The Sunday Salon – The Not So Much Going On Edition

I feel like I’ve been a bad blogger as of late. No, not a Bad Blogger!, just a bad blogger. As in, I haven’t really been keeping up with my blog, but I haven’t really had much to write about! The problem being, I can’t finish a damn book for the life of me. Of course it would help if I had time to read lately. Which is my own fault for not making time to read. The truth is, I do have the time to read. Lately, I’ve just been sucked into Glee :p I just finished season 1 on DVD though, so I don’t have that excuse any more. But seriously, my reading mojo seems to have gone completely out of the window. I read a total of TWO books in September and I’ve read one so far this month. Though I am in the middle of The Stand and The Wee Free Men right now, both of which are incredible and I have the read along of We Have Always Lived in The Castle coming up!!! Don’t forget to sign up if you haven’t!

Aside from not reading, not much else is going on. I’ve been so busy with work lately. That just seems to never end. I swear I could use another week off from that place right now. Things are popping up like crazy in the garden right now 🙂 That’s been fun as always!! And I have lots of awesome shows coming up soon!!! I went to see Beach House and Vampire Weekend last night as anyone who follows me on Tumblr or Twitter knows as you were barraged with posts last night :/ Sorry about that :/ In November I’m seeing Mumford & Sons, Joanna Newsom AND The Dresden Dolls! Woohoo!

Hopefully soon I’ll fall into some normal swing again. I miss the normalcy of posting regularly over here….of commenting back and forth with my friends…of visiting everyone else’s blog. It’s sad when the things that make you happy are the first to go when life gets stressful and I’m vowing to myself to not let that happen! So hopefully you’ll see me around more soon! Hope everyone has a great rest of your Sunday!!! I’ll be cheering on the Saints against the Cardinals 🙂

15 Responses

  1. all things seem to go in cycles … you’ll be back to your “normal blog” when you are ready.. I’m glad you are out and having some fun !! all work and no play makes “chris” a dull boy! But you HAVE been having fun so that’s a good thing..

  2. I love Mumford & Sons! (Largely for their combination of rampant Shakespeareanism and wild banjo goodness.)

    I too have been a bad blogger recently – don’t worry! It happens to us all from time to time.

  3. I have not felt like reading a lot lately either. I did a lot of cleaning today. 🙂

  4. *sigh* The Saints game was hard to watch. I am pretending it didn’t happen. :p

  5. I think we all go through phases like that. I’m finally back in the swing of things, but my summer reading was pathetic. The Stand is hugemongous!! I think I’m frightened of it.

  6. GLEE!!!!! A friend of mine introduced me to Glee around when it started to air here. She’s evil. But I bury her in books, so I guess we even each other out in the end. ^-~

    I’m glad to hear you’re still finding fun things to do, even if you want to be reading and blogging too. *snug* As Pat said, things go in cycles, so don’t feel too bad. Please? You have some awesometastic things on the horizon from the sounds of it. Go enjoy them to the fullest!

  7. Wee Free Men is great. I just LOVE that book so much! I’ve got a review of Hat Full of Sky coming up this week…and I’m reading Wintersmith now 🙂

    I finished We Have Always Lived at the Castle, I look forward to the readalong discussion!

  8. Hi Chris!! Good to see you. 🙂 It’s lovely to have you come around even if it’s only every once in awhile. Plus you’ve done all your blogging on tumblr lately so it really balances out. 🙂 Have fun at all your concerts!!

  9. I’m sp jealous you get to see Mumford & Sons and Joanna Newsom! I’m also very jealous of you seeing Vampire Weekend. I was supposed to see them at a festival this summer, but I got really ill so never got to go 😦

  10. I think Glee is a perfectly acceptable reason to cut back on the books. 🙂 I can’t wait until we get the second season here in NZ!

    I hope everything balances out for you soon. We’ll all be here waiting, when it does. 🙂

  11. We miss you too but don’t worry about it. It happens to all of us. I hope work slows down enough so you can enjoy it. 😀

  12. you’ll be ok! I would say the Jackson book will be a great way to kick start your reading. I didn’t intend to read it for the Readathon this past weekend and ended up reading the whole thing that day! as everyone else has said, we all have our own ups and downs, hope you get through yours soon.

  13. Oh Chris–I know how you feel as I’ve been through this several times the past year. Honestly, posts like these–just keep writing them–might help spur you out of the slump? Plus we all love a little bit of random rambling. 🙂

    Glad you’re loving Glee–the show makes me ridiculously happy. 😀 And I know what you mean about not finishing a book. Until Saturday I hadn’t finished one since AUGUST! What are you reading now? Maybe make a goal to read X pages a day? Or would that turn it into a chore?

  14. Glee! Yippee! Wasn’t the remake of Single Ladies FABULOUS. This season is great too. *le sigh* And the halloween episode. *squeal* Rocky Horror. Hell ya!

  15. Glee is my guilty pleasure. And Project Runway which is finally winding down.
    I, too, am allowing any distraction from keeping me from reading, sigh. I think I might set aside my current read (not even to page 100 in 2 weeks?!???!!????!!!) and try something else and yet I’ve been really enjoying it when I *DO* read. And again, you remind me to go take pics of my veggies in the garden even tho NONE of them produced anything edible.

Leave a Reply

