Saturday Farmer's Market – 10/2/10

There’s really not much to report on this weekend! In fact, I don’t have any pictures to accompany this post 😦 How sad is that? Basically, things are looking the same as they did last week. Maybe a bit more growth, but I didn’t think that would be too exciting :p Nothing really substantial has popped up in the garden. Yes, there are a few yellow flowers on my tomato plants, I suppose I could’ve taken pictures of those. There are some new peppers on the pepper plants, I guess I could’ve taken pictures of those…there’s a new white eggplant on the eggplant bush…you get the gist :p But I think sometimes people get sick of seeing the same thing! LOL.

The newest thing in the garden would be a fresh bed of mud. Or at least that’s what it would look like if I took a picture. I dug up all of my black eyed peas because they seem to be finished producing. Which means that we should have a big pot of black eyed peas soon!!! In it’s place, I planted a giant bed of spinach seeds. I did the square foot gardening method for them, and according to that, you can plant 9 plants for each square foot…and seeing as I had 5 square feet of space, I planted 45 seeds! So hopefully we’ll have lots of spinach this year….a veggie that I never tire of. I love it raw or cooked just about any way you can think of. I’m thinking of maybe doing some celery too. We use that to cook all the time and apparently you can plant that this time of year down here too!

The other thing that I noticed is that my strawberry plants are determined to keep producing, especially with this new burst of cooler air! So maybe I’ll have a second batch of strawberries this year. That would be awesome 🙂 And my little lemon tree is doing fantastic. I can’t tell you how excited I am about that little tree. To think that it started from a seed and one day I’ll be able to pick fresh lemons off of it. I just think that’s too cool!

Head on over to Heather’s for more gardening fun!

5 Responses

  1. hooray for the lemon tree..
    short story: when I was married living here in Fla. I planted a Lime tree, thinking “wow, I can make Limeade and Lime merangue pies”!… the Lime tree grew quicly.. was loaded ..LOADED.. each year with limes. See me smiling? no. Do you know how many limes it takes for a gallon of limeade?… 3…THREE! Do you know how many limes it takes to make a lime pie? 1/2 a cup of juice! Do you know how many limes I had on the tree??!!! Me either but I gave them away by the bag full!!!!!!

  2. thats “quickly”.. heh

  3. I want your little lemon tree!!
    Hope you do get another batch of strawberries…yum 😀

  4. Oh, but you’re so wrong–I would never tire of pics from your garden, even if it’s things we’ve seen before!!!

  5. Deslily, That actually makes me really excited 😀 The way I look at it, you can never have enough lemons :p I’ll just be making lemonade and lemon pies and lemon everything else like crazy, lol. And there are always family members and coworkers who want lemons!! They’re so expensive these days….Expect a box of lemons on your doorstep in a couple of years 😉

    Staci, I can mail you some seeds once I get some lemons and then you can have your own 😀 I’m hoping I get some more strawberries too!

    Debi, Well then I’ll have to make sure to take more pics for you next week!!

Leave a Reply

