Wrapping Up RIP V

I can’t BELIEVE it’s November already!! How the hell did this happen? Where did 2010 go? 2010 do you realize the anxiety you are causing me? Now I have to start Christmas shopping!! Anyway, one thing at a time. With November upon us, that means that RIP V is over 😦 And yes, that’s a heartfelt sad face. I’m always so sad to see Carl’s RIP challenge pass. It’s one of my favorite challenges around. Not only because of the books that I read during that challenge, but because of the atmosphere that comes along with it, the posts that go up on everyone’s blogs, and just the memories associated with it.

I have to thank Carl once again for what was a wonderful challenge. Carl’s more than just an amazing challenge host, he’s a great friend…a friend to many, but someone who will always mean a heck of a lot to me. He’s basically the one who got me started in this whole blogging business.

I don’t know what the hell happened to me during this RIP challenge :/ I sort of fell off of the face of the earth without meaning to. I honestly have no explanation for it all. I somehow managed to read enough to complete the challenge, but just barely!! This is literally all I read in the last two months…well, this plus one graphic novel. I still have to review the last book plus the graphic novel. Here’s my reads:

1. Room by Emma Donoghue
2. Wolf Moon by Charles de Lint
3. The Bells by Richard Harvell
4. The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett
5. We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

Damn, I really don’t think I can pick favorites from that list!!!! Seriously…three of those (Room, The Bells, and The Wee Free Men) are likely to end up on my favorites of the year list!! But that’s no surprise. Carl’s challenges always end up providing some of my favorite books of the year. So even though the book count was low the last couple of months, at least I got some really GOOD reading in!

I should have reviews coming up for We Have Always Lived in the Castle and I Kill Giants over the next few days and hopefully I’ll get myself back into blogging!!! Hope everyone else had a delightfully creepy RIP and a fantastic Halloween!!!

10 Responses

  1. I did what you suggested and dedicated nearly ALL of my Sept/Oct reads to RIP. I ended up reading 21 RIP books. !!! I couldn’t believe it when I added it all up! And of those 21, I loved 18 of them, how great is that??

    I can’t wait to hear your full thoughts on the Jackson book. That one’s likely to make my best of the year list!

    I’m so behind this year. Normally I have my Christmas stuff all planned out and half shopped for in August but I haven’t even STARTED this year. With NaNo, I’m sure to be ever more behind. That makes me a tiny bit panicky, actually…but then again, I’m actually really glad to get into the Christmas-like season, because this time of year helps me to relax. 2010 has felt like a million years long to me. I don’t even know why! But last night, when we turned on the news and the Saints game was on, I was thinking that superbowl where they won was two years ago, it felt so far away. Crazy.

  2. I’m so anxious to read We Have Always Lived In The Castle. As you saw on my post, Shirley Jackson and Sarah Waters are two authors I’ve learned about from this challenge that I can’t wait to read. I started Waters’ The Little Stranger tonight, because like you, I became rather lost during the RIP. I’ve agreed to far too many book reviews for publishers, to the point where I’m not reading what I want to read, and now I feel like Charlie Brown. Halloween is over, and all I got is a rock. So to speak. 😉

  3. I am so very excited to join the challenge next year — I’ve developed some fabulous books based on everyone’s recommendations, and it looks like you’ve had a fun time with this one! Well done!!

  4. I forgot to sign up for RIP this year (I have no clue why …). Great choices. I have a couple of those on my TBR.

  5. Well, you’re not the only one failing to rack up the numbers of “books read” lately. And it’s not that I haven’t been in the mood to read…but I sure don’t seem to be finishing much. But hey, quality is what matters, right? And having read three that will likely make your favorites of the year is pretty damn good!!!

    Anyway, it’s always so sad to see RIP come to an end, isn’t it? 😦 And it really does sort of signal a whole shift in mentality…yeah, as in, “How the bloody hell am I ever going to be ready for Christmas in time?!!”

  6. Is there something in the air? Water? I too have had trouble … not so much with reading, but with reviewing what I read and keeping up with time just flying by and I’m not where I thought I’d be. I’ve read a fair amount, but I’ve actually wandered away from several books after starting them; not because I didn’t like them (I will definitely be going back to them) but because of … well, I’m not sure. Lack of focus. Way too busy work schedule. Muddled brain. I’ve done better with things like gardening since I use a different set of brain cells for that than I do for reading/writing 🙂

    You had some fantastic books and I need to go back and read your reviews (did I mention that I haven’t been keeping up??).

  7. Can’t wait to hear what you thought of I Kill Giants. I loved that when I read it earlier this year.
    And I’m sure it’d count towards the RIP total 🙂

  8. Looks like you had a great challenge anyway Chris, despite the lack of reading time.

    Really looking forward to seeing what yo thought of Merricat’s antics! 😉

  9. 2010 went the way of 1962 and all of those other years. Depressing, ain’t it? On the other hand, if we’re alive to see 2011, I suppose we should all be thrilled. 🙂

    I love the RIP. I always regret it when I don’t join in, but I at least read a couple books that qualified, just ’cause it’s not fall it’s “RIP Season,” now.

    I’m one of those rare weirdos who disliked We Have Always Lived in the Castle. What did you think of it? Wait, don’t answer that. I’ll just read your review. I know you’re a busy boy.

  10. I’ll look forward to your I Kill Giants. You guys keep talking about it and I’m thinking I”ll have to add it to my TKONLG pile. Ok, so the pile is only one book, but I DO want to read it soon!

    Five books is still pretty stellar, Mr. Chris.

Leave a Reply

