Coming To My Shelves In 2011

So I thought I’d be evil today and show you everything I’ve preordered for this year so far. Yes, I say “so far” because there are sure to be more to come :p Click the thumbnail for the full covers.

1. The Unwritten Volume 4 by Mike Carey – I still have volume three here to read, but I love this series so damn much. Ana got me into it when Volume 1 came out and as you will see, she still influences my reading greatly :p

2. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami – Yay a new Murakami!! As you can guess by the title, this is his take on 1984.

3. Sweet Tooth Volume Three – Debi told me about this series and it completely took me by surprise. OMG I love it so much. It’s such a touching, horrifying, important series in my opinion.

4. American Gods: Tenth Anniversary Edition by Neil Gaiman – My favorite book ever…god, has it been 10 years already since this came out?? I’m so excited about this. It’s the author’s preferred text with lots more content!!

5. Blood Wounds by Susan Beth Pfeffer – Just found out about this one today and I’m stoked. I fell in love with Pfeffer’s writing after the Life as We Knew It series….though the last book was a bit meh for me. But still…she can certainly get your blood pumping!

6. Celluloid by Dave McKean – I might have squealed when I heard about this series. McKean is my favorite living artist and I can’t wait to read this. From what I’ve read, it’s a very sexual book.

7. The Magic of Reality by Richard Dawkins and Dave McKean – Yeah…just read that over again. It’s a science book for kids written by Dawkins and illustrated by McKean! Thanks for the heads up on this one, Ana πŸ™‚

8. Wildwood by Colin Meloy – Yes, the Decemberists’ Colin Meloy. Seriously. Thanks again Ana for the heads up πŸ™‚

So what am I missing here? What else is coming out that I don’t know about? Really…I need more books :p

10 Responses

  1. I still have Vol 3 of The Unwritten to read as well. It’s sitting right up there on my shelf.

    If you have not already read the first two books in Clive Barker’s Abarat series you should do so soon. The third comes out this fall.

  2. I didn’t know there were two volumes of the Unwritten out this year. Thanks for the info. πŸ™‚ I keep meaning to go back and read the first two and then read the third, but haven’t done so yet. I am looking forward to more from the Fables series mostly… πŸ™‚

  3. WHAT. There is an American Gods with more stuff inside it? I actually just slightly damaged my own copy of American Gods, and I was thoroughly sad about it. I need a new one someday…and someday could be now….

  4. Cannot wait for 1Q84. I already preordered it on Amazon.com for $19.00. The only problem is, I have to wait for the mailman to deliver it instead of driving my ass over to Borders…

  5. I can’t wait to hear what you and Bellezza think of 1Q84. I need to actually finish a Murakami (blush) so I won’t be ordering it, myself. But, I think he’s a genius. If only I could actually get through one of his books.

    I had an exciting day so I just have to share it with you, Chris. Today, I managed to run (very slow, feet close to the ground on the treadmill at totally flat level, but I’m still excited) for 10 minutes!!!! After months of limping around with sore knees, that is huge!! I just thought you’d like to share my joy. πŸ™‚ Do I owe you a letter? I can’t remember. Such an airhead. I’ve got a nasty cold, this week, so I did my exercise early. It gets worse at the end of the day. I should probably shut up and go to bed.

  6. I didn’t know there was a preferred content version of American Gods!! I just bought the old version! I guess I need to buy a new copy! πŸ™‚ I had no idea that 1Q94 was Murakami’s take on the original. Now I want to read it. It’s a good thing that I’m not participating in Bad Blogger or else I would have to award you several points! πŸ˜‰

  7. Are you a Decemberists fan? I saw them in concert about 2 yrs ago i think, Hazards of Love tour anyway, and they are absolutely awesome.

  8. Colin, I only read the first Abarat! I don’t know why I haven’t read the second one yet…I need to though now that the third is coming out! I grew up loving Clive Barker πŸ™‚

    Kelly, Yep!! Don’t you love The Unwritten! It’s such an awesome series…and I SERIOUSLY need to catch up with Fables….I’m so far behind :/

    Jenny, There is!!! It comes out in June and I am shaking with excitement!!!! I need a new copy anyway :p I gave my original paperback to my boyfriend a couple of months ago and lord knows when he’ll actually read it :/ LOL. And another ex has my extra copy…which leaves me with none :p I need to stop trying to make everyone read that book, lol. So excited though!!!

    Bellezza, I can’t wait either!! I have it preordered from Amazon too. I think I may have first heard about it on your blog actually! It sounds so good doesn’t it? Your borders closed too 😦 Both of ours did.

    Nancy, the only Murakami I’ve read was Norwegian Wood and After Dark, but I absolutely loved them both! They were good enough to make me want everything of his. This one sounds so good. Congrats on the running!!!! That is so awesome Nancy πŸ˜€ And I believe it’s ME that owes YOU an email :/ I’ve been bad with email lately.

    Vasilly, There is!! It comes out in June!! I already preordered mine. I’m so freaking excited. Murakami’s new book sounds good, huh?

    Melanie, I am a Decemberist fan! We have an on again off again relationship, lol..but ultimately I really love them. I’d love to see them live!

  9. Most definitely looking forward to the new Murakami book, despite the fact that I still have several of his to read.

    I think the only book I currently have pre-ordered is the American Gods one and that because Jeff saw them in the Previews magazine and ordered copies for us through the comic shop.

    I have high hopes that summer will be filled with some really fantastic reading.

  10. Looking forward to read 1Q84!

Leave a Reply

