An Overdue Bad Bloggers Post

I’ve let the books pile up again….23 of them to be exact (due largely in part to a bookcloseouts.com order :/), so this may be a bit long :/ Sorry about that…I’ll try to be brief, I promise…..here we go!

1. Half Minute Horrors by Various Artists – The blame for this one is placed solely on Debi. When I went to visit her in August, we took turns reading stories from this book with the whole family and it was one of the best memories I’ve made!! So glad to have this book now 🙂 (Bought it)

2. Drood by Dan SimmonsPat aka Deslily is getting the blame for this one! It was Susan that turned me on to Dan Simmons with The Terror and it’s Pat that’s keeping me hooked :p Now I just have to actually READ one of his books :p (bought it)

3. How Beautiful the Ordinary by Various – I’ve just been wanting to get this one for ages….it’s subtitled twelves stories of identity and I just really like that 🙂 It has a story by Julie Anne Peters, David Levithan, Francesa Lia Block, Emma Donoghue AND Margo Lanagan, among others…so it’s gotta be good 😉 (Bought it)

4. A Good and Happy Child by Justin Evans – I can’t even remember where I first heard of this one!!! I know someone is to blame though!!! But it just sounds super cool…and I’m excited about it \o/ (bought it)

5. A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett – Well the goal has been to read this one quickly so that I can read Wintersmith before Christmas, but that hasn’t happened yet and I don’t know if it will. But I so loved The Wee Free Men and had to get this one. Oh yeah, and Ana is totally getting a point for this (Bought it)

6. Better Off by Eric Brende – This is a book about a guy who goes a year living completely off of the grid! I thought it sounded really cool and I bet you anything that Debi had NO IDEA that she was getting a point for this book! One day I was spying on her paperback swap wishlist and found it there :p (bought it)

7. The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters – The oh so sweet Pat sent me her copy of this book!!! I was so freaking excited!!!! Heather is getting the point for it though after making me absolutely crave it!

8.Annie on my Mind by Nancy Garden – Here’s another one that Ana made sound too good to pass up…one of the pioneers of lgbt literature..particularly lesbian YA. (paperback swap)

9. All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque – I still have absolutely no idea what this book is about :p But Debi assigned it to me for our book swap!! So she’s getting a point for it :p (Paperback Swap)

10. A Wind in the Door by Madeline L’EngleZach gets a point for this one!!!! That would be Renay’s boyfriend 😀 I was on twitter one night and learned that his twitter name, echthroi, comes from this book! And I haven’t read any more than A Wrinkle in Time in the time quartet…what made me most excited is that this is the same cover series as my edition of A Wrinkle in Time from when I was like 9 😀 😀 (Paperback Swap)

11. Tales of Terror From the Black Ship by Chris Priestly – I loved the first Tales of Terror books SO MUCH!! It was just fantastic. I learned about these from Carl so he’s getting a point for this one too! (bought it)

12. Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now by Andre Jordan – I’m actually shocked that I haven’t read this one yet. I’m dying to. From the Smiths reference to the adorable drawings to Ana’s great review, I know I’ll love it. Point to Ana. (bought it)

13. The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents by Terry Pratchett – Well despite the fact that Ana has been pushing me to read this one lately, it is actually DEBI that gets the point for it :p She reviewed it awhile back and I’ve been just dying to read it ever since!!! (bought it)

14.Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card – Yeah it’s a new series by Orson Scott Card…I had to get it. I started it and I’m enjoying it so far, but life has kept me occupied so I haven’t gotten too far! (bought it)

15. The Anatomy of Ghosts by Andrew Taylor – An unsolicited review copy!! Which I’m very excited about because this book looks TOTALLY up my alley!! I would be over the roof about getting unsolicited review copies if magic books that I love just showed up at my door all the time! (just showed up)

16. A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft – For the women’s studies readalong that is going on next year!!! I’m so excited about it 😀 (paperback swap)

17. The Subtle Knife by Phillip PullmanAna’s fault again!! She assigned me this book after Debi assigned me the Golden Compass for our readalongs :p (Paperback Swap)

18. The Subjection of Women by John Stuart Mill – Another one for the women’s studies readalong! (paperback swap)

19. Blue Boy by Rakesh Satyal – I’m super excited about this one!! Colin over at The Book Pirate gets a point for it. About a little Indian boy coming to terms with being gay. (paperback swap)

20. Saturday by Ian McEwan – I’ve been curious about this one for a long time now and the person that I requested Blue Boy had this in her inventory too! So I requested it 😀 (paperback swap)

21. Matched by Ally Condie – Believe it or not, Amanda gets the point for this one, lol. I didn’t know if I wanted to read it or not! but then she read it and said that she truly loved it. And I figured that if she did then it was truly good! Looking forward to it!! (bought it)

22. Fall on Your Knees by Ann-Marie MacdonaldEva made me want to read this one immediately a couple of weeks ago in her sunday salon post! Sounds excellent! Point to Eva 🙂 (Paperback Swap)

23. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan – LOVING THIS BOOK!!!! This is my current read right now! I wanted the perfect Christmas book and YEAH this is it…GO GET IT IF YOU WANT THE PERFECT CHRISTMAS BOOK TOO!!! (bought it)

Holy shit, that’s it *wraps hands in ice packs*

13 Responses

  1. Every time I see the title for Fall on Your Knees, I think of Christmas songs. Maybe I should read that one over the holidays…

  2. I FEEL MY NAME SHOULD APPEAR MORE IN THESE POSTS, OKAY? *makes you a reading list for 2011*

  3. *shaking my head* you are Incorrigible ! I won’t hold my breath until you read Drood because I know the “big books” will wait for the smaller books lol.. (been there ..done that) You must have sooooo many tbr books by now I don’t know how you decide what to read next!!!

    I had my tbr down to 97 and now back up to 111 !! grrrr I’ve got to lock myself in the house and pull the plug on my computer to stop getting books until my pile goes down!!!! yeahrightsureuhhuh.

  4. Haha, I’m with Amanda on this one. Ooooh heeearrr the angels voiiiice’s. *cough* sorry :X

    Also, any reason why you’re not using the f-word when referring to our reading project? 😛

    I won a copy of How Beautiful the Ordinary in a giveaway the other day and I’m ridiculously excited to read it 😀

  5. Does anyone ever need to apologize for the length of a post when it is about books? LOL! Me thinks the answer is not only “no”, but “hell no!”.

    Glad to see you bought the second Priestly book. After reading the third one this year I got on half.com and order copies of the first two. I couldn’t bear to not have them in my collection. I will pick up the newest one some time as well.

  6. Waters’ The Little Stranger is going to end up as one of my favorite reads for 2010. I loved it.

    I won Drood two years ago, and I still haven’t read it, but I actually do want to. Soon. 2011, right?

  7. This post scares the peawaddin’ out of me. I’m afraid if I look too closely I’ll end up buying half of them. So . . . I glanced. And, I want to read MATCHED. I’m not looking, again, thankyouverymuch.

  8. Isn’t Dash and Lily so much fun?!

    Can’t wait to see what you think of His Dark Materials when you read it next year, it took me a couple of attempts to get into the first book when I read it, but then I devoured the whole trilogy in about 10 days. 🙂

  9. I’m just zipping around the blogosphere, reminding bloggers…If you have read any wonderful literary books
    published in 2010, I urge you to nominate your favorites
    for The Independent Literary Awards. The awards
    include categories of Literary Fiction and Literary Non-Fiction.

    I’m especially interested in having some great nominees for nonfiction!

  10. Great list you got here! 😀

  11. I’m in the middle of The Anatomy of Ghosts right now and it’s very good!

  12. I’m drooling over that cover for the subtle knife…Gorgeous!

  13. Ha! Just looking at these books sends me into a panic. I almost went to the used bookstore yesterday but got a manicure instead. 😉

    Enjoy the books. Several of these are ones I have on the shelf but haven’t read yet.

    And if I don’t make it back around before Christmas, I hope you have a lovely holiday!

Leave a Reply

