Bad Bloggers Time Again

The sad thing is…it hasn’t even been THAT long since I’ve done a bad bloggers post. BUT, there are 16 new books that magically made their way into my house. Which means that I must blame someone other than myself for at least some of them. Here goes.

1. Shoplifting From American Apparel by Tao Lin – This is the first of several books I bought from Melville House Publishing. I’m in love with their art of the novella series. From the design to the titles. This was the first I’ve read and I really liked it. Reviewed it already in fact! (Bought it)

2. Mathilda by Mary Shelley – I think I’m more excited about this little book than all of the rest. I love Shelley and this book deals with a relationship between a father and daughter that’s slightly more than it should be….(Bought it)

3. Lady Susan by Jane Austen – I’ve never had much luck with Jane Austen. But when I saw that this was an epistolary novella, I thought I’d give it a try because I like stories written like that. I’ll let you know how it is! (Bought it)

4. A Sleep and A Forgetting by William Dean Howells – I know nothing about Howells…but this one sounded good. (Bought it)

5. How the Two Ivans Quarreled by Nikolai Gogol – I’ve been wanting to read something by Gogol forever…so I figured a novella was a good place to start. He just sounds like an author that I’ll like. (Bought it)

6. The Devil by Leo Tolstoy – I read The Death of Ivan Ilyich a few years ago and really really liked it. So I’ve been wanting to read more Tolstoy ever since and I’m still not quite ready for War and Peace. So I decided to go with another novella. I’m almost finish this one and honestly I’m a little (lot) disappointed. I’ll explain why when the review comes! (Bought it)

7. Jacob’s Room by Virginia Woolf – I don’t get how this is a novella and not a novel, but ok. It’s Virginia Woolf and a very pretty edition at that! So I’m cool. (Bought it)

8. What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen – So I can finally blame someone for one of these books!! Annie told me about this book and it sounded super good. And I found a signed copy at my local indie. So I picked it up! Point to Annie! (Bought it)

9. Savvy by Ingrid Law – After I MET Ingrid Law and had this book signed by her, I bought it. I’ve actually wanted to read this one for awhile now too…I believe it was Becky that convinced me to read this one…so she’s getting a point :p (Bought it)

10. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – I had this one signed too when I MET Jay Asher at my local indie 🙂 Nothing has really made me think I had to read this one until the last time I visited Matt and went book shopping with him and Renay. They both really liked this one, and that was recommendation enough for me to FINALLY get it! Point to Matt and Renay! (Bought it)

11. Sunshine by Robin McKinley – I did not meet Robin McKinley, but I did buy her book the same day. Same with this one…I’ve been on the fence about getting it, but Renay said she thinks I’d really like it. So I’m trusting her on this one :p Point to Renay! (Bought it)

12. The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo – When you meet Kate DiCamillo, you can’t not say hi and get a book signed by her. The trouble is I already HAVE all of her books and have read them. But oh well…now I have TWO copies of this one and one is signed and personalized to me!! Hooray!! (Bought it)

13. The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson – The HIGHLIGHT of my last weekend!!! I freaking met Maureen Johnson and she was too freaking cool. I chronicled my meeting her and all of the other authors in this post if you’re interested. Now I just have to read the first book in this series and then I can read this one that’s signed “To Chris, ey!” \o/ (Bought it)

14. Embroideries by Marjane Satrapi – So excited to finally have this book!!! I loved Persepolis SO SO SO much!! And I’ve been wanting to read more of her stuff. (Paperback Swap)

15. Prince of Stories by Hank Wagner – My sweet sweet sweet second mama picked this book up for me!! I’ve almost bought this several times. It’s a book ALL ABOUT NEIL GAIMAN! It has to be good, right? And it has that awesome McKean cover 😀 (Gift from a friend)

16. The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson – So I’m super duper excited about this HUGE chunkster of a book! In fact I kind of just want to start reading it now, but I’m going to wait for the group readalong of it hosted by ibeeg at Polishing Mud Balls. I just discovered her blog and I love it!! And I’m giving her the blame for this book :p Point to ibeeg!  (Bought it)

12 Responses

  1. Eva, of A Striped Armchair, and I are reading Mathilda by Mary Shelley together in August if you’d care to join us. Please? 🙂

  2. Of those I’ve read Edward Tulane and Sunshine. The first is delightful, I gave the book to my grand-daughter and she adores it too. Sunshine is probably my favourite vampire book of all time (though I love Dracula and The Historian too). I just love it and Robin McKinley’s writing is wonderful. Am intrigued enough by the sound of Mathilda to check it out.

    Happy reading!

  3. See there?!… I knew you needed that book just so you could have a nice new round number of 16 new books in the house !! I bet your “real mama” is happy as hell hahahahaha..j/k she loves you and your books! :o)

  4. So many great books! I also want to dive straight into THE WAY OF KINGS, but I’ll wait for our read-along to officially begin. 🙂

  5. Wow Chris, you have some great books there. I read SUNSHINE and really liked it tons. Then again, I like Robin McKinley a whole lot. Have you read her PEGASUS? That is a great book. What is neat about SUNSHINE and something to remember is that it was not written with YA in mind (far as I know) AND it was written before the whole vampire craze started big time. Hope you enjoy it.

    I too cannot wait to start reading THE WAY OF KINGS. I hope the group read will be fun; think it will. If anything, a good motivator to get moving on this chunkster. Did you buy the mass market paperback? I saw it in the store yesterday and could not help myself from looking at it in comparison to the hardcover. I was certainly ogling the book.

  6. Good for Matt and Renay for talking you into 13 Reasons Why! That would be a good read for next weekend, btw. 🙂 And Sunshine–I’ve been wanting to read that one. Maybe we can read it together for RIP. Anyway, I think you can be forgiven for getting another 16 books since you’ve already got one of them read and reviewed, right? 😉

  7. Yay!!! I love the cover of Sunshine…enjoy 😀

  8. Sanderson’s Way of Kings is a fantastic read, now if only 2012 would hurry up and get here so I can read the sequel. Great blog too by the way.

  9. I remember seeing a fair bit about Savvy a while back. Looks like a great batch of books once again, Chris!

  10. My god, I wish I could go on splurges like this! I have to resist… Lots of good books, though.

    We should read Sunshine together!!! Email if the answer is yes… or, no. 🙂

  11. GREAT books and some super bad enabler bloggers. 😉

  12. Happy that you are joining us for the Way of Kings read. I just went and bought my copy the other day and its sitting right here waiting patiently for August 1st. Watched a Brandon Sanderson interview yesterday and am now even more excited to read the book.

Leave a Reply

