The "Holy Shit This Day Rocks" Post

I thought I missed Maureen Johnson. I knew she was in town for ALA, but I thought she signed YESTERDAY with Lauren Myracle and Sarah Dessen. But she did not! She was signing today! I woke up at 12:30 and learned the news that she was signing at two :p I can get dressed fast, lol.

I made it in time! Actually, while I was waiting for MJ to arrive, I noted that Kate freaking DiCamillo was signing too!!! So I got a copy of Edward Tulane signed, which I’ve already read and loved but couldn’t pass up a signed copy 🙂 I asked her if she was working on a new novel and she said she’s actually finished one and that it’s off to her editor right now! Exciting news!!!

So it was 1:30 at this point and I still had a half an hour before MJ showed up…so of course I did some bookshopping. I picked up a copy of Sunshine by Robin McKinley and a signed copy of What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen. Then MJ walked through the door with Jay Asher and Ingrid Law 🙂 I happened to be by the door when she came in. Another fan told her “Hey Maureen!” and I followed that with “Hey Maureen!” To which she replied “wow, I feel like I just walked into my house! I picked up a copy of The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson and Savvy by Ingrid Law and Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher and headed over to their table. Maureen was eating a cookie. It looked good.

So I gave them all my books and had them signed and Maureen said she felt like they were having a race to see who could write “Chris” the fastest :p And then I chalked up the nerve to ask Maureen if I could take a picture with her to which she said “sure.” And then commented how she liked my rainbow spewing dinosaur iphone case :p It was a wonderful Sunday surprise!!!

16 Responses

  1. It all sounds wonderful and I’m so happy for you. I’m happy for me too because I just found out something I was looking for. You mentioned earlier on Twitter about Kate DiCamillo and I went looking to see if she had a new novel coming out and couldn’t find anything. This is indeed good news. I realize it will take another year probably, but exciting to look forward to.

    I tweeted a link earlier to a Jay Asher interview from last week or so that was on Here and Now. You should check it out, he was very interesting.

  2. Ingrid Law’s Savvy was a great book, and I downloaded Little Blue Envelope on my Nook for free. But, I don’t have either woman’s signature, you lucky duck! (The third grader in me reigns sometimes.)

  3. WOW!! How frickin’ fantastic Chris!!! I so wish I could have gone to ALA this year! That is so wonderful! Thanks for posting and letting us live it in proxy. 😀

  4. What a wonderful freakin’ day, my dear!!! I am soooo happy you found out in time. 😀

  5. Wow! What a great day 🙂 v jealous!

  6. Sounds like a fabulous day, indeed! Glad to hear you didn’t miss Maureen after all, and good on you for having the guts to ask for a picture, too. I’m a total wuss about stuff like that.

  7. Ohhh that’s wonderful…thank goodness you’re a speed dresser…lol Good for you Chris 😀

  8. LOL to both your lovely post and your commentators who are as jealous/happy for you/and awed at your ability to get so many signatures! I am so not good at meeting authors, I babble incoherently and giggle and it’s awful. You look so happy in your picture….I’m so glad it worked out for you.

    By the way, Sunshine is one of my favourite vampire books. I really hope you like it.

  9. my guess is that you had a damn good day!! See there?.. that’s the way I feel when I did conventions and autograph shows!! I am happy you had such a good time!!

  10. what a day! so many cool people in one place AND in your hometown. brilliant 😀

  11. Awesomeness. And uh, DUDE! I want to see a picture of your dino spewing rainbows!? WTF 😀

    *crossing my fingers* that I get to NOLA this coming school year. I keep on saying things to Diane like, “Hey when we go to NOLA, Chris will definitely have to go out drinking with us and show us around a bit, like insider living there tour.” Kinda like, we already have the plan so when I actually say, “BTW we’re driving out next week” she’ll be prepared. LOL.

  12. I should also warn you that I’m a bouncer and a hugger. Hahahha

  13. What an exciting day! I would be pumped too if I were in your spot. I love author event and most especially if it is an author I have read and love. My last author event was Patrick Rothfuss and it was beyond amazing.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog because now I am here at yours and I am glad for that. I was scanning some of your other posts and it is exciting to see that you read many of the same type of books that I am interested in. I am going to be visiting you often; I’m certain.

  14. OMG! I’m jealous! I’m glad you had such a great day, Chris! 🙂

  15. Haha too funny that you’re an MJ fan too. She is actually from my tiny, tiny, tiny town and her dad plays poker with mine!

  16. That sounds like an absolutely awesome day :o) I am so freaking upset I couldn’t come to ALA in New Orleans this year. Sigh. I do hear that ALA will be in my neck of the woods next summer; it won’t be as good as going to New Orleans though.

Leave a Reply

