It's Once Upon A Time Time!

Once upon a time, I joined the world of book blogging. That was in 2007. January of 2007 to be exact. At the time, I didn’t really know any bloggers. I followed the blogs of Neil Gaiman and Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings. I read a few other blogs, but not regularly. Then Spring came around and Carl started a challenge based around fantasy, folklore, fairy tales and mythology. I think I fell out of my chair. This was my favorite kind of literature! So I joined…my first challenge. It was then that I truly felt like this community had become a true community. One of Carl’s challenges within the challenge was to go and comment on everyone’s sign up posts and I made SO MANY friends from that one day. Friends that have now come to mean more to me than I can ever express in words….five years later.

This year, I’ve been in a reading and blogging funk. I can’t seem to motivate myself for anything. But I’m hoping that this wonderful challenge will bring back that spirit that I have been missing. It’s a reminder and a celebration of the beauty of stories and the beauty of friendships for me. So I’m thrilled to embark upon Quest the First for the fifth annual Once Upon a Time Challenge.

Here is a pool of books that I plan on choosing from to read….as if this isn’t enough, I’ll likely add to this as the challenge progresses :p

Fathom by Cherie Priest (I’m actually in the middle of this one)
Harrowing the Dragon by Patricia McKillip
Sorcery and Cecelia by Patricia Wrede
The Neverending Story by Michael Ende
The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
Bird by Rita Murphy
I Was A Teenage Fairy by Francesca Lia Block
Tales From Moomin Valley by Tove Jansson
Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones
Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud
The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents by Terry Pratchett
A Wind in the Door by Madeline L’Engle
A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett
St. Lucy’s Home For Girls Raised by Wolves by Karen Russell
The Magic Toyshop by Angela Carter
Silver Phoenix by Cindy Pon
Blue Diary by Alice Hoffman
The Unicorn Sonata by Peter Beagle
Mouse Guard: Winter 1152 by David Petersen
Baba Yaga Laid an Egg by Dubravka Ugresic
Troll: A Love Story by Johanna Sinisalo
Mojo Stories by Various
Girl Meets Boy by Ali Smith
Small Gods by Terry Pratchett
Lips Touch Three Times by Laini Taylor
The Gobin Market by Christina Rossetti
Thessaly: Witch For Hire by Bill Willingham
Haroun and the Sea of Stories by Salman Rushdie
One for Sorrow by Christopher Barzak
Fables by Bill Willingham
Ash by Malinda Lo
Dream Angus by Alexander McCall Smith
Black Juice by Margo Lanagan
Graceling by Kristin Cashore
Weight by Jeanette Winterson
The Orphan’s Tale by Catherynne Valente
The Alchemy of Stone by Ekaterina Sedia
The Wild Wood by Charles de Lint
Memory and Dream by Charles de Lint
Ratha’s Creature by Clare Bell
His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik
Zahra the Windseeker by Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu
The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett
Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne
Hidden Warrior by Lynn Flewelling
The Ice Queen by Alice Hoffman
The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin
One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Medicine Road by Charles de Lint
The Onion Girl by Charles de Lint
The Watermelon King by Daniel Wallace
The Green Man ed. by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windlling
The Faery Reel ed by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling
The Little Country by Charles de Lint
Someplace to be Flying by Charles de Lint

Whew! My fingers are tired after typing all of that :p And this isn’t even ALL of the fantasy that I own, lol. I would love some help winding this list down….what do you think is a MUST READ out of this list? Have fun everyone!!!!

28 Responses

  1. ha ha ha…. I suggest:
    Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones
    The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents by Terry Pratchett
    A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett
    A Wind in the Door by Madeline L’Engle
    Girl Meets Boy by Ali Smith
    Lips Touch Three Times by Laini Taylor
    The Gobin Market by Christina Rossetti
    Fables by Bill Willingham (of course!)
    Ash by Malinda Lo
    The Orphan’s Tale by Catherynne Valente
    The Ice Queen by Alice Hoffman
    Graceling by Kristin Cashore
    His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik
    One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
    The Onion Girl by Charles de Lint

    Okay, so maybe not helpful….

  2. JUST REMEMBER YOU ASKED.

    The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch <—- WHY HAVEN'T YOU READ THIS
    Ash by Malinda Lo
    Graceling by Kristin Cashore <—– ;SFA;SKD;LKASD CHRIS
    The Orphan’s Tale by Catherynne Valente
    His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik <——– RUN DON'T WALK

  3. well now…
    I want you to read Harrowing the Dragon by Patricia McKillip so I know if its good or not lol
    Bird is a great little book and one you can read quickly and feel that feeling of “one book down X more to go ” lol

    If you enjoy sarcastic humor you will Love Love Love The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud ! Of course when you just can’t get enough of Bartimaeus you will also have to read the other two books in the trilogy! But I really love Bartimaeus..he’s sarcastic and quite often gets into trouble ..it a fun read so that might help you when you are not up to par.

    gads.. we met from OUaT !! and you are right, most everyone I met was from that! Heck I never had a tbr pile more than 2 books before I met Carl! Damn he owes me a lot of money hahahahaha… Hooray for Once Upon a Time!

  4. Want to hear something silly? I read Carl’s announcement post just a few minutes ago, and it literally started me crying. You know, without OUaT I wouldn’t have you or Ana or Carl or Pat or… in my life. And god, I just don’t want to think about that!

    Now as for suggestions–I’m just going to choose one because I don’t want to muddy the water. 😉 THE GOLDEN COMPASS. 😀

  5. Wow that’s a huge pool, lol! Have fun with the challenge. 🙂

  6. I’ve been feeling so happy today, as I’m back in touch with my beginning blogging buddies and beginning blogging challenges from the days I first started my blog. As I told Kailana, I knew she would have a great list from which to choose, and so do you! I should just come straight to you two, and really, I do need to read something from Charles de Lint this time around. xoxo

  7. Can I actually start my suggestions off with an anti-recommendation? I do not recommend the Valente at this current point in time. It takes a lot of effort and concentration and reading it during or just after a reading slump may be a really, really bad idea. (Sadly, because if you weren’t in a reading slump, I would have totally backed the recommendations for it. ‘course you’re not me, so your mileage may very well differ. ^-^ I hope so!)

    The Gobin Market by Christina Rossetti
    The Alchemy of Stone by Ekaterina Sedia

    For me, personally that is. Books that aren’t must-reads that I’d recommend will yield more suggestions, but I haven’t read a fair amount of the ones I want to tell you to read. (Such as the Beagle, because I know how much you like his work.) So that wouldn’t really be a fair list.

    I really hope the challenge will help you with your reading slump! Have fun!

  8. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch is one of my favourite books:) But you’ve got so many wonderful titles to choose from. Decisions, decisions, but that’s part of the fun, isn’t it?

  9. I’ve read a few of them. Lips Touch Three Times was really pretty good. I like 2 of the stories a lot. The third was so-so. Graceling I enjoyed a lot. And I’ll always stand by de Lint. The Little Country was THE book that started my reading of Fantasy novels, and Memory & Dreams (which I read for this Challenge a couple of years ago) has reached my list of Top Books Ever. I LOVED it. Read my review.

    I guess I came back to blogging just in time!

  10. I too hope this helps you come out of the funk. I had started to get into one of those myself a few weeks back and Rothfuss’ Name of the Wind has done a great job of pulling me back out. And wow, what a list of books! That list is sure to spark a fire.

    Let me add to your list, unless I just missed this. Peter S. Beagle has a newly released collection called Sleight of Hand. I’ve read the first two stories out of it to Mary today. Oh Wow! It is really good so far.

    I’m so glad to see you sign up again this year. You are one of the founding members, one of the main reasons I keep being inspired to blog, and I couldn’t imagine this being the same without you.

  11. Hahahaha, wow, you have quite a pool to draw on there! I have one book under consideration, because it’s a book that’s falling due at the library soon, and it also happens to be a fairy tale! But I’m anticipating my list will grow when other bloggers (hint, hint) start reviewing theirs. 🙂

  12. I’ve read a few of those and found all to be good but particularly Maurice etc by Terry Pratchett. *Very* thought provoking but also, as always with Terry, funny and clever and amazing. His Majesty’s Dragon is also excellent and I love love love The Goblin Market. Wonderful pool of books, Chris. Look forward to seeing which of them you choose to read. (Read Maurice, read Maurice, read Maurice, read…)

  13. Lots of books I’ve never heard of before. Good luck Chris!

  14. What a fabulous pool of books! I am so happy it is time for OUAT again and excited to see everyone join in.

  15. Hmm, you know I have lots of opinions about books, so here’s what I recommend and or am hoping to read myself this time:

    Read and you should read right now! lol:
    Sorcery and Cecelia
    Doomsday Book
    St Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves
    Fables
    Memory and Dream
    Hidden Warrior
    A Storm of Swords (I’ve got this on my list too….we could read it together…)

    Books on your list I want to read (and why haven’t I read them yet):
    A Storm of Swords
    His Majesty’s Dragon

    and I desperately need to find a copy of Ash!!!

    wonderful list, Chris, and now I won’t feel so bad posting my humongous list either!!! lol

    It’s such a fun challenge, isn’t it? yaay!! OUaT is here!

  16. Wow, you have some excellent ones! I might have to steal a few from your list. I can heartily recommend Fire and Hemlock, anything by Charles de Lint (I loved all the ones you mentioned), and the Golden Compass for sure — I might have to read The Neverending Story along with you!

  17. Great list! One Hundred Years of Solitude is one of my favorite books. I also enjoyed the Neverending Story, the Doomsday Book, and Troll. I have been meaning to read the Alchemy of Stone and I have Haroun and the Sea of Stories on my list as well. I had forgotten about Alice Hoffman, she would be perfect for this challenge! And some time I will really have to try Ellen Datlow, Terri Windling and Charles de Lint. So many books, so little time! I look forward to your reviews.

  18. Your list is huge! With all that to read, you’re sure to get out of that reading/blogging funk you have been in. And BTW, as a book blogger for many years myself, we all go through the times when reading and blogging have to take a back seat. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve considered shutting down the old blog, but would miss so many of my blogging buddies.

  19. You’ve got a super-amazing pool there, but I’d peg THE LIES OF LOCKE LAMORA as the #1 must-read. It is MINDBLOWING.

  20. I love Fables! I need to get back to that series. Have fun, there are some great books on your list.

  21. Good heavens. If I ever join this challenge, I know who to ask for recommendations!!!

  22. Um. I echo Renay about Graceling. As long as all those letters mean read it f’in’ soon. OMG that, and Fire, are bloody fantastic. Really? You haven’t read those???

    I also highly recommend The Neverending Story, but you know that. 😀

  23. Oh Oh start Fables!!!

    strangely, i started blogging in like August of that same year and the first challenge i participated in was Carl’s 2nd RIP!

  24. You have so many great looking titles on your list. I just wanted to say that even though I have stumbled upon your blog a few times over the 3 years I have book blogged I for some reason never bookmarked it. But now, I can say you are in my google reader–I really enjoy stopping by your blog and perusing. I know the blogging funk feeling well–experienced it myself from summer through the fall of last year. But then, at Christmas time, my desire to blog just seemed to appear. I did miss my blog friends and I think that might be why I was so eager to come back to it!
    Anyways…have a great weekend!
    *smiles*

  25. By Heck, that’s a book pool and a half Chris! Have fun making your way though it! 🙂

  26. I think you need to read A Tale Dark & Grimm by Adam Gidwitz!

  27. have fun with the challenge! I wish I was reading more these days so I could join, but I’ll be with you in spirit. Yours is an amazing pool of possibilities:)

  28. Wow, that’s quite a list! I’d say Sorcery and Cecelia and Graceling. I think you’ll love both of them!

Leave a Reply

