Bad Bloggers Time!

And only 10 books this time! Can you believe it :p It would’ve been 11…I bought The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen not realizing that I already had it :/ It was only $5.99 on the bargain shelf though, so not too bad. If anyone wants it just let me know in the comments and I’ll send it to you! If more than one person wants it, then you must fight and I’ll give it to the winner I’ll do a random.org drawing.

1. Real Boys by William Pollack – Browsing Ana’s LibraryThing is a very dangerous thing. The reason being, you find all kinds of books that look REALLY interesting. And even though she hasn’t even read this one yet, I’m giving her a point for it just for owning it :p Love you Ana :p (Paperback Swap)

2. She Loves You, She Loves You Not by Julie Anne Peters – I loved loved loved this book!! I love everything by Julie Anne Peters. I reviewed this one already if you want to read about it! (Bought it)

3. Finding My Voice by Diane Rehm – I love Diane Rehm SO MUCH!! I listen to her very distinct voice every day as long as I can. She has the most wonderful show on NPR and she just sounds like a truly awesome person. This book is about her vocal disability(?) and overcoming it. (Paperback Swap)

4. I Thought My Father Was God compiled by Paul Auster – This is another NPR book actually. It’s a book of very short essays by various people about just different things. Looks really really good!! I’d love to read this one as a group…like read x amount of essays per day. Anyone want to do that?? (Paperback Swap)

5. Level Up by Gene Luen Yang – I don’t even really know what this is about aside from the cover telling me it’s probably about video games. But it’s new Gene Luen Yang!!! I had to get it! :p (Bought it)

6. Your Backyard Wildlife Year by Marcus Schneck – This book is SO cool!! It’s basically a month by month guide to things you can do to attract different wildlife like birds, bees, butterflies, hummingbirds, squirrels, etc. to your yard. Just looking through this book gives me warm fuzzies! It looks like an old illustrated encyclopedia that you’d read as a kid. All sorts of plants and animals (illustrations and pictures) along with so many project ideas. It’s pretty much a perfect book! (Paperback Swap)

7. The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet by Reif Larson – I’ve been wanting this book for SO long!! And then I found it tonight at Barnes and Noble for $6.99!! Hardcover! And it’s such a very beautiful book too!! Love it πŸ™‚ (Bought it)

8. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – This book looks SO awesome!! I saw a trailer for it not long ago and then saw that Carl loved it, so I had to have it. In fact, this book is the reason that I went to Barnes and Noble tonight…this and to see my friend Megan who is now working there πŸ˜€ So freaking excited…think I may read this tonight!! Poin to Carl! (Bought it)

9. Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol – The quote at the top is from Neil Gaiman and says “A Masterpiece”. That’s enough for me πŸ˜€ Neil has not steered me wrong yet! I actually heard about this book from his twitter feed! Looks like Carl has read this one too but this point is going to Neil :p (Bought it)

10. The Complete Fairy Tales of Hans Christian Andersen – This is one of those really beautiful Barnes and Noble editions. Leather bound with a ribbon and gold edged papers. And it truly is GORGEOUS! Can’t beat it for $20. Feels like a steal :p I love Anderen’s fairy tales. They’re all so very sad, but so very good. Does anyone else have this book? I was thinking this would be another fun one to do a readalong with!! We could do a summer project and read one tale a day! (Bought it)

10 Responses

  1. that Hans Christian Anderson book is just gorgeous!…
    I can’t even think his name though without hearing Danny Kaye singing “I’m Hans Christian Anderson!..” (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0044685/)
    Oh I found it on You Tube!! You have to hear it!! It will make you want to read that book right away!! It also has his other songs from the movie like “I once was an ugly duckling….”

  2. Wow!! You have some really gorgeous books here…and the prices!!! sooo jealous πŸ˜€

  3. I just watched the book trailer for Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children over at SuziQOregon’s and I had to turn it off because it got too scary. πŸ˜‰ But the first half of the trailer looked AMAZING. Enjoy!

  4. I really need that Julie Anne Peters book. I’m so sad they didn’t send a review copy like they said they would. 😦

  5. As I tweeted to you last night, I had to laugh because I also picked up the T.S. Spivet book at the library yesterday afternoon and started reading it. But knowing that it might be at my BN for that price means I’ll be stopping by tomorrow to see if I can get my own hardback copy. It is an engaging and interesting book thus far.

    I would LOVE to get in on that group read of the NPR essay book. Can you tweet or email me details when you decide to do so? I love essay books anyway (have you read Sloane Crosley yet?) and think it would be great to get together with you guys and gals to group read it.

  6. Just in case I ordered it from my library. Should have it by Tuesday. πŸ™‚

  7. Whew–glad I already have The Sugar Queen–I suck at fighting. πŸ˜›

  8. I keep seeing Anya’s Ghost everywhere! It’s time for me to put it on hold. Happy reading, Chris!

  9. I desperately want to read Anya’s Ghost since I read Ana’s review (she’s quite the bad blogger!). I have a copy of I Thought My Father Was God. If it’s not packed in a box, I’d love to read it with you! Finally, I’m looking forward to getting my hands on Level Up! I loooove Gene Yang!

  10. Great haul of books, Chris! I hope you enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

