The Sunday Salon: A Decent Start

Happy Sunday everyone 🙂 It’s a lazy Sunday for me over here. I’m on day number five of the current migraine streak, but today’s headache seems to be much less than the previous four days…so hopefully this is the LAST day. Things had been going well too…I hadn’t really had a bad headache since Christmas. Maybe this will be the last one for a little while. That would indeed be nice. The good news about having a headache (if there is any) is that it confined me to my bed for most of yesterday…which meant I got a fair amount of reading done.

I finished Francesca Lia Block’s Dangerous Angels and OMG did I ever love it!! My review is right under this post. What an amazing author. I’ve ordered two more of her books already after reading that one and added several more to my Paperback Swap wishlist. I also read Hope Larson’s Gray Horses yesterday and I’m not really sure what the hell I think of it to be honest with you, lol. It was short….and I liked it…but I’m just sort of confused as to what I’m supposed to get out of it. I mean I get the basic jest of the story….holding on and letting go and finding yourself in a new place…but I guess I just wanted more. Anyway. That put me at 5 books already for this year! Which is really good for me after the year I had last year.

Right now I’m in the middle of quite a few books. I’m finishing up Mary Oliver’s collection Owls and Other Fantasies. Don’t love it as much as the last collection of hers that I read, but it’s still quite beautiful. Still working on Orson Scott Card’s The Lost Gate which is really good and I went out and bought Delusions of Gender by Cordelia Fine last night 😀 😀 😀 Of course I jumped into that right away!!! I had to buy it after Ana’s review. Let me tell you, this book is AWESOME! So far it’s everything I’d want it to be. And her writing is just what I hoped it would be. Can’t wait to talk about this one some more!!!

My plans for today are just to read some more..and try to beat this headache a little bit more. And prepare for another week of HELL. I swear, my job has just been awful lately, but there’s not much to be done about that, so I’m not going to complain about it at all. I’ve learned that it doesn’t do any good! I’m lucky to have a job. Instead I’ll focus on the good things in my life. Because there are really fantastic things going on in my life right now too 🙂

14 Responses

  1. I am so happy for you Chris. You are such a genuinely cool fella (oh yeah, watch that…I did just say fella!). For as happy as you are, I know you must be making someone else happier. You’re the bombdiggity. 🙂

  2. I love seeing you happy but don’t love this very long migraine..I don’t know how you can read with a migraine!!! ugh! btw: Matt does know that if I wind up with an unhappy son I’d have to hunt him down, right?!

  3. Christina, Thank you my dear 🙂 You’re so very sweet!!!

    Deslily, Well thank you Mama 🙂 LOL…Fear not, I see nothing but happiness in my future with Matt 🙂 I’m hoping today is my last day with this Migraine! Normally I can read for a little while with a migraine…friday I couldn’t but today hasn’t been too bad.

  4. Gray Horses was definitely a very strange book but for some reason I really liked it!

  5. I really want to read the Cordelia Fine book, too. I might have to buy it because I can’t get it at the library. I have bought way too many books lately, though, so I am going to have to wait!

    I am glad you have good things going on to overcome the bad with. I hope you migraine passes soon! Email me soon. While we are both doing well with reading we can set up a buddy read!

  6. Oh, poor Chris. I’m sorry about your migraine. I can’t read with a migraine — don’t know how you do it!! I’ve been down for the count with a stomach virus. Getting better, today, but I still haven’t read a word all weekend. Boo. Hiss. I hope this is the last day of your migraine.

  7. Oh bummer about the migraine…. hope that goes away very soon for you!

    Dangerous Angels has an amazing title and I am going to peak at your review now. Have a good week!

  8. I’m sorry about your migraine, and that you’re having a hard time at work! I’m a bit jealous you’ve got Lost Gate — officially I’ve sworn off Orson Scott Card’s new books as I feel he’s gotten preachy in his more recent books, but I can’t help wanting to read his new ones anyway.

  9. Ugh. I hate migraines. Yes, focus on the good … (I’m telling myself the same thing as I gear up for a busy few months).

  10. That damn migraine better be gone by now…or I’ll…I don’t know what…but I’ll do something!!! I do so hope you woke up feeling so much better, my sweet friend!!!!

    And hey–Dangerous Angels is really 5 different books, right?–so you’ve sort of read 9 books already this year! 😀 (Wish I could say the same.)

  11. Ugh: I hope your migrain is all gone! And that your job gets better soon! *hugs*

  12. sorry to hear you are poorly again Chris. Hope you get better soon.

  13. Ignoring migraines and work 😉 Good to hear bookish and real life is heading in the right direction. 🙂

  14. Chris, I hope your migraine is gone.

Leave a Reply

