The First Bad Bloggers of 2011

I’ve accumulated quite the stack of books since the last bad bloggers post. I’m hoping that this is NOT a trend in 2011 as I truly will run out of places to put all of these books if this keeps up :/ Never mind the fact that my reading seriously dropped off towards the end of 2010. Hopefully my reading will pick up again this year! I miss my books. Anyway, here’s what’s made it into the house in the last month:

1. Little Black Book of Stories by A.S. Byatt – I haven’t read any Byatt at all yet 😦 Isn’t that awful? But I saw this on Paperback Swap and it just sounded so wonderful! And I just love that cover to pieces. So I requested it. (Paperback Swap)

2. A Tangled Web by L.M. Montgomery – I haven’t read any L.M. Montgomery either! Not even any of the Anne books. But Becky and I traded lists this year and this is one of the books she gave me πŸ™‚ I’m really looking forward to it! Point to Becky. (Paperback Swap)

3. Geography Club by Brent Hartinger – An lgbt book that I’ve had my eye on for awhile now…and my turn came up on Paperback Swap for it! (Paperback Swap)

4. Servant of the Bones by Anne Rice – You know…I keep getting all of these Anne Rice books…one day I’m actually going to start reading them. She used to be my favorite author back in my teenage days. This was one that I once owned and I think I started it but I don’t remember. I remember having the old hardcover…the gold one with the lettering in white. Anyway, I have it again now πŸ™‚ (Paperback Swap)

5. The Moviegoer by Walker Percy – My coworker and supervisor gave me this book thinking that I’d really enjoy it and so far I really am! It’s my “at work” book. I keep it with me in my work bag for when things are slow. It’s set in New Orleans in the mid 20th century and it’s fantastic. (Gift from a friend)

6. Sweet Tooth Vol. 2 by Jeff Lemire Debi got me very interested in this series when I went to visit her in August and I bought the first book while I was there. Still haven’t read it :p But I did preorder the second in the series! It came in the other day. And since I haven’t read it yet and can’t buy them based on my own thoughts, that means Debi will continue to get a point for this purchase πŸ˜‰ (Bought it)

7. Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett – The hardcover edition \o/ I’ve been wanting this for so long!! This is one of my favorite books. I just love it to pieces. I have the mass market of it and it was actually the first thing of Gaiman’s I had ever read…I’ve been wanting this in hardback ever since it came out and my secret santa sent it to me for Christmas πŸ™‚ (Christmas gift)

8. The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson – After reading We Have Always Lived in the Castle, I decided that I wanted to read everything that Shirley Jackson wrote..hence me requesting this one πŸ˜‰ (Paperback Swap)

9. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho – The graphic novel version! My secret santa knew me very well this year!! I’ve been wanting to read this one for awhile now…just looks extremely good! (Christmas gift)

10. A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest Gaines – I’m still not really sure why I requested this one from Paperback Swap…This is just one that I’ve never read before and I’ve always been really curious about it. So hopefully I’ll get to it sometime soon! (Paperback Swap)

11. Never Learn Anything From History by Kate Beaton – OMG I’m so excited about this one πŸ˜€ This is a bunch of comics by Kate Beaton who writes the webcomic Hark, A Vagrant which if you aren’t reading, you really should be!! I got this for Ana for Christmas and couldn’t add it to my LibraryThing for the longest time because I didn’t want her to know about it :p (Bought it)

12. McSweeney’s Enchanted Chamber of Astonishing Stories ed. by Michael Chabon Ana reviewed this one a really long time ago and I’ve had it on my wishlist ever since. And my dearest friend Debi sent it to me for Christmas πŸ™‚ Just looking at the table of contents has me so excited!! (Gift from a friend)

13. Javatrekker by Dean Cycon – SO excited about this one!!! Debi told me about Dean’s Beans awhile ago. That’s where she buys her coffee from and let me tell you, it’s delicious! They sell all fair trade coffee beans and other items. Well this is a book written by Dean himself about his travels finding fair trade coffee πŸ™‚ Point to Debi! (Gift from a friend)

14. Ready Made by Shoshana Berger – This is one of the coolest books I’ve ever soon. Another gift from Debi for Christmas. It tells you how to make pretty much anything from stuff you already have! All about the sustainable living. Like making picture frames from old book covers or a coat hanger from old detergent bottles and all kinds of other stuff. I’m in love with this book! (Gift from a friend)

15. Stuck Rubber Baby by Howard Cruse – I jumped out of my shoes when paperback swap told me I had successfully requested this book πŸ™‚ It’s a book that deals with both lgbt and race issues and it looks like it’ll be absolutely incredible. (paperback swap)

16. Another Night Before Christmas by Carol Ann Duffy – A gift from Ana for Christmas and it is SO freaking adorable!! I haven’t read it yet, but I’m in love with the book itself. It’s a small little book πŸ™‚ She also gave me a little book that contains Shaun Tan’s story “Eric” from Tales From Outer Suburbia which is my favorite story in that collection πŸ˜€ But for some reason, Librarything refuses to accept that book 😦 (gifts from a friend)

17. Rage: A Love Story by Julie Anne Peters – I bought this one when I was in Jonesboro. Me and Matt went to Barnes and Noble and as soon as I saw this one on the shelf I picked it up πŸ™‚ I love Peters so damn much. Her books are so incredible. (Bought it)

18. Growing a Farmer by Kurt Timmermeister – Yep…Chris bought a farming book…surprise, surprise :p I bought this one at Jonesboro’s Barnes and Noble too πŸ™‚ It’s about a guy growing up becoming a farmer from what I can tell :p But I absolutely love books like that! (Bought it)

19. The Lost Gate by Orson Scott Card – I’ve been waiting for this one for ages and it finally arrived on my doorstep today πŸ™‚ It’s the first book in Card’s new Mithermages series…the series that started with the short story, “Stonefather”. I learned on his site today that he had a stroke on January 1st that has apparently affected the use of his left hand, but he’s already at work on retraining it to type. He has promised on his site “not to die with any series unfinished”. I wish him all the best! (Bought it)

20. Doomsday Book by Connie Willis – This is another one that Becky assigned me in our book swap for this year πŸ™‚ And I could hand the blame to MANY for this one but it was her that finally made me get the book so I’m giving the blame to her!! (Paperback Swap)

13 Responses

  1. Ooh I read Rage: A Love Story earlier this year and it’s AMAZING!

  2. OMFG–what an amazing awesome pile of loot here, my dear!!! I’m not sure it’s fair giving me a point for the Sweet Tooth book as I didn’t even realize it was out yet! πŸ˜› Must go buy it. Soon. Then I can blame you. πŸ˜› And wow. Stuck Rubber Baby sounds soooo good–can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

  3. I’m stopping at the very first one. You haven’t read any A. S. Byatt yet?! I’m with you, the cover looks amazing, and if it’s anything like Possession it will be great. I gave away my edition of her Children’s Book, which now I have to repurchase, and it looks like this book you mention might as well be added to the Byatt stack of longing.

  4. Oh, A Tangled Web! How good! I love that book and it doesn’t get enough play because of Anne of Green Gables taking over the world in the way that it does. I hope you like it – it’s really utterly charming.

  5. ahem, well i see the new year is starting off just like last year! lol.. just teasing you ..

    I hope you enjoy each and everyone of those books…and all the others in your tbr pile (snicker) I can laugh because I feel the same pressure of the “pile” that you do lol.. hugs!

  6. ooh I need to read The Haunting of Hill House too. I still haven’t written a review for We Have Always Lived In the Castle. Eek! Nice to see you back Chris.

  7. Doomsday Book is all kinds of awesome. I had some Borders cards to spend and after hearing that they might declare bankruptcy any day (PLEASE, NOOOOOOO!!!!), I decided I had to get rid of them. I bought 3 Connie Willis books. The two I’ve read were both so good. Have you read Bellwether? It’s hilarious. The Alchemist is a book I’ve picked up 3 times and every single time it failed my flip test, so I’ll never read it. I hope you like it, though.

  8. I had not heard about Orson Scott Card. I have The Lost Gate on hold at the library.

  9. Little Black Book of Stores was my very first Byatt! I hope you love it. πŸ˜€ I haven’t read that Montgomery, but I loved her Anne books growing up. I Just read The Blue Castle for the first time this year, and it was wonderful. πŸ™‚

    We’ve already talked about The Moviegoer on Twitter, but I totally need to read it! I was confusing it with Summons to Memphis, which is the one I actually own, but I can just request it from the library. πŸ™‚

    I’m curious to see what you’ll make of The Haunting of Hill House and A Lesson Before Dying!

    Javatrekker is a really fun read, and the Dean’s Beans hot chocolate is super good too! Debi rocks. πŸ˜€

    Ready Made by Shoshana Berger sounds awesome: I hope my library has it! What fun. πŸ™‚

  10. Ah, A Lesson Before Dying! I am sure you will love it. But be prepared to cry. Seriously. Keep a box of tissues next to you. Geography Club is pretty good, but I highly suggest you don’t stop there. Pick up it’s “sequel” (which really isn’t much of a sequel and can easily be read alone) – The Poison Oak Club, or something like that. I’m on my first cup of coffee this morning. Forgive me. πŸ˜›

    I haven’t read anything by Byatt yet either, though I hope to this year. I think I’m partly afraid of her. And, and AND I am totally envious that you got the Julie Anne Peters newest book. *sigh* I’m participating in James’ TBR Dare, so no purchasing for me.

  11. I haven’t read any Byatt either. I was going to start the year off with Possession but then was afraid so I’m reading The Knife of Never Letting Go instead. For some reason I’m really intimidated by her.

    Enjoy The Alchemist. Can’t wait to hear what you think. I read the GN version last month.

    Hope you’re having a wonderful week Chris. πŸ™‚

  12. By ‘eck Chris, where you you put them all? πŸ˜‰

    Julie Anne Peters is always a good read, really want to get hold of Rage at some point this year!

  13. Great start to the year! I’ve been wanting to read Alchemist.

Leave a Reply

