Bad Bloggers – 10/25/10

Happy Halloween Week everyone!!! We’ve finally got some Autumn air starting to creep down here and it’s just lovely 🙂 It’s breezy and in the 70’s, though later in the week we’re looking at lows in the 50’s which just sounds absolutely gorgeous to me!! And weather like this ALWAYS perks up my reading moods which is a very good thing…because as you can see, I can’t stop bringing books into the house. Though this is a VERY tame week compared to normal with only five books entering the house believe it or not. So let’s get this party started and start a new round of bad bloggers:

1. Gray Horses by Hope Larson – HOORAY!!!! I can’t tell you how long I’ve been wanting this book. For a long time, that’s how long. And then I read Mercury by Ms. Larson and knew I really had to have it and just when I was about to buy it my turn came up for it on Paperback Swap! Score! (Paperback Swap)

2. Immoveable Feast: A Paris Christmas by John Baxter – And the first point of this round goes to Ms. Bellezza 🙂 I don’t know why on Earth Bellezza hasn’t gotten more points in this game really. She always writes the most beautiful reviews and finds the most amazing books….like this one! I’ve been wanting this ever since she reviewed it last Christmas time. I looked for it everywhere and couldn’t find it, but I just got it off of Paperback Swap and will definitely be reading it this Christmas. I can’t tell you how excited I am about this one!!! Point for Bellezza. (Paperback Swap)

3. An Invisible Sign Of My Own by Aimee Bender – So I’ve formed a bit of an obsession with Aimee Bender. And I’d like to just give Heather a point for every single Aimee Bender book because she’s the one who made me get Lemon Cake and start my obsession. But I won’t. This is Aimee Bender’s other novel and I know nothing about it really aside from that she wrote it…and that’s enough for me 🙂 (Paperback Swap)

4. I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly – And of course, Ana gets a point in the first round. How could she not :p But after reading her amazing review of this graphic novel that deals with trauma, I had to put it on my list. And my sweet friend Debi was kind enough to send me a copy for winning HER blame game :p Thanks Debi!!!! Point to Ana! (Gift from a friend)

5. Last Chance to See by Douglas AdamsDebi also sent me this book and she’s also just going to have to take the blame for it as well :p It was Ana who first put this one on my radar, but it was Debi’s review that really sent me over the edge about it making me HAVE to have it. And then she sent it to me, lol. Point for Debi! (Gift from a friend)

10 Responses

  1. Only 5? wow! Have you been ill???? :o) I can only torment you because I love you lol

  2. I gotta say–you always have the most eclectic listing of books on your Bad Bloggers list! Most times I haven’t heard of any of them. I have been wanting to read Douglas Adams, though. Enjoy!!

  3. Okay, friend, you just made my day. First, to wake up and find your sweet, sweet comment on my post; now to find I have a point for being a Bad Blogger! Always glad to influence your reading, any way I can. I’ve missed you, too, Chris, and am glad to be back in touch. Won’t let it slip away again, especially as I’m staying put at http://www.dolcebellezza.net. 😉 XO

  4. Gray Horses!!! I so hope you like it Chris! I liked Mercury better than it, but still loved it! 🙂

  5. I didn’t realise that Immoveable Feast was a Christmas book. I shall add it to my list for December reading.

  6. Last Chance to See is a wonderful book, I just know you’ll enjoy it!

  7. LOL–I know just that feeling you mean about Heather and the Aimee Bender book! I can’t tell you how often that happens–it’s not that someone actually reviewed or told me about a particular book, and yet in some way I feel like it really is still their fault! Hope you enjoy them all, Chris!!! (I know you’ll enjoy those last two!)

  8. I read Last Chance To See a few years ago and it was VERY good – I know you’ll like it (and be completely depressed by it at the same time).

  9. Hmm, I’m being poky and haven’t earned a point, yet. Shame on me. Christopher, my love, I reviewed The Reapers Are The Angels, last night, so you must dash over to read the review. I think you would love it. 🙂

  10. Pssst! Your books are FINALLY on the way. Bet you thought they weren’t even real. 😉

Leave a Reply

