Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

Well this book was a fun little charmer. This is actually the first novel that I’ve read by Maureen Johnson, believe it or not, and I can say that after reading it, I’m definitely a fan. Before this, the only book I had read by her was Let it Snow where she wrote on of the three parts of the book. But this one is her all by herself. And lucky me, I have the sequel autographed to me from her πŸ™‚

This book tells the tale of Ginny, a teenage girl, on a journey all over Europe after receiving a package from her dead aunt. Shortly after her aunt dies, an aunt that she hasn’t seen in years but used to be quite close to, Ginny receives a package. The package has thirteen envelopes in it and instructions that tell her to get on a plane to London, bring only enough money for bare essentials, she can only pack a back pack, and she can’t bring a purse. This is exactly something that Ginny’s aunt would do seeing as she just disappeared out of the blue sending postcards a year ago.

So Ginny does it. She gets on a plane and heads to London, and envelope by envelope, she’s given a different task that retraces her aunt’s life, bringing her to many different countries and having many different and unique experiences.

I loved this one…I really, really did. It was filled with charm, sadness, hilariousness…a little bit of everything. I can see why Johnson is such a loved author. She paints scenarios that are so outlandish, but seem so normal at the same time. And she always makes it entertaining. Can’t wait to discover more of her!

10 Responses

  1. Of all the books I’ve read by Johnson – and I’ve read a lot now – I think this one is my longlasting favorite. She captured the feel of traveling around Europe so well! I just finished the sequel and reviewed it in brief on the new blog today. πŸ˜€ I liked it just as much and maybe in time I can say I liked it even more than this one.

  2. I downloaded this for free when Nook offered it on Free Book Fridays. I began it last week, and didn’t finish it (yet) as I have posts I want to write for Paris In July II. But, it was engaging enough and this from a woman who doesn’t particularly go for YA fiction. Glad to know you loved it, that will help me pick it up again.

  3. Man, we should talk more Chris. We could have read this together because I literally JUST finished it. πŸ™‚ I really enjoyed it and look forward to the sequel!

  4. I have this one on my e-reader, so I should bump it up and read it soon! Thanks for reminding me that I have it and need to dig it back up. πŸ™‚

  5. It really was a fun read! I just put together my review for this one and the sequel today (they’ll post tomorrow). Nice review!

  6. Johnson is definitely an author I need to read more of. I have just snagged a copy of The Name of the Star and I am really looking forward to it.

  7. Ah… this was such a fun read. And all the places she visits… makes you want to go out and travel!

  8. Horray for Maureen Johnson, and for this book! It gave me hardcore wanderlust, so I went on a couple of backpacking trips after I’d finished it. It also helped me overcome my fear of staying in hostels, since nobody killed Ginny at any point. πŸ™‚

  9. I really liked this one and the the sequel! πŸ™‚

  10. I really liked this one, but I did struggle with the idea that such a young girl could set off by herself without any contact with parents etc. Once I overlooked that, I liked the book!

    Have you read Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins?

Leave a Reply

