Giving Thanks

Ah Thanksgiving….what an odd relationship I have with you as a holiday. I hate the history behind this holiday, really…Robbing the Indians of their land and then giving thanks. And it breaks my heart to think of all of the turkeys giving their lives for this holiday 😦 Despite the fact that I still haven’t gone vegetarian :/ It’s just too hard for me to say farewell to my beloved steak every now and then. And BACON. But I have tried to make more ethical choices when it comes to meat. But that’s neither here nor there…this is about Thanksgiving. What I can enjoy about Thanksgiving is that it is a day to reflect on what I’m thankful for in my life. It’s a shame that I need one day to do this. It’s another thing that bugs me about this holiday…that we focus all of our thanks on this one holiday…but at least we do that!

In reflecting on what I’m thankful for in my life right now, I realize that I have so much to be thankful for right now. My life is good. I’m happy. I’m healthy (for the most part). I live comfortably. I have the privilege to be able to take things for granted at times. That’s not something that I’m proud of, but it’s a fact that makes life more comfortable for me. Today’s a day to reflect that on those days when I could complain that life isn’t fair and things aren’t going my way, things could be so much worse for me just by being born a different person.

I have a beautiful family that I don’t tell that I love them enough. My mom and my sister mean the world to me and have always been such wonderful supports to me and can muster up a smile in me no matter how hard I fight it sometimes when I’m grumpy.

I have some of the most AMAZING friends in the world. Friends that never cease to be there for me whenever I’m down or confused or elated or giddy or in need of a hug or just want to talk. I don’t know where I’d be without those friends.

I’m thankful to new additions to my life that have opened up a world that I didn’t even know could possibly exist. An absolutely amazing world that I can’t wait to discover.

I’m thankful for discovering the blogging world years ago and for the community that it has given me. I’ve been a real stranger in it lately, but it’s just come to mean the world to me.

I’m thankful for books 🙂 They never fail to fill my mind with wonder.

I’m thankful for music. The continuous soundtrack to my life that I absolutely could never live without.

I’m thankful for my job. Something that can drive me absolutely NUTS sometimes, but while I may complain like crazy about it sometimes and while I just want to walk out sometimes, I know there are some that would give anything just to have A job.

I’m thankful for pain killers. Oh pain killers I love you \o/

And so much more…so very much more….

13 Responses

  1. Well I already gave my comment over on Tumblr, but I wanted to add here that my family all got together and watched the Cowboys vs the Saints game. I cheered for the Cowboys so that the Saints would win, just for you. 🙂 And just so you know, my boys all shocked the rest of my family (who are VERY pro-Cowboys) with cheers for the Saints. 😀

  2. Have a good one, OC!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving Mr. Chris :). Are you going out for Black Friday?

  4. The history behind Thanksgiving is definitely unfortunate, but I love that Thanksgiving gives us a reason to step back and think about what we have to be thankful for. Even though I have plenty to be thankful for on a daily basis (and I’m really working hard on having a more thankful heart!), I rarely give it much thought until things aren’t going my way. So it’s good to have an excuse to really reflect on the good things, even when circumstances aren’t ideal.

    Happy Thanksgiving, Chris! 🙂

  5. Happy Thanksgiving, Chris 🙂

  6. Happy Thanksgiving, Chris

  7. Awesome post! And also, I shudder every time when I think about the whole “we conquered the new world”. It’s even more unfortunate that our history is shaded with ‘cover up’ in school history books. I don’t think I ever really *grasped* what happened until my late teens/early college years. But like Amanda said on your tumblr account, for me, holidays are about friends and family. 🙂

  8. I would like to make sure that I show gratitude every day because I agree with you that we need to be thankful on more than just one day out of the year! 🙂
    Loved your lists of things you’re thankful for especially the last one!! LOL!

  9. Enjoy your lovely holiday, we had ours in October. I know about the giving thanks one day only, and think it’s much better to give thanks every day. At the same time, it’s a day for everyone to gather and say thank you, and I think that’s important too. So, thank you for your friendship and your humour and your honesty, Chris. You are one of a kind and far more dear than you realize! I hope you enjoyed your turkey too – I love turkey! lol

  10. i love this post Chris, I think I would be ambiguous about the Thanksgiving holiday as well if I were American, but it’s good to have even one day to stop and reflect on all the little (and big) things we have to be thankful for 🙂

  11. *is so completely thankful for you*

  12. I volunteered a few times at a youth ranch that raised Turkeys that were then sold to Tyson Meats. Believe me, if you ever spent any significant time around turkeys you would find yourself wishing that there were turkey-for-dinner based holidays more often! 🙂

    Great list of things to be thankful for. I was just thinking about music the other day myself, about how amazing it is that music can communicate with us on a level that other things cannot. With seeming ease music can enhance or change a person’s mood, can get a message right down into the deep places of your heart, can change a person’s outlook. It really is an amazing medium. “Soundtrack to my life” is a great way to describe it. I know that I have a cyclical soundtrack that follows me throughout the various months and seasons as well as an ever changing one that I add to, more so since the advent of the internet and especially blogging which makes it easy to discover “new to me” artists all the time.

    In this economy more than ever it is a time to truly be thankful for one’s job, on the bad days as well as on the good. It is such a blessing to be employed, even more so during the holiday season. I feel for those who are having difficulty finding stable work. I have a friend going through that right now and I ache with his struggle.

    Thanks for a great post, for your ongoing friendship, and for reminding us that the seemingly “little” things are actually the biggest and most important and are well worth remembering throughout the year, not just one day in late November.

  13. I have very mixed feelings about Thanksgiving too. But I try to remember the focus on friends & family & being grateful in general.

    OMG, that Saints-Cowboys game was the most stressful thing ever! lol

Leave a Reply

