Saturday Farmer's Market On Sunday 11/7/10

Just finished watching the Saints SLAY the Panthers on this beautiful Sunday!! Woohoo! Aside from that, it’s been a quiet weekend that’s consisted mostly of reading and drinking tea and trying to get over this stupid cold. I did however get to go out and play in the garden a little bit and snap a few pictures with ye ole iPhone and I thought I’d go ahead and share the progress with you guys. Here you go!

1. I haz butterflies in the garden!! I’m getting tons of butterflies in my flower garden which was the purpose of it really. I wanted to attract butterflies and hummingbirds. I haven’t seen any of the latter yet, but lots of beautiful butterflies πŸ™‚ Here’s one on one of the beautiful zinnias. I had no idea how beautiful zinnias were, but the colors are so rich and vivid!!

2. Spinach. I have probably about 10 plants that look like this. I don’t know if it’s going to be successful or not…we’ll have to see if the plants actually take off or not. It would be nice if they do as I absolutely LOVE spinach!!!

3. This is romaine lettuce and I’m so happy with how well it’s doing! I have five more little plants that aren’t getting enough sun, so I’m going to dig them up and plant them close to these…these seem to be in the perfect place!

4. Here’s the whole little flower garden. All of this started from seed! Pat commented last week that she never had luck with flowers from seeds…I promise if you do like me, you’ll have luck with flowers from seeds…I literally just sprinkled about 300 seeds over dirt and watered :p That’s it…and this is the result…so far….

5. The bell peppers are still producing like crazy! And they’re getting bigger and bigger! I find that the cooler the weather gets, the bigger the peppers seem to get. Which is fantastic because lately we’ve been staying in the 60’s and low 70s which the garden seems to LOVE.

6. Here’s my little roma tomato plant…It’s not getting enough sun..blocked by the peppers, but it’s still producing one tomato but it has a cluster at the top that’s growing too! And it looks like a few more clusters are starting to form!

7. My turnips are doing really fantastic!! I think they’ll be ready to pop out of the ground in another month…that is if I can keep the damn squirrels out of the garden…the squirrels have gone NUTS in all of my gardens lately 😦 They’ve been digging in all of them and dug up ALL of my kohlrabi 😦

8. And these are the carrots which are also doing fantastic πŸ˜€ I think they probably have another month or so to go as well. Maybe a little bit longer for these guys.

9. Here are my rattlesnake beans which are running up their poles and starting to make their first beans!! I just love the way they look climbing up the poles!!

10. Here are some more tomatoes that are doing REALLY well πŸ˜€ I’m so happy with my tomatoes!

11. Here you can see a few little baby rattlesnake beans growing…I love how they’re slightly striped. Beautiful beans!

12. And finally here’s the orange that’s been on the tree FOREVER!!! I swear, this better be the best tasting orange in the world. It’s finally starting to turn…November tends to be the month where all the oranges ripen in the south, so maybe it’ll finish turning this month. I have two on the tree, but this one is closest to turning right now.

8 Responses

  1. awwwww my baby boy has butterflies!!!! and he’s going to have turnips!! mmmmmmmm this mama like turnips!!!

  2. Turnips!!!!!! I’m making a roasted turnip risotto this week. πŸ˜€ Can I move into your garden? I’ll bring a tent and an air mattress…

    Also, WHO DAT?!?! πŸ˜€

  3. I saw turnip but didn’t see one in the picture. Apparently Baby Billy Bob is the size of a turnip right now and since I’ve never eaten one I’m not sure how big that is. πŸ˜› LOL!

    Orange huh? Is it the only one on the tree? Hope it turns out delicious!

  4. Oh my, you know how envious these posts are making me these days, don’t you? πŸ˜‰ Oh well, at least you share all the pretty pictures so I can live vicariously, right?
    Have I told you lately how much I love your flower garden? Okay, I know I have, but I just can’t help but keep saying it!!!

  5. I am so jealous of your bee-you-ti-ful garden!!! It’s amazing!!!! I want to live in Louisiana! You are putting me to shame; maybe you should co-host Saturday Farmer’s Market in the winter! LOL I do have collard greens and spinach coming up. I’ll try to post them next weekend. I was gone all day Saturday, to IKEA, the most magical place on earth! LOL

  6. Your garden posts are always so relaxing! I look forward to them every Sun!

  7. Darn squirrels! Wow, your garden looks beautiful!

  8. Butterflies is pretty, and I am impressed by your gardening prowess, but mostly I am jealous of people who live in places that get Saints games on TV. Here they only care about the Jets. *grumble grumble*

Leave a Reply

