Come Read We Have Always Lived In The Castle!

No seriously…come read it with me!! Heather has somehow convinced me that I’m capable of leading the Classic Reads Book Club in their fourth quarter book discussion! I really don’t think she knows what she’s gotten herself or the club into :p Not only have I never really taken place in a book club but my leadership skills are lacking. But I’m totally up for a challenge. But I can’t do this alone!! I need people to come join in for the read along and…let’s be frank here…make me feel like I actually know what I’m doing.

Since I’m leading the book club, I got to pick the classic that we’re reading too! And I wanted to pick something spooky since we’re now in the autumn season. For years now I’ve wanted to read Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived In The Castle. It seems to be a perfectly haunting novel and I know very little about it. Aside from that it’s creepy and dripping with atmosphere. I purposely know very little about this one as I’ve made it a point to avoid spoilers! I also picked something short as I know that as autumn approaches, life begins to get busy as the holidays approach and for those with kids, kids activities pick up!

So here’s what I’m thinking the reading schedule will look like for this one:

October 18th – 24th: Read and Discuss Chapters 1&2

October 25th – 31st: Read and Discuss Chapters 3-5

November 1st – 7th: Read and Discuss Chapters 6-8

November 8th – 14th: Read and Discuss Chapters 9&10 and Wrap Up 😀

Hope that sounds good to everyone. I’m actually super super duper excited about this and I hope that there’s at least somewhat of a response to this :p I think it would be a lot of fun to talk about this with everyone. Like I said, I really don’t even have the beginning of a clue on how to host a book club :p So me as the host of this will be very collaborative and conversational. I hope that even if you’ve read this one before you consider coming over over to the Classic Reads Book Club Blog to consider joining us for our discussion of this fantastic sounding novel 🙂

19 Responses

  1. Awesome choice! I’m leading a discussion for them next year, too, but I have to get on the stick and figure out which book we’ll discuss! Eeeek!

  2. Yay! I’m very excited you’ll be reading this one Chris! I won’t be doing the readalong because I just finished this book a week or two ago, but I’ll definitely be looking forward to your thoughts! 🙂

  3. Jumping up and down with my hand in the air. Can I join? Can I join? Dead excited now. Definitely will be there. Will order the book today.

  4. Oh you silly! You’re going to be just fine. Better than fine. You’re going to be an awesome book club leader!!!

    And Chris, you are going to LOVE that book!!! Seriously, I just *know* it!

    You won’t hate me if I don’t join, will you? Not that I’d mind in the slightest reading the book again–the whole idea of “book club” just scares me. You know the whole “I’m not nearly intelligent enough to discuss books with other people” thing. And don’t argue with me–maybe it’s not true, but my brain thinks it’s true and thus the idea scares me.

  5. Count me in! I think I have a copy of it around here!

  6. Hey Chris! I’ll read it with you :o)

  7. I just put a hold on this book at the local library. Count me in!

  8. I’d love to join the read-a-long. I’ve been wanting to reread this one for years and I already have a copy of my shelf all ready to go!

  9. OH I want I want I want. I’m still so bogged down with Brothers Karamazov (grrrr). BUT, I have been thinking about reading this for the readathon next weekend…so maybe I can skip the readalong and just participate in discussion stuff? What is this Classics Book Club anyway? Off to check it out!!

  10. Just requested my copy from the library…I’m in! 😀

  11. I finished reading this about eight hours ago and I couldn’t sleep after 😛

  12. Just put it on hold at the library. I’m not sure I can completely commit to it, but I’m more than willing to give it a try!

  13. I forgot to mention this in my earlier comment–have you read I Am Number Four? I’m reading it now, and I think you’d enjoy this one!

  14. So glad to see everyone joining in 😀 I’m really looking forward to the discussion!!! I’ll post a reminder over here when we start on the classics blog!

    And Becky, I haven’t heard of that book, but I’m certainly off to check it out now!

  15. This is a great book for a readalong, especially at this time of year. Enjoy!!

  16. I have not doubt you are going to enjoy this one. What a perfect choice for October reading! 🙂

  17. heh. how weird! I just picked this up at the library a day ago without knowing there would be a discussion about it! I’m in!

  18. Chris I keep trying to get into the Classic Reads Book Club blog and it won’t let me. Is there a problem with it? I want to join but it keeps shutting down on me.

  19. Staci just told me about this readalong! I was planning on reading WHALitC this coming week anyway, so I’m going to try to read the first two chapters in time to join in on the conversation by the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

