Little Red Riding Hood by The Brothers Grimm and Daniel Egneus

I have to say that this is one of the most gorgeous books I have ever seen. I’ve always loved the story of Little Red Riding Hood and the imagery associated with it. Though I do have some major problems with how the story portrays women, I have to admit. Poor helpless girl goes trolloping through the woods and is fooled by a wolf, mistaking him for her grandmother and then they both get eaten only to be cut out of the wolf’s stomach by the manly huntsman. Not cool brothers Grimm. And I don’t excuse it because of it’s time…women should never have been looked at that way.

What I do love is how the imagery of Little Red Riding Hood has changed over the years and how it’s now becoming a symbol of feminism. Where the woman takes control. I have a tshirt that I absolutely love of little red riding hood pulling a gun out of her picnic basket and wearing the wolf’s hide as a frock. It’s always refreshing to see things start to come around…though I know that our society still has a long way to go.

This volume of Little Red Riding Hood just took my breath away with every page turn. The art is so amazing and I’m upset that I haven’t been familiar with Daniel Egneus for longer. I bought this book from Barnes and Noble solely on the cover alone (and Heather’s recommendation) and refused to look at the inside of it until I got home to read it. I wanted it all to be a surprise. And what a gorgeous surprise it is.

The text comes directly from The Brothers Grimm so the story has not changed and the unfortunate events of the tale are all still there. But the imagery is gorgeous and paints the women in a beautiful, strong light. I really enjoyed that. Have a look for yourself…and enjoy.

22 Responses

  1. Gorgeous! Where’d you get the shirt?

  2. This is soo beautiful. I did review the latest retelling Red Riding Hood. The book wasn’t that good but I’m planning on doing a post on many different re-tellings of the story maybe next week. In some of them the girl is not that passive. I’ll link to your post to make people aware of this astonishing book.

  3. Oh my those pictures are breathtaking!! I’ll definitely be on the lookout for this one, Chris.

  4. the story doesn’t interest me, but as you said… the artwork is fantastic!!

  5. Corr! That artwork looks absolutely gorgeous!

  6. Those illustrations are beautiful. I like the way the text is set up too; it reminds me of the text set-up in the children’s books Neil Gaiman’s done with Dave McKean.

  7. Kim, I got the shirt from Threadless.com. I love their shirts so much!! Not sure if they still have it available or not, but it’s definitely worth a look!

    Caroline, I was curious about that new retelling…I saw it the other day. Sorry to hear it wasn’t the greatest! I can’t wait to see all of your posts though on retellings 🙂 You’re so right that some of them are fantastic.

    Trish, What the hell are you doing on blogs?! LOL..Aren’t you about to have a baby :p But yes…the art is amazing!!! Worth the buy. I’ll look at this one many times. *hugs*!!

    Deslily, Isn’t it?? I fell in love with it. Each page was just as good as the one before!

    Darren, I know!! I’d love to have all of these as prints :p

    Jenny, It reminded me of the Gaiman/McKean collaborations too! I think that’s one of the reasons that I loved it so much!

  8. How utterly gorgeous!

  9. Wow, I LOVE the art in this! Amazing! I’m with you, I would take some of them as framed prints!

  10. Wow! All I can say is “Wow!!!”. That artwork is amazing. I love it. I’ll be keeping an eye out for this, it is just the kind of book I would like to have in my collection. Off to see if the illustrator has a website!

  11. May I use the picture of the girl who I see as a lamb dressed in wolves clothing? I am starting a co. that is also in part a ministry (undercover love) disguised as part of the world in this Godless world. I love fashion and always claim to be a lamb dressed in wolves clothing. I want to use this illustration in a powerpoint presentation for possible investors…..
    Your truly in Christi@m,
    Brandi Teague

  12. […] Daniel Egnéus came out this year. I discovered it during the Once Upon a Time Challenge. Here is Chris’ review  that contains some of the truly wonderful […]

  13. Seeing these intricate pictures of the infamous story Little Red Riding Hood makes me realize what a phenomenal story it was as I was a little kid. Although Little Red Riding Hood is interpreted differently from many people’s vantage point, it is a timeless classic that I enjoy reading. It taught me many valuable lessons about so many things that I had never though possible growing up. I really admire these sketchings!

  14. The illustrations look fantastic!! The story is different with every version i read though. In this version, both the grandmother and riding hood are eaten, and cut out by the hunter. I read another story though, and the wolf eats the grandmother, and the dad comes in and kills the wolf as he is about to eat his daughter. The grandmother is dead in the end. I felt this was a much more graphic ending. I don’t think i would ever read that version to my children. Death is a sensitive theme to touch on, especially in a fairytale for children.

  15. I’d have to agree with you that women were historically portrayed in a negative sense throughout different re-writes of Little Red Riding Hood. In the 1908 version by an unknown author, Little Red Riding Hood’s father has to be the one to save her and kill the big bad wolf. This bothered me for a couple of reasons – it suggested that women were to frail to get themselves out of sticky situations, and needed to rely on a male figure to rescue them. It also bothered me how graphically the wolf was be-headed.
    Modern re-writes of Little Red Riding Hood have featured stronger and wittier heroines, yet they seem to lack the ‘lesson’ that fairytales like this were meant to teach a child. I think there needs to be a balance between the two – a version of LRRH with both positive social and cultural messages, as well as healthy doses of ethics, morals, and lessons within the story.

  16. The different versions of Little Red Riding Hood poorly represent women and their judgment and capability to live equally among men in society. The original story of Little Red Riding Hood was created by Charles Perrault in 1697 to appeal to the court of Versailles. Over the years there have been many different versions created for a number of audiences. The earlier versions of Little Red Riding Hood were written mainly for the aristocratic society as a way of sending a message of chastity and obedience to the children of these wealthy families. I also agree that in these time periods, women were portrayed as inferior to men and as incapable of taking care of themselves and having proper judgment. Although Little Red Riding Hood is a cautionary tale meant to teach children a lesson, The Bros Grimm. Version is too graphic and the male writers of these different versions portray the “heroine” as helpless.

  17. The artwork in the second picture is a feminist makeover of the fairytale, but I love the original version, wrote by Charles Perrault. It was wrote in France during the era when society practiced chastity and women were seen as fragile. To me, it is a more sensible look at the outcome and lesson behind the story. In this version she is killed by the wolf, but in some of the more modern versions, she is saved by a hero. The story has changed over time based on society’s view of truths. Whatever society believes is right at the time will be incorporated into stories. Little Red Riding Hood is just one of the many examples, and it is still a classic.

  18. I truly enjoy the evolution of this story in conjunction with the progression of women’s right. The pictures depict that beautifully. The picture with the gun and the wolf coat essentially, is a profound illustration that really gets to the heart of the matter. Versions of old in which Little Red Riding Hood is brutally murdered or saved by hunters portray the females of the time to be weak and helpless. This story art lets her be the hero for once and shows that women do have the power to protect themselves rather than always having to be damsels in distress. Even now equality still sometimes is not what it should be, but this is definitely a step in the right direction.

  19. The illustrations from this book prove to be very interesting because, instead of picturing Little Red Riding Hood as an innocent little girl she is depicted as a strong beautiful young woman. This classic story was considered a seduction tale due the wolf luring Little Red Riding Hood into bed with him. By picturing Little Red Riding Hood as a young woman it makes the seduction aspect of the story seem much more realistic.

  20. The illustrations from this book are be very interesting because, instead of picturing Little Red Riding Hood as an innocent little girl she is depicted as a strong beautiful young woman. This classic story was considered a seduction tale due the wolf luring Little Red Riding Hood into bed with him. By picturing Little Red Riding Hood as a young woman it makes the seduction aspect of the story seem much more realistic.

  21. […] many singers do it to keep their voice normal while on tour.Got a better answer? Share it below!Paige Martell Asked: 2 little red spots on my upper lip?they just randomly showed up they r just lit…next to each other. like a week or two ago i was bit by a dog…it tore a gash into my upper lip and […]

  22. Seeing these intricate pictures of the infamous story Little Red Riding Hood makes me realize what a phenomenal story it was as I was a little kid. Although Little Red Riding Hood is interpreted differently from many people’s vantage point, it is a timeless classic that I enjoy reading. It taught me many valuable lessons about so many things that I had never though possible growing up. I really admire these sketchings!

Leave a Reply

