An Update Before I Skip Town

Hey everyone! Remember me? I’m going out of town tomorrow so I just thought I’d pop in and say hi and how are you and post a general update before I left. Though with how infrequently I update this blog, you never would’ve known that I went anywhere :p

As for reading, I’m still in the middle of SO many books, but starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel with some of them. I’m still reading The Fox Woman by Kij Johnson as I’ve been doing for the last month and a half now. It has nothing to do with not liking the book. In fact, it’ll be one of my favorite reads of the year, I know. But I’m just reading too much right now! Whenever I do read The Fox Woman though, I fall in love all over again and think to myself “why the hell did I ever put this down?”

On the nightstand I have three books going right now. One is A Discovery of Witches which is so good. It reminds me quite a bit of The Historian actually in the feel of the novel. And it’s a chunkster. I’m thinking of you with this one, Pat. It just gets better and better with each chapter. And to make it even BETTER, I’m reading it with Debi, Kelly and Heather! Much fun šŸ™‚ The I have Thrifty Green going which is a book about a woman who lived off the grid for a year and all of her experiences, tips and advice if you want to do the same or as close to the same as possible. Almost finished this one and I’ve learned SO many easy tips that I’ll be doing when i have my own place. And finally, I have Margo Lanagan’s Black Juice going. Only two stories left in that one for me and I wish there were 100 more! God I love Lanagan’s writing so much.

In addition to all of those, I’m reading Lauren Myracle’s Shine on my Nook! Which is also just amazing. Still have about half of that one to go though. It’s a wonder I get anything completed these days with 5 books going at once :/ Well that’s the problem…I never do get anything completed. I always have the best intentions when I’m down to just one book but there are SO MANY other amazing books to read that I can’t read just one at a time :p

The garden is AMAZING right now. I really can’t get over it. I have probably about 50 tomatoes on my bushes right now, tons of bell peppers and jalapenos, I’ve picked more basil than I can ever eat, all of my herbs are looking amazing, eggplant are starting, I have okra growing, watermelons starting to grow, zucchini coming out of my ears and we ate the first cucumber from the garden last night! Oh, I’ve picked a few onions too šŸ™‚ And the flowers are looking beautiful too. I have a huge spray of coreopsis that are in bloom and I love their pretty brown and orange faces. I haven’t been posting many garden updates here, but there are TONS on my tumblr.

And things with Matt just continue to get better with each and every day. I’m so blessed to have him in my life and I couldn’t ask for more than what I have now. Well aside from the distance, but hopefully that will not be forever.

So this is my life…not much has changed really, lol. Still reading more than I can handle, still growing things, and still being silly in love. Some things never change….

9 Responses

  1. i just spent half an hour looking at your amazing photos on Tubmlr- but I wanted to leave comments (“notes”) and don’t know how! do I have to have my own tubmler account or something? Oh, and I’m going to send you a list of extra seeds I have 4 you but just too tired with the huge belly now… it might be a few days or a week or so, when I feel like digging the seed jars out of the back of my fridge…

  2. Garden??? Sob. One of the bad things about being a Yankee — short growing season.

  3. Sounds like a pretty good life, my dear! šŸ˜€ Abundance of books, abundance of produce, and abundance of love. Yep, pretty damn good!!! Love ya!!!

  4. So glad to hear you’ve got so many good books – and a great garden! – brewing. Can’t wait for your return, have good travels!

  5. Great to hear things are good at the moment. Enjoy your break.

  6. hmmm, are you calling me a witch??!! *giggle*
    I am going pretty slow with Wise Mans Fear too but I like it ..my eyes are giving me grief when I try to read and suddenly I get sleepy even in the middle of the day when reading and I don’t want to read and not remember because I am sleepy! grrrrrr.. this book is like 994 pgs lol.. I am 200 pgs into it and it looks like I haven’t made a dent lol

  7. Hope you have a wonderful trip. Glad to hear about all the good things in your life šŸ™‚

  8. You’ve really inspired me with your garden posts to put some potted plants on my back patio. I’ll be away for a few weeks in June, but when I get back, I’ll still have plenty of summer left to put a few plants out back. Growing up, we had a HUGE garden that had everything from corn to tomatoes and raspberries going all at once. It was a ton of work, that I used to joke was all about child slave labor, but the “fruits” of it all was so good!

    I hope you have a wonderful time on your trip (or had, if you’re back). It’s so great to hear about all your happiness with Matt!

  9. Don’t you love being silly in love? Tickled pink that you are, Chris. Scott and I just celebrated our five years and though the road has been bumpy at times–sometimes really bumpy–we’re still silly in love and I love that. Best to you and Matt–you deserve all the happiness. šŸ˜‰

    Have a fantastic trip!!

Leave a Reply

