantasy. I loved the Angela Carter fairy tale book so much that it’s due for a reread for RIP this year. I just bought Green Angel because of you! and Foiled has gone on my To-Buy list. It’s too late tonight to do my own list for Lady business, so I will do it tomorrow.

    by the way, were you the one to recommend Retribution Falls by Chris Wooding, to me? I finally found it, if you were. 🙂

    Dont’ worry about being a good blogger by blogging every day – I’ve found that writing when I want to, instead of feeling I have to, has made blogging more fun again. Not that this heat has made me want to write anything!!!

  3. The last two books I read have been by women about women and have been excellent reads! That would be Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier and Folly by Laurie R King.
    ……. and I wouldn’t be “me” if I didn’t also say book 1, Dragonflight, by Anne McCaffrey is all about an incredibly strong and determined woman named Lessa!

    there are others by at 5:44 am my brain is not in gear yet.

  4. As soon as I saw what you were posting about, I imediatly had to look and see if you’d put Green Angel not there!

  5. Ack! sodding new auto correct in Lion. ON there obviously!

  6. Eva, You haven’t read The Wood Wife yet??? OMG it’s amazing!! Read it NOW :p

    Susan, I always love finding other Bone Doll Twin fans 😀 I don’t know why I haven’t read the rest of the series yet! I have book two here. And yes yes yes, you must read The Wood Wife and Green Angel! Especially Green Angel. It’s a quick read and SO amazing! Nope, wasn’t me that recommended that other book, but it sounds good!! Will look into it 🙂

    Pat, Hey mama!! I really really need to read some Laurie King. I don’t know why I haven’t yet. Her books sound so freaking good!! And glad to hear the Chevalier was good 🙂 And of course you love McCaffrey 😉 Love you mama!!

    Darren, Of COURSE Green Angel was there!!! Wouldn’t be a post like this without it 🙂

  7. Great list! Four and Twenty Blackbirds sounds wonderful…and I love the cover 😀

  8. Oh, I LOVED the Wood Wife, so very very much. I cried. I loved it. This is a great list. I need to read these! I’ve only read a couple.

  9. Wow! I swear! We’re connected, Chris! Been thinking of you for a while and finally emailed you this morning… now just saw this. :big grin:

Leave a Reply

