Saturday Farmer's Market 9/25/10

Ah Saturday! All the better this Saturday because it’s the first day of a three day weekend for me and I’m off to see the Saints crush the Falcons tomorrow in the Superdome! AND it’s a lovely rainy day here in New Orleans and following this rain we’re supposed to have a cool front. A taste of autumn maybe? We’ll see! Though of course that only means highs in the mid 80’s for us, but we’ll take what we can get. But we’re here to talk gardens, right?

The only sad thing going on in my garden right now are my green onions ๐Ÿ˜ฆ They’ve been attacked by the damned army worms…they ate ALL of my green onions all the way down to the bulbs ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Which means that I now have NO green onions left. I found 5 giant army worms in the pot of green onions and stomped all of their nasty green guts out. I hate those things so much!!!! I wish they would go away ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I hate that they found my house. The rest of the garden is doing great though. Here’s what things look like:

1. What you’re looking at here is a little tiny bitty seedling of a lemon tree!! So excited about this ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve always wanted a lemon tree, so I decided to just stick some lemon seeds in some little pots of mud and see what would happen. They’ve been sitting in there for about a month now and I was about to just give up on them, but then I noticed this morning that this little sprout was out!! Made me so excited!!! So in a few years, I may just have some fresh lemons off of a tree :p Plan of following it’s progress :p

2. My insane flower bed is coming to life. Well sort of…there are little sprouts popping up! As I told you previously, I’ve sprinkled about 8 or 9 different types of seed in this fairly small bed. I’m thinking it’s going to be some sort of beautiful disaster. That’s my name for this…the beautiful disaster flower bed. We’ll see how it turns out! Can’t wait to actually see the flowers in bloom!

3. I have bell peppers!! I have bell peppers!! Like 8 of them growing right now!! And they look beautiful. Seriously guys…I’ve been waiting since May for bell peppers. I never thought I’d be so excited over freaking vegetables. But this is what this is all about, right? :p I can’t wait to cook with these!! I love the taste of bells.

4. My tomato plants are looking absolutely beautiful and so healthy. So much better than my spring and summer plants did. I really think that autumn is going to be an awesome veggie season for me. I have a total of 6 tomato plants in the garden right now. The one on the left is my roma tomato plant and it already has the beginnings of flowers on it. In fact, three of my plants have flowers already.

5. This is the new garden bed and I just love it so much!! I don’t know what it is about this garden, but I just think it looks so nice and organized ๐Ÿ™‚ And I love the bean poles ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah…we’re going to have green beans coming out of our ass. I have a total of 36 bean plants planted :/ A mix of rattle snake beans, bush snap beans, and provider beans. And there are two plots of basil, two tomato plants…that back row that’s sprouting up are turnips and right in front of the turnips are carrots which you can’t really see but they are sprouting. This is my first attempt at root veggies and it’s great fun ๐Ÿ˜€

6. And here’s a view at the whole shebang. At least the two main garden beds…there’s the whole side bed too which has my flowers and black eyed peas and the pots too…but these are my main beds. I’m just having such fun with this this year.

Head on over to Heather’s blog and leave your link to your gardening, sustainable living, farmers market, or foodie book posts!!

8 Responses

  1. my son my son… you have such a way with words!……

    “and stomped all of their nasty green guts out” :o) that’s my son alright! hahahahaha

  2. I think you hate army worms as much as I hate the cucumber beetles. Which are thankfully disappearing from my garden now that it’s getting cooler. But they killed almost everything first. My bell peppers are so small. I wish I knew why! Yours look lovely.

  3. Your garden is looking fantastic and how it’s come on since you first started. I see you’re going square foot gardening. I really should start being that disciplined…

  4. […] Stuff As Dreams Are Made On… ยป Blog Archive ยป Saturday Farmer's … What you're looking at here is a little tiny bitty seedling of a lemon tree! So excited about this ๐Ÿ™‚ I've always wanted a lemon tree, so I decided to just stick some lemon seeds in some little pots of mud and see what would happen. So much better than my spring and summer plants did. I really think that autumn is going to be an awesome veggie season for me. I have a total of 6 tomato plants in the garden right now. The one on the left is my roma tomato plant and it . […]

  5. Deslily, Well I try really hard to get the words just right all for you :p

    Jeane, OMG I so do!!! They’re such evil little worms!! They ate ALL of my green onions ๐Ÿ˜ฆ And they’ve been growing from seed ever since April T_T Evil things! All the bells I had been getting until now were really small too…they’re just starting to get bigger with the cooler weather coming!

    Peta, Thanks!! I know! I’m super happy with the way that things are starting to come along now. I’m so happy that I really dug into gardening this year. It’s been fantastic. Oh and square foot gardening is so easy and so much fun! They even sell prefabricated kits for it now! That’s what I bought! Went together so easily.

  6. Just planting tomatoes in September. I’m so jealous of all your gardening seasons! You’re starting a lemon tree, meanwhile I’m trying to figure out where I’m going to put my dwarf key lime inside for the winter ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Ooooh, I’m so excited to see that your flowers are sprouting up! Can’t wait to see the glorious hodgepodge of beauty you’re going to have before long! ๐Ÿ˜€ And your peppers…mmmmmm…

  8. A friend and I actually planted a garden yesterday (my mom just about fell out of her chair when she heard that news). I hope we have as much luck as you’re having!

Leave a Reply

