Bad Bloggers!! Let's Start A New Round!

So I’m going to go ahead and pass out the blame for these 9 books and then go ahead and wrap up bad bloggers for this round. Let’s just say it now…Ana has once again taken the lead :p And she shall be rewarded with any book of her choice!! But poor Ana, the rules of this game state that she must choose a book that I’ve reviewed sometime in the past. You see, the point of this is that hopefully I can inflict a book upon her because of my influence due to all of the many books she has inflicted upon me. Do you like how I try to make that sound like a bad thing? :p But yes yes…if you’ll let me know which book you want Ana, I’ll get it right in the mail to you!!! I owe you an email anyway so I’ll be contacting you as well πŸ™‚ So after all of this blame is doled out (Ana will be getting three more points in this round so I thought it only fair to start fresh NEXT week), We’ll start a new round and see if anyone dares to challenge Ana for the crown :p

One thing I must say is that it totally cracks me up how much of a competition this has become, lol. Rhinoa came to New Orleans over the past few days!!! We had so much fun and I’ll talk all about it over on my tumblr blog, but I started laughing last night when we were driving home and she said “how come I never get any damn bad blogger points?!” LOL!!! I felt horrible, but at the same time, it cracked me up how much of an actual game it’s become. And it’s really fun. Anyway, here are the points for this week:

1. My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me edited by Kate Bernheimer – So here’s the first point for Ana…and it’s one of those instances where she’s actually gotten a point from twitter in 140 characters or less because yes, she’s capable of even that :p But OMG this book looks so freaking incredible!!! It’s a collection of retold fairy tales from all over the world by the likes of Neil Gaiman and Aimee Bender among many many others. I’m freaking about it and I may just finally dive into it tonight after saying every night that I’m going to do that. Point to Ana. (Bought it)

2. Handling the Undead by John Ajvide Lindqvist – I had a holy shit moment when I heard about this book. Because Let The Right One In has truly become one of my favorite books of all times after having read it over a year ago now. He’s just an amazing writer (Crap I still owe you an email Mr. Lawson!!! I haven’t forgotten). Well the blame for this one falls solely on the oh so wonderful Mel who I love so much πŸ™‚ I swear she’s my twin just in female form. She’s even from here..or at least went to school in Baton Rouge. Anyway, I had no idea this was even coming out until she mentioned it and I got so excited!!! New Lindqvist! Score! And now I haz it πŸ˜€ Point for Mel. (Bought it)

3. Up From the Blue by Susan Henderson – I occasionally DO judge books by their covers and just blew this one off assuming that it would not be for me despite seeing some buzz about it :/ Bad bad me. But then the lovely Colin over at The Book Pirate reviewed it and I learned that it was nothing at all like what I imagined it would be! And that I really wanted to read it! And being the nice guy that he is, he offered to send me his ARC! Score again! Thanks again, Colin! Really looking forward to this one. And a point to Colin. (Sent from a friend)

4. Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk by David Sedaris – πŸ˜€ <——I could almost just leave it at that to describe this one. Because that’s exactly how David Sedaris makes me feel. Love him. This collection is subtitled “A Modern Bestiary”, and I suppose that’s what it is. It’s basically looks like a collection of short demented stories about animals. But in a sweet way. With drawings. Yeah. (Bought it).

5. The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett – Hoooooooorayyyyyy πŸ˜€ I’m so glad to be reading this right now because it’s freaking amazing!!! I seriously think I might like this book even more than Nation and that’s saying A LOT!! I loved Nation. Basically, Ana has been trying to get me to read this for years now. Well, I think really her goal was just to get me to read Discworld out of order but whatever…I wanted to get I Shall Wear Midnight when it came out and Ana said that I really should read this first and work my way through the Tiffany Aching series up to that book. So now I’m SO excited about doing that πŸ˜€ Point to Ana again! (Bought it)

6. Naked by David Sedaris – This is the only one of Sedaris’ essay collections that I haven’t read yet, and they had it available on PBS, so I picked it up πŸ™‚ I have no idea why I haven’t read this one yet, as I think it’s the most popular of his! I just have to remember not to read this in public. I swear, Sedaris and I do not get along well in public as I usually just spew snot out all over the place from laughing suddenly…it’s quite embarrassing, let me tell you. And disgusting. He’s one of the few authors that can literally make me just lose it though and have me in stitches. I just love his stuff. And he’s a great guy. (Paperback Swap).

7.The Jungle by Upton Sinclair – Here’s the new pick for the Bookclub Sandwich group!! I’m super excited about this one because it’s one that I NEVER would’ve read on my own. I just never would’ve picked this one up. Which would’ve been a shame because it sounds really good. I just love this bookclub. And I’m giving Andi a point for this one πŸ™‚ (Paperback Swap)

8. Dancing in the Streets by Barbara Ehrenreich – I may have let out a small “squee” when I got this one in the mail. It’s another one of those Ana books that I wanted instantly after reading her review of it. And now I haz it! And she has her last point of this round :p (Paperback Swap)

9. Christ The Lord: Out of Egypt by Anne Rice – Just because I’ve been really curious about this series and I’ve been DYING to read some more Anne Rice recently!!!!!

So here are the final tallies for this round since April:

Nymeth – 21
Amanda – 11
Debi – 9
Becky – 5
Nancy – 5
Deslily – 5
Heather (Capricious) – 4
Dewey – 3
Carl – 3
Eva – 3
Annie – 2
Jeane – 2
Kelly – 2
Andi – 2
Darla – 1
Mariel – 1
Diane Rehm – 1
Shanra – 1
JP – 1
Vivienne – 1
Lightheaded – 1
Aarti – 1
Renay – 1
Drew Ferguson – 1
Trish – 1
Rachel – 1
Nat – 1
Rich – 1
Daphne – 1
Darren – 1
Colin – 1
Mel – 1

So as of now, the playing field is even and you’ll notice that the bad bloggers box in the sidebar is blank! Next round will end in April 2011 πŸ™‚ What’s everyone else gotten in the mail lately? And who are you blaming for it? πŸ˜‰

12 Responses

  1. Yay I got a point! πŸ™‚ I have 2 books that i need to finish to send back to the library but the Lindqvist is next after that. You get to meet all the cool bloggers! We should get a coffee or something if i have time next time i go down to visit my family in Breaux Bridge. Happy reading!

  2. No one was even close to Ana this round! That’s quite some lead she had.

    As, for my own performance, 1 point? Crivens! that’s a poor effort, I really must try harder! πŸ˜‰

  3. wow .. I am a proud “mama” at 5 books!.. but then I saw Ana’s of 21 ..glad I didn’t have a mouth full of coffee or my computer monitor would be all wet! LOL

  4. Okay, so in just the last few months, dear Ana made you buy 21 books, and she made me buy 20 books, and I couldn’t even fathom a guess as to how many books she’s made other people buy in that time period but we know the number is huge. I swear the book publishers really ought to be compensating her! πŸ™‚ Congrats Ana, on another much-deserved win!!!

    Know what I totally love? Just how many different people had you buying books!!! (I wish pathetic little me could manage to read that many blogs–of course, it’s probably a good thing I don’t as I’d hate to imagine how many books I’d be buying then!)

  5. I imagine Ana has cause many, many people to buy loads of books! Her blog is wonderful.

  6. Muwahahahahahahahahaha! I only get one point! Next round, I am back to aiming for zero.

    Ana talks far too enthusiastically about books, she does…

  7. OK how sad am I! I was so excited that my name was on your list. I know it is only one book, but to have influenced you at least once, is fabulous news to me.Especially as you are one of the elite group who influence my reading so much. I have a happy face!

  8. I’m in a three-way tie for 4th place!! Squeeeee! I feel like a winner. Nobody can beat Ana, though. She is one convincing blogger. Yay for Ana! I’m shooting for a higher spot in the next round. BTW, sorry I still haven’t mailed your book. I am just that poky. Write to me, some time, because I have to ask you about a couple things and tell you another, would ya?

  9. That’s funny about Rhinoa and the bad blogger points. I occasionally hound Debi about how I never got any blame game points, and then I had to resort to sending her some books to get some, but of course, that was my pleasure. πŸ˜‰

    I saw My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me when I was browsing Kramerbooks in DC last weekend. The title definitely grabbed my interest, and then I read the authors and was that much more interested. I’ll be interested to see how you like it!

  10. I’m sure Ana has caused many people to add books to their TBR list/pile. I’ve created an Ana recommendation list just to keep track! I have got to get my hands on Let The Right One In before I read the new one! Have a great week, Chris.

  11. Have you ever listened to Sedaris on audio? I’m convinced that’s the only way to truly enjoy his books. Laugh out loud hysterical…especially when he’s reading with an audience rather than just studio recorded.

  12. Oh, I want Handling the Undead so badly! I can’t seem to find it here yet. Bride of the Book God reviewed it earlier this year and said it was a very good zombie book. Then I saw the fairy tale book and……bad blogger Chris! Between you and Ana you pretty well are the worst ones for me! By the way, you know that there’s a sequel to Lonely Werewolf Girl out now, right?? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

