Time For Bad Bloggers: 9/12/10

Yep…they’re starting to pile up again around here, so it’s looking like I’m going to have to get a bad bloggers post up and dish out some blame where it’s warranted :p So let’s get this started!

1. Woman: An Intimate Geography by Natalie Angier Ana reviewed this one a few weeks ago and it sounded incredible. But then again, everything she reviews sounds incredible. Point to Ana. (Paperback Swap)

2. Empress of the World by Sara Ryan – Another point for Ana. I had actually NEVER heard of this book before…which surprised me. But then a few people reviewed it all within a few days. Even though she didn’t fall in love with it, it still sounded like something I’d really like. Point to Ana. (Paperback Swap)

3. The Quiet Room by Lori Schiller – This one sounds really cool. It’s a book about mental illness. And I just love reading first hand accounts of mental illness. I learn so much from those! And I would’ve never heard of this had it not been for Jeane! Point to Jeane. (Paperback Swap)

4. Room by Emma Donoghue – O.M.G. this book was so FREAKING good!!!!! You can read my review as I’ve already devoured it!!! It was Aarti’s review though that convinced me that I absolutely had to get my hands on this one! So she’s getting a point! (Bought it)

5. Skinny Dipping in the Lake of the Dead by Alan Deniro – Still really don’t know much about this collection of stories but it sounds really good! All I know is that his stories are supposed to be similar to Aimee Bender….And I found this book on Paperback Swap! (Paperback Swap)

6. Taproots by William O’Hanlon – This is just a counseling resource that looked really good…doubt it would interest many other people unless you want to learn about cognitive behavioral therapy and hypnosis :p (Bought it)

7. The Crash of Hennington by Patrick Ness – Because I’m just CRAVING more Patrick Ness recently and I can’t wait for his next book, so I’m going back to his books BEFORE the Chaos Walking series came out 🙂 This is an adult fiction book. (Paperback Swap)

8. Labor Day by Joyce Maynard – I had a $50 Amazon gift certificate to spend from credit card rewards so this and the next 4 books all came from that! I don’t know much about this book either, but heard about it somewhere and it sounded pretty good. So I gots it! (Bought it with a gift card)

9. The Full Spectrum ed. by David Levithan – SO excited about this one. David Levithan does some of the most amazing stuff. This book is a collection written by teens about LGBTQ issues. It features essays, fiction, poetry, art and photography. A big mixed media book. How cool  is that? (Bought it with a gift card)

10. The Magic Toyshop by Angela Carter – I feel horrible!! This is totally someone’s fault from WAY back in the day but I don’t remember who’s!! So many people have read this one at this point! Really I just wanted to read more Angela Carter and this one just sounds absolutely incredible!! (Bought it with a gift card)

11. St. Lucy’s Home For Girl’s Raised by Wolves by Karen Russell – Ok..this one sounds so incredible and I’m SO in love with that cover!! I just stumbled across this one on Amazon. It actually reminds me a bit of Carter’s The Bloody Chamber! It’s fairy tales with a bit of an adult twist. (Bought it with a gift card)

12. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley – Another one that it seems like EVERYONE has read…everyone but me it seems. And I didn’t think I was ever going to read this one…that is until Daphne at Somewhere I Have Never Travelled just recently read it. And then it went right onto my wishlist. So a point goes to Daphne! (Bought it with a gift card)

13. Lying on the Couch by Irvin Yalom – Because I just really like Yalom’s books…this one is actually another novel that he wrote! (Paperback Swap)

14 Responses

  1. Ooh, looks like I missed being blamed for two of those by mere days… 😀

  2. There are some fantastic books on that list. I think Ana would be high-up on my blamelist as well when it comes to what books are on my wishlist.

  3. you never cease to amaze me! there can’t possibly be more room on the bookshelves can there? *chuckling as I wrote that!*

  4. Well, you’re not the only one left to read Sweetness…though it’s been on my shelf for quite some time. And I’ve been craving Patrick Ness, too–but I think what I’m craving is reading the Chaos Walking books over again. 😉

    I really, really need to write up a blame post–I’ve still never finished posting all the books I got from when you were here. And of course, they’ve continued sneaking their way into the house ever since…

  5. I think I’m going to bite the bullet and download ROOM when I get my next paycheck. My library doesn’t have it, and I can’t wait much longer!

  6. I just learned about ROOM from Jill at Fizzy Thoughts and WOW does it sound good. Hers was a teaser post so I quickly skimmed your review and it sounds amazing. Bradley is also on my wishlist–I’ve been hearing great things about his books lately.

  7. I ordered in St. Lucy’s Home For Girl’s Raised by Wolves by Karen Russell a while ago. Unfortunately I just didn’t find the time for it before it got boxed up and is now awaiting delivery to the branch library 😦
    Still I will get around to recalling it at some point because it sounds great.

  8. I can’t wait to read Room!

  9. That’s right, blame poor Ana when she’s not online to defend herself…

    …What am I saying, she deserves every point she gets! 😉

    I’ve got The Magic Toyshop out from the library, looking forward to reading it fairly soon!

  10. Yay! for the second time ever, I’m among the bad bloggers! Why do I feel so priviledged? I’ve been wanting to read the Home for Girls Raised by Wolves, too.

  11. II just got my own copy of Empress of World. And yes, I definitely want to read ROOM as well. Zomg. So freaky ssoundin’.

  12. I am going to getting ROOM, too. I should go see if it came in the mail today!

  13. Go read Woman right now! I’m serious! :p

  14. Now are you absolutely sure that my review of St. Lucy’s Home wasn’t a teensyweensy bit influential? I would love to be a bad blogger… but I so rarely read books before YOU do! Eva’s review of Woman was fabulous – you better do what she says.

Leave a Reply

