Wondering Where I Am?

I’m wondering the same damn thing! LOL…Seriously guys, I don’t know where the hell my head has been lately. I know I shouldn’t apologize for not blogging or commenting, but I really do feel like I should at the same time. Because I miss everyone so very much…miss interacting with everyone, miss talking about books, miss READING books, miss knowing what’s going on in everyone’s lives. Things have just been so chaotic lately. Mostly with work. Everything else is really good. I’m not at a place in life where I can really complain. Yes, the headaches are still annoying the hell out of me, but I’ll take that over what I could have to deal with.

It’s funny how when things get so hectic and busy, it’s what we enjoy that goes out the door 😦 It shouldn’t be that way and I know that very well. But when I get home from work at 11:30 at night, I just don’t want to do anything but go to bed. Or veg out and watch TV for a little while. And I just can rarely get motivated to do anything before work. I think I just need a vacation to recuperate which I will have at the beginning of March \o/

I haven’t been reading at all lately which is really sad 😦 I haven’t read anything at all in like a week now which just feels wrong. But despite that, the books keep pouring in which reminds me I have to do a bad bloggers post soon! What I have been doing is lots of gardening since the temps have finally warmed up here!! I have tomatoes and bell peppers and asparagus and rosemary in the ground now and I’ve also planted a grape vine and a dwarf pomegranate tree! Oh! And onions! I’m doing onions for the first time. Also been enjoying the hell out of the the new PJ Harvey album, Let England Shake and DYING to hear the new Radiohead that comes out this Saturday!!!

Be patient with me guys….even though I haven’t been commenting, I’ve been reading everyone’s posts…I have like 150 posts starred in my google reader that I want to comment on :p Some of the posts go back as far as 3 or 4 weeks, lol…so some of you may be getting some comments on older posts this weekend. I miss you all!!!

17 Responses

  1. It’s ok Chris…life will continually “get in the way” of enjoyment but when you can notice it, it generally gets somewhat better. I hope I get to talk to you before you leave on vacation.. but whatever.

    on a book note, I knew the 568 page biography of Charles Dickens would eat up my January reading and it did.. I will finally finish it today though lol it was well worth the ONE dollar used book price! lol

    I hope you are feeling well!! hugs!

  2. Oh Chris, we will still be here when you get back to blogging. Go and enjoy your life and have fun. You need to take some time out to enjoy yourself and soon.

  3. *hugs*

    Honestly, while I keep forcing myself to read a certain amount, I haven’t been feeling it at all this year. Just like you’ve been working on other interests (gardening) I’ve been spending a lot more time exercising and doing non-reading stuff to help diversify my interests (playing piano, singing, listening to music, learning calligraphy, etc). I hope one day the urge to read comes back, but for now, I’m liking this scattered state. I’m sure if I had a full-time job like you, I wouldn’t be reading at all!

    When is your vacation exactly? I know you said March before but I didn’t know if it was early or later or spring-breakish.

  4. Wishing you happy thoughts, Chris! Sometimes I think we put too much pressure on ourselves to do everything that in the end it just feels overwhelming. I’ve only read two books this year–short ones–so I’m right there with you. Sounds like you’ve been enjoying your garden at least, which is wonderful. I’d really love to plant something but haven’t had the time to research just where to start. I noticed my irises are starting to sprout, so I’ll probably get out in the garden this weekend before I’m too big to bend over. πŸ˜‰

    Hope you have something fabulous planned for March. Only a few days away, now!!

  5. We’ve been missing you, too! I’m glad to know things are more or less okay- sometimes you just need time for other things, and I know my blog-reading is usually the first thing to go when life presses in on me. I’ve been having the urge to start gardening, too, although our weather is not as warm as yours yet! I can’t wait to see pics of your garden. Did you start rosemary from seed, or buy a plant? I’ve been trying to grow rosemary for two years now and failed…

    (Comments on old posts are always welcome! I always read them and respond)

  6. Chris you are in the same boat as me, sweetie. I’ve been so exhausted with work (and I’m sure you agree, busyness is one thing, but it’s the EMOTIONAL exhaustion that wears me out the most). When I get done with the day all I want to do is eat crappy food, watch mindless tv, and fall asleep. I’ve read 4 books this year. And this month? Nada. *sigh*

    I envision myself in a luxurious hotel room with a balcony facing the beach – listening to the crash of waves while I lounge around reading with the soft sound of Tori Amos playing in the background. My fantasies are hawt, aren’t they? LOL.

  7. “It’s funny how when things get so hectic and busy, it’s what we enjoy that goes out the door” How very true. And how very sad.

    I so hope you can find some time for relaxing this weekend, sweetie. You really do deserve it. *hugs hugs hugs*

  8. Aright there, stranger? πŸ˜›

    Enjoy your upcoming time off Chris! We’ll be here when you get back to reading and blogging!

  9. It happens! But welcome back, when you get around to it. Love the gardening update — I’m hoping to do some of that this weekend too. We are hoping to plant a pomegranate this year (guess we’d better get on that), although it’s too early for tomatoes here. But potatoes — in the ground (or whatever, pot, bag, whatever) this weekend!

  10. *snug* I’m sorry to hear things have been so hectic for you, Chris! I hope you’ll have time to read again soon! (Though your garden sounds like it’ll keep you happy and busy for a good while too, what with the temperatures rising again.)

    As a totally random and probably useless question, would it be helpful if you could borrow some audiobooks (of books you already own) and listen to them for a while when you get home? Or would that not help at all? 😦

    *sends good thoughts*

  11. It’s not bad not to be reading! Sometimes that’s just not what you’re in the mood for. I hope things settle down for you soon though!

  12. I’m swamped with work right now too and feel horrible about not having time to comment so people know I’m still reading their blogs. I carved out this morning to try to touch base with everyone.

    I am so jealous that can talk about gardening. Hey, the snow melted — that’s a start.

  13. I miss you too! It’s funny but I’m the opposite, I’m reading so much that I’m barely posting! I have to find a happy medium somewhere. If you are happily gardening, then that’s exactly what you need – to feel grounded and the sun on your face and the wind on the skin. *sigh* we have at least two month to go before we can see the ground, and another month before it’s safe to go in the garden and plant, so please plant and enjoy for me!!!! Can you post some pictures of your garden so those of us in the frozen white north can enjoy and dream? πŸ˜€

    Besides, when you do want to post about books, you know you are just going to add to all our piles! I hope you feel better soon, though, Chris. I hate the sound of those headaches.

  14. Yes I have, in fact, been wondering where you’ve been and missing you like crazy. I’m glad you at least popped in to tell us what’s going on. This may just not be the season for Chris to blog and that’s fine. You have to go with what’s right for you. Sorry about the headaches. Mine have really improved since I went for physical therapy on my neck but I’m still stuck with them every time the weather changes. You know I empathize with you. *hugs*

    So . . . I just met Amy of Amy Reads and she’s from Prince Edward Island. In Canada! I’m thinking you and I MUST meet, this year. It’s crazy that we’re so close geographically and haven’t even met. What do you think?

  15. CHEERS!!! cheers for finding that balance, the peace, whatever you need when you need it, sunshine, great tunes and positive energies… can I crash in on that meetup idea with Nancy?! If only… *smiles*

  16. We’re still here! Take care of yourself. And the gardening sounds HEAVENLY. πŸ™‚

  17. It just seems to be that way for everyone lately, so I wouldn’t worry too much, since most of us have been in that situation we can sympathize. I hope you get a chance to enjoy some books soon!

Leave a Reply

