Chris and Debi's Mutual Challenge 2011

Although I’ve been HORRIBLE at finishing any of my 2010 challenges, I’m starting my first challenge of 2011 :p And this is one that I’m so freaking excited about that it’s not funny!!! Debi and I have decided to do a mutual challenge!!! We’ve each picked five books for each other to read by the end of next year and I couldn’t be more thrilled with the five books that she picked for me!!! And I couldn’t be more thrilled with the five books that I picked for her :p But you’re going to have to wait until she posts on her blog what those are to find out what they are. Here’s what I’ll be reading:

1. The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman – Well it’s about time I read this one, huh? I’ve only been having it on my shelf for AGES now!! For some reason I’ve always been nervous about this book…I don’t know why. But nerves or no nerves, I’ve gotta read it now πŸ™‚

2. Dangerous Angels by Francesca Lia Block – Yay yay yay!!! I don’t know why I haven’t read this one yet either, but I’m so damned excited about it!!! I just know that I’m going to love this one to pieces. I really just want to read all of these right now.

3. I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly – Debi actually sent me a copy of this one and I started reading it at work tonight and I’m already in love with it. Such an awesome book so far.

4. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon – Another one that I’m shocked I haven’t read yet, but one I’m really excited about this one too. If I’m right, this one deals with a boy with autism and I’ve always had a special place in my heart for kids with autism.

5. All Quiet On the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque – Now this one I’ve never even heard of before and I know absolutely nothing about!! So I think I’m actually more excited about this one than any of them :p

This is going to be so much fun!! In fact, if I finish all five books quickly, I may just ask Debi to assign me five more bonus books πŸ™‚

17 Responses

  1. You haven’t read The Golden Compass yet?! You’re going to LOVE it! It’s so good.

  2. Ohh yes you will love the golden compass (you do know it’s a trilogy right? *snort)

    I love this challenge for you and Debi!!! I hope you gave her some good ones!

  3. I loved The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Nighttime. Loved. It. You’re going to have fun, and how wonderful that you know each other well enough to choose books for one another. That is so special.

  4. What a great challenge! Most of those books sound like a lot of fun, though I admit, I run screaming from that last one. I had to swatch a movie version and found it really, really boring, but then again, I hate war books/movies, so I would. I think Jason liked it though, and it’s a classic, so hopefully you enjoy it much more than I would!

  5. She picked some good ones! I’ve read The Golden Compass, All Quiet on the Western Front and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. I liked them all.

  6. Sounds like fun!

  7. THis is a fabulous challenge and you were given some great books.

  8. What a great challenge! The Golden Compass is a great book. I just bought I Kill Giants because of Nymeth. Happy reading!

  9. #4 is great!! I like this challenge and I know both of you will complete them!! πŸ˜€ LOL!

  10. What a fun idea for a challenge!!! I look forward to seeing what books you’ve chosen for her!

  11. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is a fantastic book! One I”d love to re-read. Enjoy Chris-this sounds like so much fun! And can’t wait to see what you picked for Ms. Debi!

  12. That is so fun. My close friend Scott and I did this several years ago for Christmas, sending each other 5 books and 5 cd’s that meant something to us. It was a great idea. Had we not done that I might still have not read most of The Chronicles of Narnia, or Robert Graves’ excellent book, I, Claudius.

  13. Well, you already know how freakin’ excited I am about this, but I just have to squeal again. SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!! πŸ˜€
    And I didn’t know you were nervous about The Golden Compass–I just thought you hadn’t gotten around to it yet. Not that knowing would have stopped me from putting it on your list anyway. πŸ˜‰ Seriously, Chris, I’ve no doubt you’re going to LOVE that book!

  14. Awesome, awesome, awesome! I just know you’re going to love The Golden Compass and Dangerous Angels.

  15. […] on November 29, 2010 by Word Lily| 2 Comments At the end of October, Amy tweeted about how cool Chris and Debi’s mutual challenge was (which has completely ballooned from there) and asking if anyone wanted to tackle such a […]

  16. […] that I will not be signing up for very many this year. Β However, I watched with interest as first Chris and Debi, and then Amy and Hannah posted on their blogs that they planned on swapping reading lists with […]

Leave a Reply

