A Big Bad Bloggers Post

Too many books :p But I’m excited about every one of them! So many books, so little time…there’s such truth to that statement. Here’s what came into the house since the last bad bloggers post!

1. Ruby by Francesca Lia Block – Just because I wanted more Block…(paperback swap)

2. The Cuter Book by Aranzi Aronzo – OMG I love this book!!! Heather sent it to me along with the next three books. It’s a bunch of patterns for adorable little felt animals XD I’ve made 4 already and I love them. So much fun. I want more books like this! (Gift from a friend)

3. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan – I’ve actually read this already but didn’t have my own copy! Now, thanks to Heather, I do πŸ™‚ (Gift from a friend)

4. The Blue Notebook by James A. Levine – Another from Heather! I know nothing about this, lol. (Gift from a friend)

5. Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin – I’m intrigued just by the title of this one! (Gift from a friend)

6. The Lake by Banana Yoshimoto – I STILL have not read anything by Ms. Yoshimoto…but this book sounds really good. And it’s all Bellezza’s fault. Point to Bellezza. (Bought it)

7. The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen – I still haven’t read anything by her either, but I own quite a few of her books! This one sounds great just like the others. And I love the covers to her books! (Paperback Swap)

8. Shattering the Stereotypes by Fawzia Afal-Khan – The subtitle of this one is “Muslim Women Speak Out”. Sounds like it will be a powerful book! This one along with the next few came from Debi as a result of her cleaning her shelves! (Gift from a friend)

9. The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson – Can you believe I still haven’t read this book? Well I haven’t, lol. But it’s been on my wishlist forEVER, so I was very glad when Debi offered it to me πŸ™‚ The point for this one goes all the way back to Becky’s review from when this first came out!Β  (Gift from a friend)

10. Wish Vol. 1 by CLAMP – My favorite group of manga artists/writers. When I saw Debi was getting rid of this I swooped it up! (Gift from a friend)

11. Wish Vol. 2 by CLAMP – Same as above (Gift from a friend)

12. The Legend of Chun Hyang by CLAMP – Once again, same as above :p (Gift from a friend)

13. Poison Study by Maria Snyder – I asked Debi for this one because I read Maria Snyder’s name as Midori Snyder :p But it still looks excellent!! (Gift from a friend)

14. Shooter by Walter Dean Meyers – I’ve read something else by Meyers and loved it…though I can’t remember what now >> So I was happy to take this one off of Debi’s hands too! (Gift from a Friend)

15. Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi – SO EXCITED about this book!! Last time I went to visit Matt and Renay, we went book shopping. And I’ve been wanting this one ever since Renay put it on the top of her best of list last year. It was so much fun bookshopping with her by the way πŸ™‚ Point to Renay! (Bought it)

16. Keeping You a Secret by Julie Anne Peters – I just love Ms. Peters so much. Her books are amazing. And I didn’t have this one so I bought it when I saw it :p (Bought it)

17. A Queer History of the United States by Michael Bronski – I actually had this one preordered and it just came in. It sounds excellent. It’s exactly what the title says…a history of the lgbt movement in the US. (Bought it)

18. CraftCycle by Heidi Boyd – This is a really cool little book that my sister gave me for my birthday. It has a bunch of ideas on how to upcycle a bunch of items and make new things from old stuff! (Birthday gift)

19. The Seer of Shadows by Avi – I just really want to like Avi’s books. The only thing I’ve read is Crispin and I didn’t like that at all…so I’m trying something else now! (Paperbacks Swap)

20. Dude, You’re a Fag by C.J. Pascoe – I’m super duper excited about this one too! It looks at the bullying of gay kids in high schools as well as the different gender roles that people play. (Bought it)

21. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – See who wrote this book? That’s why I bought it :p And I’m totally giving Patrick Ness a point for his own book because he should take the blame for writing such amazing books…and for making me cry like a baby. (Bought it)

22. Tarantula by Thierry Jonquet – I’ve literally just started this one and it’s very interesting so far. I was lucky enough to get a copy of this for review. It’s the book that the new Pedro Almodovar film is based on. And I LOVE Almodovar. Such amazing films. Should have a review of it up pretty soon! (Sent for review)

23. The Stuff of Legend Volume 2 by Mike Raicht – Well Debi will always get points for these :p Because she introduced me to the series and got me hooked! So excited that this second volume is out! Point to Debi. (Bought it)

10 Responses

  1. The Blue Notebook, The Sugar Queen, and The Adoration of Jenna Fox all in one Bad Bloggers post? You’re in for a treat with each one of those. πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for posting this. I MUST HAVE Queer History and You’re a Fag. Luckily my school seems to be pretty accepting with the LGB-curious students. Even the boys, which I feel is SO much harder for adolescent boys to come out (I’ve noticed some feel comfortable labeling themselves as “bi” first). Unfortunately we have some teachers whose attitudes I feel contribute to the bullying. You know, calling home about two boys kissing but not boy-girl make out sessions? WTF. Ignorance is unfortunate.

    Finally, I hope you enjoy Seer of Shadows. It’s the only Avi book I’ve read. He’s pretty prolific.

  3. ahhh son, son, son… when the day comes that you move into your own place.. it’s going to take you a month just to move your books! LOL..

  4. Can someone say…Lots of bookshelves…lol Have fun with all your wonderful reads πŸ˜€

  5. lol That’s a lot of books! I loved The Forest of Hands and Teeth. I just finished book three and am going to be reviewing it with Heather. The Blue Notebook is actually rather good… I think you might like it more than I did, but that’s just a guess. It’s not that I didn’t like it, I just didn’t love it. The Sugar Queen is really good. I always want to say it is my favourite of her books, but that’s mainly because of the book storyline including in the book… The Adoration of Jenna Fox was really good. I am looking forward to the sequel coming out this year. And, Poison Study is sooo good! I love that trilogy!! Does this mean Debi got rid of it without reading it? I hope not!! Oh, and I read Keeping You a Secret, too, and really liked it. Soon have to read something else by Peters, but I am running out of books!

    hm, it doesn’t work out that I have read a lot of the books people buy much anymore, so this was fun. πŸ™‚

  6. Don’t feel bad, Chris, I still haven’t read this (The Lake) yet either. Just think of the joy we’ll have opening those books for the JLC5 which starts June 1! Glad I enticed you into buying it friend. πŸ™‚

  7. I WANT THE CUTER BOOK! πŸ˜€ Actually, I just beg you to make them all for me. πŸ˜‰ Oh my, but so many good books there…yep, another good haul!

    And Kelly, don’t worry–I read The Adoration before passing it along. Read it, and loved it. πŸ˜€

  8. Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac is a really enjoyable read, (I read it a couple of years ago.)

    I should really be giving Mr Ness 2 points, because of course I bought a copy as soon as I could, and then while I was in London last weekend, I came across a signed copy, which of course I just had to buy! πŸ™‚

  9. T-T Only half of WISH. T-T As much as I want to shout at you to drop everything read them right now, I can’t in good conscience do so unless you have easy and fast access to volume 3 and 4 as well. (I should reread WISH.) Related YouTube link. That’s a spoof opening they made for a (non-existent) anime adaptation. The song is adorable.

    I admit that I haven’t read Snyder’s Study trilogy, but I did enjoy her Glass trilogy. I hope you’ll enjoy it!

    And I love that you’re giving Patrick Ness a point for his own book. ❀

    Enjoy your books, hun! ^-^

  10. Oh Oh oh The Adoration of Jenna Fox!! I LOVE that book! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

