Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card

As much as I’ve come to ABHOR Orson Scott Card’s views on homosexuality and his rants that he’s been known to post on them, I can’t seem to leave the man’s writing. For awhile, I read nothing by Orson Scott Card novels. I remember reading Ender’s Game for the first time and then following that up with Speaker for the Dead and it being the most incredible reading experience I’d ever had. I was amazed that somebody could write anything as incredible as Speaker for the Dead…that anyone could understand humans so well…that anyone could understand the human EXPERIENCE so well. So then I went on to read more of his books.

I read books like the Homecoming saga which is one of my all time favorite series. That book had one of the most amazing gay characters I’ve ever read in a book. What I loved about that character was that he was NOT “a gay character”…he was a character that happened to be gay. OSC wrote him that way. And he gave him such wonderful, beautiful traits. Made him into a being of such kindness and beauty and compassion. He’s written plenty of other gay characters into his novels. And they’ve all been amazing characters. Same with his straight characters…OSC just writes fantastic CHARACTERS. He’s written plenty of great Asian and Black characters as well. Characters of all different ages, he’s written characters that are male, female, and characters that are ambiguous in their gender. I’ve loved him for all of these reasons.

So I was crushed when I read an essay he wrote against homosexuality. And I’ve heard him defend himself…blah blah blah. But the fact is, he wrote that and stands by it. Being gay is wrong in his eyes and gays should never have the chance to marry. It’s a SIN. That word, that word. I just don’t get the clash of the two…what he writes vs. what he preaches. My own theory has been that what he writes is what he truly believes…that’s been what I told myself for years. I don’t think you can write characters so fluidly without relating to them somehow. Almost like his writing is his way to truly express his ideals…but at the same time, when you are such a popular author, you have a responsibility…at least I think so…and to spew that disgusting hatred into the world just saddens me so much. Is it because of his church that he feels the need to preach against the evils of homosexuality? I don’t know.

But hey! This is supposed to be a book review, huh? I vowed I was done with OSC after he posted his rants and THEN started writing books like Empire that didn’t do much for me and sounded like he was chummy with Glenn Beck *shivers*…but then I heard that he had new FANTASY coming out!!! So I had to get my hands on Pathfinder…I couldn’t help myself. I also have his other new book, The Lost Gate, which I haven’t read yet. Pathfinder was just amazing and it reminded why I do love OSC so much as an author. There they were, those same amazing characters. Characters from every class, characters that are fully formed, characters that are just so BEAUTIFUL!! And such a wonderful story.

It centers around Rigg, a young boy born with a gift to see the paths of others…the paths where people, animals, things have traveled. As far back as time has gone. Rigg was raised by a man that helped him hone his powers but is killed towards the beginning of the book. He leaves Rigg 19 jewels and instructions to find his sister in Aressa Sessamo, a town far away. But before he can leave his own town, he’s joined by another young boy named Umbo who also has his own special ability..the ability to slow down time. Together they leave on their quest to Aressa which wouldn’t be complete without many secrets unfolded and many dangers along the way 😉 Like learning the fact that Rigg is actually the son of the royal family of Aressa Sessamo.

Running along side Rigg’s own story is another story that takes place as short pieces at the beginning of each chapter. It’s the story of Ram Odin, a man traveling in space from Earth to set up a new colony. This story itself was amazing on it’s own and it’s only a matter of time before we’re able to make the connections between the two stories.

It felt good to be back in the hands of “the old” Orson Scott Card. The novels of his that I used to love and treasure so much. I hope he stays in this place. And I still continue to hope that one day he’ll come out with another essay on homosexuality. A statement supporting the rights of ALL humans. Because we ARE all one human race. That’s the one thing that unites us all, Mr. Card. You of all people should know that with these wonderful worlds you create. We share the same blood, the same chemistry, the same Earth. Why divide it? Being gay is not a choice. It’s not a sin. It’s not an evil. It’s beautiful when any two people can unite in love. If you think that your god would punish something that beautiful, then he’s no god worthy of worship in my eyes. And I’m sorry…I know that offends a lot of people, but it’s the truth. Going to hell for love…there’s a fantasy novel if I ever read one on so many levels…

28 Responses

  1. Well said, Chris. You actually brought tears to my eyes.

  2. well said ! That’s my boy! i do believe that people who’s voice is heard by so many should not voice opinions on their beliefs. No one says they have to love a gay person or a person of color if they don’t want to.. but live and let live. OSC is not going home with them, not living with them, not learning who or what they are really about.. and he and others of “fame” should know better.

    glad the book is good since I have Pathfinder in the PILE lol

  3. Hey babe! I”m glad to hear that this book is wonderful. I only read the Ender’s series, but man did I fall in love with all of them. (Did you read Ender’s Shadow, about Bean? Too cute). I once met OSC. This was years and years ago. He had a pretty good sense of humor. When he signed my book, I jokingly asked if he’d write: Thanks for last night. He chuckled and said that he didn’t think his wife would appreciate that.

    I never realized that he wrote gay characters. That truly boggles me. I mean, if you adamantly abhor them you would naturally make villainous gay characters, not lovable ones. I think his views (obviously) are ridiculous, but I forgive his ignorance. Because ultimately I truly believe that’s all there is. Sexuality, rarely in my opinion, falls in a black & white spectrum. Everyone is a little gray. Just some, more grayer (LOL< gayer?) than others. 😛 Bottom line, people need to listen to more Beatles. It's all about love, man. 😀

    Cheers!

  4. Beautiful post. I still have not read anything by this guy and I am conflicted. I love what you say here and applaud you.

  5. Allow me to throw out another possible interpretation of Orson Scott Card and his beliefs. You may or may not agree with me and feel free to crucify me, but I think this is important to point out.

    Christians that openly preach against homosexuality are often as vilified as those (like Fred Phelps) vilify homosexuals. It has been a long time since I’ve read any of Card’s rants, so I won’t presume that what I say is true regarding him, but please consider this:

    Many Christians believe that the act of homosexuality is wrong. Just like they believe the act of premarital sex is wrong, as is adultery, etc. But many, many of those same Christians love everyone, including homosexuals, in the way that Christ preached love: love your neighbor as yourself.

    If a person truly believes that homosexuality is a sin, is wrong, it IS possible to speak out against it and not want to give marital rights to homosexual couples and can still embrace a homosexual as a person, respect everything else about them, etc.

    I know this idea will raise a lot of hackles, but I have always seen it as the pot calling the kettle black when every Christian group and every individual who has issues with homosexuality is lumped together and labeled “intolerant”, “homophobic”, “hate-filled”. That is a very narrow-minded way of looking at things.

    So many religions are labeled as being “intolerant” of this or that when many of the followers of those religions can hold their beliefs close to their hearts and still have fantastic relationships with people they don’t see eye to eye with regarding religion, sexuality, etc.

    It could just be that while Orson Scott Card truly believes that homosexuality is a sin, and believes that sin will damn a person to a literal hell, that he actually is able to separate that “practice” (not my word) from the “person” and that is what is showing up in his handling of gay characters with respect and compassion.

    For the homosexual community and the religious community to ever truly come together, BOTH SIDES are going to have to let go of these one-size-fits-all terms and beliefs about one another and actually sit down and have some heart to heart conversations.

    From my own personal experience, people like Fred Phelps are rare and are at a far end of the spectrum. They just get more limelight because of their radical nature and because they truly are spewing hatred. Most people who have beliefs about a certain culture, whatever that may be, are not only capable but actually do practice a loving, respectful relationship in 1:1 interactions with people who have beliefs or practices that are diametrically different to their own.

    We’ve got to make some effort to get past letting the media manipulate our perceptions of one another and actually look at the reality of the way individuals in our direct experience relate to one another. And sure, there are going to be plenty of bad examples to look at, but there are many, many, MANY good examples to. I have spent the majority of my life surrounded by religious people and I can count on one hand the number of people who truly rant and rave against homosexuality, etc. I know far many more who are either unsure of what they believe or feel about it or are, like Card, set in their belief about the practice of homosexuality and yet interact with care and compassion towards everyone in their lives because they see beyond the labels and the belief systems and know that in the end we are all just people and if we are not compassionate towards one another, what else have we got?

    So there’s my two cents. In my typical fashion I spent way too much time babbling when the point of my statement was that I think Orson Scott Card can write strong, compassionate gay characters because he has the ability to respect and care for all people, gay or otherwise, and still believe that homosexuality is wrong. I’m not saying he does act this way, because I don’t know the guy, but I would like to see the homosexual community begin to show some of that “tolerance” towards people like OSC that they expect to be shown back. Again, that whole “love your neighbor as yourself” idea.

  6. Cath, Thanks!

    Deslily, That’s my thoughts too..if they have those feelings, I can’t change them and that’s fine, but it’s spreading them around that bothers me I guess. We know it’s there…I don’t understand him publicly writing essays on it. And yes, Pathfinder is definitely a good book!!! I think you’ll REALLY enjoy this one!!

    Christina, I LOVE the whole Shadow series…I’ve read pretty much everything the man has written…I love his writing. Like Carl said, I don’t think he abhors gay people, I think he respects them as people…but I think he’s against them fundamentally as sexual beings which is sad to me because as humans we ARE sexual beings. It just bothers me that he has to write about it.

    Care, Thanks…his books are most certainly worth reading! You should check them out sometime!

    Carl, First of all, I hope that you know that you’ll NEVER be crucified on my blog!!! Especially by me. This is a place where I always welcome and cherish open discussion. Especially from people like you that I respect so much. You know, I completely agree with most of what you said. I DO think that Orson Scott Card respects gay people as people. That IS obvious in his work. And I have no problem with his beliefs that sex between same sexes is wrong…if that is his religious belief, I can’t change that and I don’t aim to. There are many people out there who feel that way. Though I completely disagree with that statement and hope to no end that one day it changes, it’s there. What bothers me so damn much is that he felt the need to write multiple times on the issue PUBLICLY. We all know where religion stands on gay people. I can’t see the point of writing publicly about it when you have such a well known voice unless it is to further cement the view that it is bad bad bad. It’s like “lets make sure that as many people as possible know that this is WRONG and hope that we can convert some more people to that way of thinking” when (and I realize this is my opinion) I feel that we need to move in the other direction. As humans we are all sexual beings. That is part of being human. And to take away that part of a person just because they were born gay is just horrible to me. To take away the right to commit yourself to someone in marriage with someone is horrible to me, though that’s a whole different fight. I doubt that now that OSC’s wife is now past her child rearing years that they are now not having sex. Though that is speculation. But is that a sin? That they are having sex without the intention of procreating? I agree completely that some middle ground has to be met between the church and the gay community because it is constant back and forth…but I think the gay community needs to be told more than “yes you’re allowed to be gay, but you can’t REALLY be gay..you’re not REALLY allowed to express your love.” It makes the gay community seem like a lesser being. I do thank you for the discussion, Carl. I like talking about these things and I think it’s important that we do. And as for the book itself, you totally need to read this one!!!! It’s incredible!!

  7. As much as I dislike OSC’s ideology, the extent to which he keeps it separate from his writing does impress me. I’m glad you enjoyed this book so much, Chris. I agree with you and Carl that he probably does respect gay people on an individual basis. But my own humble two cents are: when you donate massive amounts of money to pro-Prop 8 organisations, like OSC has done, it becomes about much more than just one person’s religious faith.

  8. I soooo loved Ender’s Game (and liked Speaker for the Dead) but haven’t been able to talk myself into reading more OSC since I heard he’s so opinionated. That just bugs me. I agree with you completely and am completely baffled by people who single out others for being different from them, in some way. Big deal if your skin is a little darker or lighter or your beliefs different, as long as you’re not hurting anyone. We should love each other, regardless. Some people make themselves really hard to love, though, don’t they? This book sounds so fun, darn it. I might have to give in and try it.

  9. I’m with you in being not sure why OSC has to use a public forum to share his beliefs. It is possible (just speculation) that his church promotes that kind of thing and that he needs to use his popularity, “fame”, to preach his beliefs. I’m not sure as I’m not Mormon and know very little about their beliefs. Quite honestly though I feel this same way about “celebrities” of any kind. I couldn’t care one iota what any actor, actress, author, artist, etc. feels about political or religious or social issues unless their sole purpose is to use their clout for positive reasons, like raising money for relief or something. To take that one step further, the heart of Christianity is the idea that Jesus paid the price for sin for all of us and that we need merely accept that free gift and we will be “saved”, to use the venacular. The heart of Christianity IS NOT that this is wrong, or that is wrong, or God’s out to get you or any of that kind of nonsense. There are all kinds of things addressed in the Bible that are or can be of importance in one way or the other, but at its heart it is about that one single idea: Jesus. So my opinion is always that people like OSC and others are much better served demonstrating the love of Christ in their actions and preaching that love in their words than they are using their forum to bash on about the social issues of the day.

    It is probably no surprise that I am a Christian, although I would hope that, based on my previous comments, that no one presumes to know what I “believe” about homosexuality…because to be frank, I’m not sure what I myself believe. Largely because that has never been an important issue to me. What has always been of prominent importance is doing my best to demonstrate my belief in a real God by doing the very hardest but most important thing he asked us to do: love one another. What I do feel strongly about is that Christian people who speak out against homosexuality not be treated with the same alleged “intolerance” that they are accused of. Individual people, like Fred Phelps, should indeed be shunned, vilified, and (in an ideal world) struck by lightning! 🙂 But the average person who has a belief that they feel strongly about and yet still treats others with respect should have the right to have those beliefs without being lumped into one big generalization or stereotype.

    As for whether or not one should read Card, I believe, like you, I came to reading his stuff before I ever read any of his stuff about homosexuality. (And in fact it was you who got me hooked on Card!). As I already like his stuff I cannot imagine choosing to not read him now just because I don’t agree with what he is saying or the way he is saying it. However, I don’t judge anyone who cannot let that slide. I feel that way about certain people too. On a much more petty note, Pullman and Mieville are two authors who have pissed me off royally with their views on Tolkien and Lewis. And I could see myself not wanting to read them because of that. But even then I find myself relenting with Mieville and Pullman had this great speech about libraries the other day that made me pretty much forgive him! Ha!

    It is unfortunate that, with all the other things we could all be pooling our resources to solve that so much emphasis and so much energy is placed on trying to keep homosexual couples from marrying. I’d love to see people have that kind of passion when it comes to feeding the hungry kids that exist all over this “great” nation of ours, or working to solve the economic crisis, etc.

    But what do I know? The best I can do is try to let those who I care about, including you and the folks who frequent your site, know how much you mean to me and try to be there for you in whatever way I can. I often fail in that, so that is where my own personal passion and energy needs to be focused.

    And quit pushing Card books on me! I just bought Xenocide and Children of the Mind last month and I need to get to them first!!!

  10. And can anyone explain to me why when I put spaces between statements that it isn’t working? Its bad enough that I go on and on, but then it all gets jumbled up into this big massive paragraph. LOL!

  11. Ana, I’m totally with you…I think it does go beyond his religion, and that bothers me a lot. It also just boggles me that the man does write such great gay characters and does these things. I just don’t understand him I guess.

    Nancy, LOL..some people do make themselves tough to love :p I wouldn’t let his views put you off of reading all of his books though. There are plenty of amazing books he has written. Some really good ones that I know you would enjoy!! This one included 😉

    Carl, The no spaces between your paragraphs are my stupid website’s fault :/ When I upgraded to the latest version of wordpress the coding went out the door that automatically put the break code between paragraphs in comments and I don’t know how to fix that. :/ I suck completely at html and coding. As far as this issue, I guess where I differ from you is that if Christians speak out against homosexuality, then others have the right to defend their beliefs as well. I don’t know that that’s ever a debate that will come to a middle ground. But if Christians are saying it is wrong to practice in homosexuality, of course homosexuals and their advocates are going to be upset and defend that there is nothing wrong with them. I do agree that it doesn’t have to be ugly…it can be civil. My point is, why do Christians HAVE to speak out against homosexuality? Protest it so much? I know biology and religion don’t mix well, but it’s been shown now that one’s sexuality is for the most part NOT a choice. That means that we are born with our attractions. Who is one to say another is wrong? And to deny that person everything another has? We all know where Christianity stands on homosexuality…where Mormonism stands…So I do think it’s hurtful to the lgbt community when people speak out against them. And I think it’s natural that they try to educate people on who THEY are. That we’re all humans. Like I said, this is likely a discussion that isn’t going to have a nice answer wrapped with a bow.

    As for reading Card…I did let it stop me from reading Card for awhile when he first released his statements, but I let that go after awhile and separated his thoughts from his work. Like you said with Mieville and Pullman, it’s easy to initially let a person’s thoughts influence your thoughts on their WORK, but for me that passed pretty quickly. His writing really is just too amazing for me to never read. And I do think he has a lot of important things to say in his novels too.

  12. I love it when people get all passionate in the middle of reviews…it’s much more interesting than a plain ol’ book review. Especially when you do it, because you’re so eloquent. I’d just be all, he sucks.

  13. I probably shouldn’t shun his writing, because you and other people I trust enjoy his books, but I can’t help myself. I don’t think I’ll ever read his books,or at least I won’t voluntarily look for them. I’m too bothered by his statements, and wouldn’t be able to forget about them while reading his books…
    For the last year or so I’ve been sharing a house with a fervent Catholic who also happens to be a gay man, and I’ve learned a lot (even more than I’ve ever wanted) about Christian religions. I’ve met all sorts through him and most of them are accepting (not just tolerant) of homosexuality. There’s a minister at the moment in Trinity College who constantly speaks about the need for LGBTQ equality. Their slogan is “Our faith is 2000 years old, our thinking isn’t”. There are hundreds of different protestant churches, and some of them profess the inclusion of lgbtq people ( the first one that comes to mind is the Waldensian church, but there are many others). So I suppose it’s a matter of choice. Do you choose to refuse homosexuality because a section in the Leviticus says so, or do you choose to update your Christian feelings to the modern, more progressive world?
    I guess OSC has chosen the first option.

  14. So, you guys all know me by now which means this shouldn’t come as a surprise. At least I hope not.

    Orson Scott Card has the right and the freedom to express himself in whichever manner he chooses about whatever he chooses.

    We have the right to agree or disagree with what he says.

    That’s what Freedom of Expression is about.

    It isn’t about speech we agree with. It’s about all speech, agree, disagree whatever.

    If we do not allow people we disagree with to express their opinions, what good is the right at all? Disagree with what’s being said, not with their right to say it.

    One final thing – this is why I stay away from learning things about my favorite authors. I’ve read idiotic, outrageous things actors have said and it’s left me unable to see another movie by them. I don’t want that to happen with my favorite authors and until they interject it into their writing, I’m blissful in my ignorance. If they cross that line, however, and include it in their books, I’ll go the same way with them as I do with actors – I’ll stop reading them.

    cjh

  15. I wish I knew how to quit OSC. I idolized him when I was in middle school, and finding out his views on homosexuality (and a lot of other issues, frankly) was really crushing for me. I haven’t read any of his new books for years, but damn, some of his old ones totally hold up.

  16. @ Of course he’s free to express his views, I don’t think that was ever in question. But readers are also free to choose not to read him because of his ideas, or to publicly disagree with him. When you make your views so public you can’t expect people not to react to them, in one way or the other. Loosing readers is probably the first consequence.
    I’ve had a similar experience with an another author whose books I loved and who I had to abandon because I couldn’t possibly stand her islamophobia and her being pro-war. I wouldn’t have never guessed it from her books, and I wish I had never read her website. But that’s what happens when you want to know too much about your favourite authors. So yeah, I agree with you that sometimes it’s safer to stick to the books and nothing else.

  17. I did add this one to my wish list. 😉

  18. hm, this was intriguing. I think I had heard about some scandals surrounding OSC, but I largely ignored it because I am like that without even meaning to be. This discussion was rather interesting! OSC is not an author that I really read, but I did plan to give this one a try. I suppose I have always just read a book for a book and not really paid a lot of attention to the authors as people. I know I discovered this last year when I did the GLBT challenge. I knew when the book was about those issues, but I couldn’t tell you half the authors that proclaim themselves to fit into the, uh, group? That’s a bad sentence… Anyway, this book actually came in for me at the library the other day, but with all my ILLs I suspended it until after all those other books are due back.

  19. Actually, Valentina, some of the comments I’ve seen expressed, here and other places, do little to foster dialogue and discussion, which is what is desperately needed especially in this situation. We need to understand why people feel the way they do and accept that it is their right to feel that way. We need to learn to respectfully disagree but too often people resort to name calling – homophobic, islamophobic, pro-war, racist, bigot, blah, blah, blah which does nothing but shut discussion down.

    I don’t want anyone to think or feel anyway beyond what their conscience dictates. As a female in a job that is still tradtionally male, I’ve had to put up with a lot of crap from some of the men I’ve worked with. I didn’t try to shut them up; I did my job the best that I could and let that change their opinions and it did.

    If I believe that the traditional definition of marriage is the correct one, I am apt to be labeled homophobic which is asinine. Phobics, by definition are afraid of something. I’m not afraid of gays. I’m not afraid of Muslims, yet any criticism I may bring up ends up with my being tarred with those labels. Criticize Obama and you still get labeled racist. Believe that there are things worth fighting for, that need to be fought for and you’re labeled pro-war, which is the most ridiculous label of them all. No one is ‘pro-war’. I often wonder how the ‘pro-choice’ crowd would like it if the media suddenly started referring to them as being ‘pro-abortion’.

    Free speech is a tricky thing. You are as entitled to your beliefs as Card is. And you’re right about your recourse – stop reading his books. Perhaps if he starts seeing a downturn he will be silenced which will do nothing to foster understanding on any level. Silence never does.

    cjh

  20. Ooh, awesome discussion about something close to my heart. I agree that bashing Christians based on their beliefs is similar to bashing gay people for their orientation — except that being gay doesn’t impinge on anyone else’s rights, and so often conservative religious groups DO want to constrict and dictate what other people could do. Live and let live, people.

    That said, I haven’t read this author and am now totally curious. I try not to let my opinion of an author color how I view their work — this is why I try pretty hard not to pay much attention to authors personal lives. Is that weird? I have no information whatsoever about most of my favorite authors. Hmm.

  21. Too scared to touch that homosexual theme; I’ll stay away from that bad boy, and just say I’ve heard you and Carl and other bloggers I greatly admire espouse the merits of Orson Scott Card and I still haven’t read him! Agh! I need to do that because I even bought Ender’s Game thanks to you.

  22. I’m a Christian but a gay affirming one (sounds cheesy but it’s the shortest way to express what I mean) I wasn’t always and I wasn’t raised that way, but when I learned there were Christians who were, I wanted to know how they reconciled these two seemingly different beliefs so I spent some time (years) researching and reading up on it. Ultimately, for me, I realized they (the beliefs) weren’t at odds–but I had to also change how I saw some other things. It was a sort of faith in transition on many fronts. Which is why I think it will take time for others to come around, because it really means grappling with some of the mostly deeply cherished beliefs they have. (regarding the inerrancy of Scripture, interpretation, etc.) I know it’s not fair, and I have to constantly remind myself to be patient..it takes time. 😦 One of the hardest things for me has been trying to find a church where my beliefs are respected. I can’t bear it when others feel the need to convert me back to a previous way of thinking, on something I feel is open to interpretation.

    Now OSC’s church is different from mine, so I have no idea where the basis for Mormon opposition to gay marriage comes from.

  23. I haven’t read this book yet and, to be honest, I don’t even really like OSC anyway, but maybe I can shed some light on the issue of Mormonism and homosexuality. The LDS Church believes that homosexuality is wrong. It doesn’t FEAR homosexuals and it doesn’t HATE homosexuals. It just believes that the practice is wrong. Like Carl pointed out, the Church preaches against lots of other things: adultery, premarital sex, pornography, alcohol/tobacco/drug use, prostitution, gambling, child abuse, using profanity, etc. It values traditional marriage and family above all else and is therefore willing to use its money and power to fight the legalization of gay marriage. The Church is free to express its opinions in this manner, as are we all. Does this mean the LDS Church HATES homosexuals? Not at all. Is the Church encouraging its people to persecute gays, to run them out of town if you will? Absolutely not. Trust me, few groups understand persecution like the LDS Church. Our forebears WERE run out of town. Literally. And that was when their persecutors were feeling generous.

    OSC is, of course, free to believe whatever he wishes. And I don’t see why he shouldn’t use his influence to express his values – plenty of celebrities do that. I’m not surprised at all that his books reflect his religious beliefs. Why shouldn’t they? Stephenie Meyer (being Mormon) doesn’t believe in premarital sex, so her characters don’t do it. Brandon Mull (also LDS) doesn’t cuss, so neither do his story people. My opinion on this is like my opinion on everything else – if books like that offend you, don’t read them.

    I can think of plenty of artists (authors, actors, musicians, etc.) whose lifestyle choices I don’t agree with, whose work I still enjoy. Funny enough, I share a lot of OSC’s personal beliefs/values and I still don’t like his work all that much.

    Thanks for the review, Chris, and for the fascinating discussion. Your posts always make me think. String me up with Carl if you wish, but I’m glad I got this chance to express my opinion. Thanks for that 🙂

  24. So, a huge debate AND a fabulous book review! I have to get this book, like NOW. I haven’t read Card in ages, mostly because I go through phases with authors and read everything he wrote when he first began writing. I have to catch up in the 7th son series, and now this one, and his stand-alones……

    As for the debate, one of my best friends was gay. I think that gay marriage should be legalized, and that if you live in a partnership with someone, it should be recognized. I don’t let any religion tell me what to think, because I think most religions are only a guidepost for how to live, and how we treat each other is more important. I have to admit that knowing Card espouses anti-gay sentiment, even if it is because of his religion, is disturbing, though as you say it doesn’t affect his writing. I wonder if this is why he comes out with his statements, because he has this gift of writing people, and feels because of his religion that he must answer for what he the person believes? An interesting way to see that what a person writes is not necessarily what they believe, although I tend to believe that if you do have deep feelings about something, it does come out in your writing.

    Very interesting post, Chris!

  25. Wow, some of you are assholes.

  26. Enders Game is amazing. Its the book that got me started on OSC. Pathfinder, since thats the book that this was initially started over, is equally amazing. I look forward to reading “The Lost Gate” here shortly.

    I’m not going to touch the “gay” topic or the “religous” topic either. All I have to say is..

    For everyone who doesn’t read a book because you don’t agree with the author’s views need to STOP!!!. haha I’m joking but serious at the same time. Just don’t read those papers where he wrote it. His books are completly different than his essays/papers. I hate the thought of Skin Cancer but it doesn’t keep me out of the sun. I just put sunscreen to block the harmful amounts of UV rays. Now I can enjoy the beach without the idea of Skin cancer.

    Point being, you can still enjoy his books just don’t read his papers if they are going to bug you. Its his opinion that he wrote in opinionated essays. He isn’t trying to force you to beleive that same as him.

    I’m not trying to start anything in this room but I truly beleive that its silly and a little childish to not read a book because the authors beleifs don’t add up with yours. Where would the world be if everyone was like that? My only intention was to express how much I feel that you will truly be robbing yourself of an excellent adventure by avoiding his books.

    PS: I haven’t seen 1 Asshole posted here except the one who posted that comment.

  27. James, if you seriously cannot respect the fact that some of us have a HUGE PROBLEM with financially and intellectually supporting an author so he can spend his time smearing people with his religion, yeah, I kind of think you’re an asshole.

    DON’T READ IT, you say, well, it’s too fucking bad I did read it, didn’t I, that I as a queer kid read Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead and went “this guy gets it” only to learn that NO, he most certainly did not get it, and in fact, was actively hostile to people like me. That sure was a fun day when I accidentally stumbled across it, you know? That’s how it happened for me, by accident, whoops, can’t take it back. I can’t erase that from my memory. JUST STOP doesn’t work when it’s who I am. Why would I want to support someone like that? NO, I cannot enjoy his books when I KNOW WHAT HE THINKS OF ME AS A PERSON, and I cannot separate that out just to read a book, tra la la. I’m so glad you’re here to explain to me why I am being so silly, such a CHILD — who here is lecturing people over their personal choices? I sure don’t wander all up in reviews of people who LOVE Card to go “hey, you do know he’s kind of a fuckmuppet, right?” and then proceed to explain to them how they’re propping up a bigot.

    If you think I should pretend that Card’s bile didn’t break my heart as a kid who reread his books over and over and over, if you think I should support an artist because I am being ROBBED OF AN EXPERIENCE, you know what, I do think you’re an asshole, and on top of it, an ignorant one, and that you’re absolutely polluting Chris’s space with your nonsense. Bravo, I’m super impressed with your completely ineffectual arguments.

  28. […] Other Reviews to Consider: King of the Nerds | Good Books and Good Wine | Dreams Stuff Books […]

Leave a Reply

