BBAW – Unexpected Treasures

So there’s this little thing going on right now called Book Blogger Appreciation Week. Amy (our beautiful My Friend Amy) has put this on for our community yet again this year and I can’t even imagine the hours that she puts into this. My life has been SO busy this year and work has just been awful lately and I didn’t think I was going to have time to truly participate in BBAW. But after reading all of today’s amazing posts in the book blogging world, my heart was warmed and I just had to get my own post out there too 🙂 All these posts are just reminding me of what I love so much about book blogging. Connections. The question for the day asks us to share a book or genre that we tried due to the influence of another blogger. And I could seriously pick one of 200 books probably!

I’ve noticed that since I started blogging, I rely almost exclusively on book bloggers for what I read. And not intentionally either. This is why. I consider so many of you my friends. True friends. When I went to visit Debi in New York, I told her that when I found out that The Stand by Stephen King was her favorite book, I stopped reading anything about it because I didn’t want to know anything going into it. I didn’t want anything to be spoiled. Now I’m in the middle of that book and I’m loving it!! I didn’t want to read that book because I thought I should….I wanted to read it because I really like Debi and have come to value what she thinks about books and it sounded really damn good! And it is, by the way!

The most recent example of a book I’ve fallen in love with due to a friend would be The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, I think. And that was all because of Heather’s amazing review of it. Which is funny because she didn’t even love it. She didn’t know what she felt about the book at first! But once again, it’s the connection that I’ve come to have with Heather that made me want to read the book. She’s one of my favorite bloggers. And she just made the book sound SO interesting that even if it wasn’t for her, it spoke to me…something that so many bloggers have the power to do. You know it’s getting bad when I’m adding books to my list that other bloggers don’t even like :p Anyway, Lemon Cake will end up on my favorites of the year and I wouldn’t have even read it had it not been for Heather!

And then there’s Ana. Oh Ana. I met Ana during the first Once Upon a Time challenge and just felt an instant connection with her. We like the same music, have very similar taste in books..similar ideas on life. She’s just such an awesome person! Well, let me tell you she’s really BAD on the pocketbook. But I don’t know what I’d do without her. She’s singlehandedly expanded my taste in books (and my bookshelves) more than anyone. Nearly everything that gets reviewed on her blog gets added to my wishlist. And I’m always so thankful for those reviews. And just for any time I get to talk to Ana.

You see…I love this community. I have since day one. Well actually I didn’t know what I was getting myself into on day one. I had started reading Carl’s blog and decided that I wanted a blog too. So I started one. And then people started reading it and soon I had stumbled upon a community of book bloggers! What?!?! Other people to talk about books to!!?? This is amazing!!! And I haven’t fallen out of love since. Yes there have been trials and tribulations. There have been times of frustration…of pettiness..but I have my anchors. People who keep me in love with this community, a community that’s truly wonderful as a whole. Thanks Amy..for this week and for all you do.

7 Responses

  1. oooh I might have to read The Stand!!! And you made me want to read Lemon Cake as well…hope to do so soon. 🙂

  2. What a wonderful post Chris! 🙂

  3. Yep, I’m just like you–my book reading choices come almost entirely from book bloggers these days. Not because I try to make it that way. At all. In fact, I made one of my 50×50 goals to try to read more books I discover on my own. 😉 It’s just that there’s these totally incredible people out there that I now count among the very best friends I’ve had in all my life (people like you and Ana and…) And I’ve come to understand how our taste in books match up and those few areas where they don’t. You know, I can trust that I’ll never be steered wrong. And then you add in all these incredible reviews being written by people I don’t know all that well…I’m forever being introduced to books I’ve never heard of before. There’s just something so irresistibly contagious about the enthusiasm of book bloggers. 🙂 I just wish so much that there were more hours in the day. I feel like I miss so much by not being able to read more blogs, because there are just so many incredible people out there. Luckily I have you to make sure I don’t miss out on some of them–like Heather–seriously, how could I not have been reading her blog until just recently–I totally get why she’s one of your favorite bloggers! Sorry, here I am babbling again…I can’t help it though–because book bloggers are simply the best!!!

  4. what?! you get most of your books from other bloggers?!! to hell you say!! lol (I didn’t get over 100 tbr books any other way! sheesh.)

  5. Excellent choices, Chris! These folks are all faves of mine, too. 😀

  6. Any community is going to have frustrations and pettiness and fights and forgiveness. It is all part of what makes the good times so very, very good! I’m glad I had a small part in launching you into this wonderful, madcap world of book blogging. Danielle at A Work in Progress did that for me and the fact that I have been able to and still can pay it forward makes me very happy indeed. I’ve met so many wonderful people, yourself included, and that has been the greatest part of this experience.

  7. Amy, Both are fantastic books! Even though I haven’t finished The Stand yet, I can tell it’ll be one for the win column. And Lemon Cake is just freaking amazing!! Thanks again for all you do for us, Amy 🙂

    Amanda, Thanks 😀

    Debi, I love it when you babble!!! Never stop babbling!!! I’m so with you though Debi…I don’t know what I’d do without all of these wonderful recommendations. You know, I think about that some times…I wonder what the hell I’d be reading these days if I never discovered book blogging…that would be interesting!

    Deslily, What, you didn’t know that? 😉 Yep, them bloggers can be a HORRIBLE influence! BAD BLOGGERS!

    Andi, I hope you know that you’re always on my list of favorite bloggers too! And have been since the beginning. This is only a very small sample of some of my favs 🙂

    Carl, You had a HUGE part of launching me into book blogging! If it weren’t for you I don’t know that I would’ve ever started blogging! It was you that made me want to be a part of this community. Showed me that it was indeed a community. Thanks for that 🙂

Leave a Reply

