Saturday Farmer's Market – 9/18/10

As always, the wonderful Heather is hosting Saturday Farmer’s Market and I’m giving you my weekly roundup of what’s going on in the garden. My garden’s going through a big change this week! I don’t have that many pictures to share this time, but thought I’d give you just a play by play on what’s going on. Sadly, I do have this picture of what has happened to my sunflowers:

Yep, they were all drooping and dying and their petals were shriveling up and sadly, they weren’t producing any seeds šŸ˜¦ So up they came and they’ve now all been composted. I was really sad to see them go. They were such a beautiful addition to the garden. I don’t know if I’m going to do the big sunflowers again next year. I may just do the smaller ones that I used for cut flowers. They produced some really beautiful colors, lasted longer, and the bees absolutely loved them!! But here’s a list of what else is going on in the garden:

  • In place of the sunflowers, I’ve planted a whole bunch of flower seeds! I’ve decided that the little 7 foot bed where the sunflowers were will be a permanent little flower bed for bright splashy flowers. Now, the flower bed I planted may be a total disaster since I literally just sprinkled shit loads of seeds there :p But hopefully it’ll be a beautiful disaster and they all don’t just choke each other. I sprinkled seeds of black eye susans, chamomile, zinnias, coreopsis and calendula. I have some cosmos, echinacea (white), love lies bleeding, and hollyhock seeds on the way too! It’s going to be a CRAZY flower garden :p But I like beautiful chaos.
  • The black eyed peas are still doing beautifully, but I think there time is coming soon. We’re slowly starting to run low on pods on the plants. I’m hoping they’re done by October, because I plan on using the bed that they’re in to plant some seeds of spinach! It’s going to be my little spinach garden.
  • My pepper plants are still doing wonderful! In fact, the jalapeno plant is giving me so many jalapenos that I decided to stuff some today! I just mixed some cream cheese with chives, onions and bacon and stuffed jalapeno halves and baked them at 375 for about 25 minutes. Talk about good!
  • The tomato plants that I had bought awhile ago were looking REALLY bad! I think they had blight. So they came up today and I planted 4 new plants that looked much healthier…so those got added to my two other plants, giving me 6 different varieties of tomatoes growing now! We have, creoles, better boys, celebritys, early girls, romas, and solar fires. Can’t wait to see them all!
  • When I ordered my flower seeds from an etsy seller, she sent me a sample pack of rattlesnake beans! Which are a type of snap bean that are green with purple stripes. I did some research and they’re supposed to grow well down here and have a great sweet taste to them. And the beans themselves are gorgeous. So I planted a bunch of them! They’re a pole bean, so today I built teepees for them out of 6 foot bamboo rods. Love the way the garden looks with those in them šŸ™‚
  • And I think that’s about all the news :p Aside from little things like my turnips seem to be doing great as are the basil that I planted from seed and the carrots are coming up too! Ooooh, and I have another little white eggplant growing and I thought that plant was done!

So what’s going on in your garden?? Click on the link above to let Heather know so that we can all know too!

3 Responses

  1. rattlesnake beans… i think I never would buy those just because of the name! but I hope they do good for you and you get enough for a few good meals!

    (you planted “a shitload” of seeds.. ahem, that would be MY son alright! Descriptve as all hell! lol lol)

  2. Sounds like someone has truly been bitten by the gardening bug!! šŸ˜€

  3. Ahhh…bye bye sunflowers. šŸ˜¦ But I can’t wait to see your crazy new flower garden! It will be positively gorgeous, I just know it!!!! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

