Let's Go With A Bad Bloggers Post!

So I feel like blogging but don’t know what to blog about…so I guess now would be as good a time as any to post about some new books that have made it into my home, right? Why not….Here we go:

1. Half in Love by Linda Gray Sexton – I was approached by TLC Tours to review this one and just about freaked out when they offered me this one for review. I hadn’t even heard of this book and I’m a long time fan of Anne Sexton. She was the first poet I fell in love with. Well that’s not true. The first poet I fell in love with was Emily Dickinson and then came along Anne Sexton and I formed a bit of an obsession with her during my high school years. This book is written by her daughter and is a memoir of surviving her mother’s suicide and her own battle with depression and suicide. I haven’t started it yet but I’m very much looking forward to reading this one and reviewing it in February. (For Review)

2. East of the Sun and West of the Moon illustrated by Mercer Mayer – I’ve read countless retellings of this classic fairy tale but have never read the original…shame on me. But I know it’s one of Ana’s favorites. And because of that I’ve been wanting to read it for awhile. Well when I saw that Mercer Mayer illustrated an edition I had to have it…I’ve always adored Mayer’s illustrations since the Little Critter books when I was a kid. Point to Ana for this one. (Paperback Swap)

3. Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn – You know I honestly still don’t know much about this book aside from that it’s very clever. I’ve purposely avoided learning much about it and usually skip reviews. Though I know people rave about it! Heather assigned it to me for our mutual challenge so I finally have the motivation I need to read it now!! Point to Heather. (Paperback Swap)

4. Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones – Will this FINALLY be the year that I read some DWJ? Let’s hope so because Ana has assigned it to me for our mutual challenge. I’ve been wanting to read this one for years anyway. Point to Ana. (Paperback Swap)

5. Delusions of Gender by Cordelia Fine – Well after Ana reviewed this one I had no choice but to go out and buy it immediately. Really….like IMMEDIATELY! It sounded like everything I’ve always wanted in a book about gender!! So of course I did go out and buy it. So far I’m only about 30 pages into it so I can’t properly give you my thoughts on it yet, but I’m enjoying it! Point to Ana! (Bought it)

6. Tales From Moominvalley by Tove Jansson – I haz Moomins!!! That’s exactly what I said when I opened this package when it came in the mail :p I was ecstatic over finally getting this book :p This is yet another point for Ana. LOL…one of these days someone else will win bad bloggers, but it looks like she’s taking the lead again! (Paperback Swap)

7. I was a Teenage Fairy by Francesca Lia Block – So I read the Weetzie Bat books and then needed to own everything that FLB has ever written. I loved them that much. And this is one of her many wonderful sounding books. (Paperback Swap)

8. Bird by Rita Murphy – I have been wanting this book for SO long but can never find it anywhere. I finally got a copy on Paperback Swap. Isn’t that one of the most amazing covers ever? I need to see who the artist is. I love his/her painting. So I don’t know who to give the point to :/ Becky’s review put this on my wishlist….Pat’s (Deslily) review made me say “yeah, I need this now…point to both of them!!! (Paperback Swap)

9. Bones of the Moon by Jonathan Carroll – I posted on Tumblr the other day looking for books about ghosts that are not scary. And my dear Nicky recommended this book to me!!! I know she’s a big Carroll fan 🙂 Can’t wait to read this one!! Point to Nicky! (Paperback Swap)

10. Kat, Incorrigible by Stephanie Burgis – Well this was a nice surprise…as far as I can tell it’s an unsolicited review copy but that’s fine because it looks delightful!! It’s a middle grade novel about regency England with MAGIC! And I love that cover 🙂 Publishers can send me unsolicited books all they want if they fit my taste like this :p (review copy)

11. The Story of My Boyhood and Youth by John Muir – Um…I know there was a REASON why I wanted this book but I can’t remember for the life of me now what that reason was :/ Does someone want to remind me if you know? LOL….Has anyone else heard of this book from anywhere that I may have heard about it from too? Def sounds like something I’ll enjoy too though. (Paperback swap)

And in addition to these I have three new ebooks on my Nook, Shadow from NetGalley!! You can look forward to reviews of a gay erotica, a regency vampire novel, and a good old fashioned serial killer novel! Woohoo!!

21 Responses

  1. Oh Chris, some of those look like excellent books! I’m afraid to do a post about what’s come into my house, I’ve been buying books almost every week!! lol From the pile you have I really want to read: East of teh Sun, West of the Moon – ever since Pat told me about it I’ve wanted this book!!! I’m so desperate to read it! Please please do a post about when you do, and take some pictures so that people like me can get a taste of how marvelous this one is 🙂 And having just discovered Anne Sexton, well, you know I’m curious about what her daughter’s view is. And I don’t know if I’ve read Bones of the Moon by Jonathan Carroll, and I really like his work. See what a bad blogger you are too, my friend!! I hope you enjoy all your new lovely books 🙂

  2. PS I read Fire and Hemlock a few years ago and it was very good. I think you’ll really enjoy that one.

  3. I’ll be shocked if you don’t love I WAS A TEENAGE FAIRY. It’s an amazing book.

  4. I have to say the cover to Bird was what drew me to that little book, but it was very enjoyable and quick read… thank you for my point! lol and East of the Sun is such a lovely book.. the illos are fantastic.

  5. I just got Ella Minnow Pea from PBS also. It seems unique.

    And let me know how you like NetGalley. I haven’t requested anything from them yet, but hope to soon. (Go gay erotica!!!)

  6. I hope you love Ella! It was one of my favorites books from 2009.

  7. LOL–as soon as I saw the pictures, I *knew* Ana was raking in a pile of points! I agree with you–the cover of Bird is one of my favorite covers ever! You have so many goodies there!!! I saw on librarything that both you and Heather had just added Kat, Incorrigible and I was very, very intrigued–I’d never heard of it before. You two should read it together–a Chris-Heather review would be so freakin’ awesome!!!!

  8. Boy, do these look good. Not sure what is worse – an overflowing and creaking bookshelf, or a Nook Color at almost its maximum storage already… 🙂

  9. I squeaked in delight when I saw Fire and Hemlock on this list. It’s so good! I am confident you will love it! I am its biggest fan (except maybe Ana). :p

  10. I think Jenny and I are tied for F&H fangirlnes 😛 As I told her before, I totally started reading her blog because of a comment where she mentioned she loved it. Also, if I did points, you’d so be getting one for a book you gave ME a point for. Because yes, I NEED that edition of East of the Sun, West of the Moon! Enjoy your loot 😀

  11. I love Mercer Mayer’s illustrations, too. My kid has a whole collection of Little Critter books! And my eye was really drawn to the cover of Bird (which I never heard of- you’ll have to tell us if it’s good!). I think you’ll really like Fire and Hemlock- for some reason I thought you’d already read it…

  12. I reviewed Ella Minnow Pea this week. Mark Dunn is a genius. Tove Jansson is fantastic. Loved The Moomins growing up.

  13. Bones of the Moon is great. There are some similarities between it and one of the storylines in Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series. In fact, I read some criticism that Neil stole ideas from Carroll, which each of them of course deny and think is silly, from what I remember from way back when I read it. Very good choice.

  14. I don’t know, Jenny & Ana, I consider myself a pretty big F&H fan. You may have to accept a three-way tie in that. 🙂 Speaking of, I think I was supposed to reread that last year. I should do this year.

    Anyway, enjoy your books Chris! I really must read Ella at some point. I have wanted to read it for years!

  15. I liked Ella Minnow Pea. It’s kind of a crazy book and even a little sinister. I laughed my socks off. As to the John Muir . . . . no idea. I haven’t heard of that one, but I’ve got his Travels in Alaska. Need to get back to that. He is a fascinating writer, so I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

  16. Great set of books you’ve got there Chris, can’t wait to see what you think of Ella.

  17. Pretty nice list. I’ll try to look for some of them. Hope my local bookstore has them.

  18. I just finished Kat, Incorrigible this weekend! I *think* I solicited it WAY back, though, as it is exactly what my reading tastes lean towards. It was so fun! I hope you enjoy it.

  19. Bird is a good read! I hope you enjoy it. Kat, Incorrigible looks great. Happy reading! 😉

  20. Wooo I has a point! Really hope you love Bones of the Moon as much as I did. And the Moomins. Oh, how I love the Moomins! If you like her writing, I’d really recommend The Summer Book too. Big big heart. Beginning to think that I NEED a copy of Ella Minnow Pea…

  21. What a fabulous collection of books! I am reading my first DWJ right now (the Chrestomanti series) and loving it. I need to get me some more Moomin. I lived in Finland for a year and everyone there is crazy about Moomin.

Leave a Reply

