Saturday Farmer's Market On Sunday: 9/12/10

So I’m a day late on Heather’s Saturday Farmer’s Market. I had every intention of getting my post up on Saturday, but the day just seemed to slip away from me. Days seem to do that sometimes. But at least I’m getting the post up, right? Here’s a gallery of what’s going on in my garden followed by a description of what these pictures are:

1. My Sapphire Showers tree was getting out of control and not looking so hot. It was growing all wily and just needed to be pruned I think, so I did that today and I’m quite happy with how it turned out πŸ˜€ I think it’s looking much better. After I took this picture, I repotted it and it was really rootbound in that pot. Poor plant 😦 It really needed some TLC and luckily it got it today. Hoping it starts doing much better now! The bees have been enjoying it lately with all of those pretty purple flowers!

2. These are my little strawberry plants. I started out with 4 plants all in that one strawberry planter and now I have more plants than I know what to do with!! When the weather cools off I should start getting strawberries again. I’m going to cut them back again soon. The thing that cracks me up about these guys is that they grow runners and plant themselves in other plants!!! See all of those other plants in the other pots? I didn’t plant those there! They planted themselves!! Those pots were just sitting there with other things in them before that have since died and now I’m just letting them be new strawberry plants :p

3. These are my black eyed peas which are still producing producing producing! You can see all of the little bean pods on the plants here. This is about 10 plants that you see here in this picture just all tangled together. I’m thinking they have maybe two weeks left worth of beans and then it’ll probably be time for them to come up.

4. The biggest sunflower of them all!! This one has finally opened up! This one is really tall! Probably about 10 feet tall. It’s the last of my sunflowers to open and just so beautiful. I’ve already had to pull out three of my sunflowers. It doesn’t look like I’m going to get any seeds out of them either…they’re dying too early before they can even start to make seed 😦 Maybe it’s too hot? I don’t know. So I’ve just been pulling them out as they die. The big ones that is. They didn’t last long, but they were beautiful! The little sunflowers are still doing fantastic though! I’m loving them. And there are tons opening every day. I’ve cut a bouquet for our house so far and a bouquet for my grandma today..she loved them πŸ™‚

5. My pepper plants are producing!!! Like crazy now too!! I guess they know that Fall is on the way. Here’s one of the many little peppers that I have growing in the garden.

6. This is one of my absolute favorite photos!! You may have to click on it to make it bigger. We have SO MANY little baby anole lizards in our gardens!!! They’re just loving all the little bugs in there. There are tons of them in the black eyed peas and in our pepper plants. And they’re so darn cute!!!! Look at this little guy πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

7. Here’s my cajun bell pepper plant which has 4 bell peppers growing on it now! I can’t wait until these get big and we can try them to see just *how* spicy they are exactly. They look like a cross between a banana pepper and a bell pepper.

8. Here’s another favorite photo. This is my jalapeno plant and it is LOADED with jalapenos right now which makes me so happy!! I love jalapeno peppers! I think they’re so delicious and there’s so many many delicious things you can do with them!! But if you look closely at this picture, you’ll see another little anole lizard sitting on top of the big jalapeno right in the front of the picture. That shows you how little these guys are πŸ˜€ Aren’t they adorable????

9. Look what I did on Monday!! Yep, I put in a whole new garden next to my existing one! And guess what Heather? It’s a square foot garden πŸ˜€ They actually sell official square foot garden kits now at Home Depot. It was so easy to put together. You don’t even need tools. I used an organic soil mix to fill it and added a bag of humus and manure. Yeah, it smelled great :p The plants seem to love it as I have stuff popping up like crazy already!! I planted two more tomato plants (one celebrity and one creole), two squares of green beans from my own saved seed that I don’t know if they’re going to come up or not :(, two squares of provider beans that I bought (they’re purple beans!), two squares of basil from seed that I harvested myself!!, 4 squares of carrots and 4 squares of turnips!

10. Here’s one of the squares of turnips just 5 days after I planted the seeds!!! I used Martha Stewart’s organic seeds. They’re white top purple turnips. We LOVE turnips down here in the south…they’re delicious in a vegetable stew or cooked down smothered with pork chops…And it looks like we’ll have tons of them!!

11. And here’s a picture of the whole row which has filled itself already!! I already had to thin them. I tried my best to only put a couple of seeds in each hole, but it looks like every damn seed came up!! I had a hell of a time thinning those tiny seeds. I’m really going to be in trouble when the carrots come up because I put way too many seeds in those holes :/

12. These are the purple green bean seeds! Well, I don’t know if I can call them green beans or not! I have no idea what they’ll look like. They’re seeds that I got off of Etsy awhile back called “provider beans” I think I remember the beans being green. And they’re a bush bean. I just LOVE fresh string beans right off the bush. Nothing better than that. Can’t wait until they grow. They all came up within 4 or 5 days!! I just wish my seeds that I saved myself from my whole foods beans would’ve come up 😦 I haven’t given up yet though.

13. Here’s a little tiny basil plant coming up!! There are about 6 of them in total that have come up already!! I was so pleasantly surprised when they sprouted!! I was so excited too because these were the first seeds that I ever harvested myself after getting a tutorial from Jeane on how to do it on her blog!! I’m drying out some more basil flower heads right now to get some more seed! I still have plenty left too! I just love basil so much.

14. I just decided to throw in a picture of my green onions because I don’t think I’ve ever shown a picture of them :p Right now they’re way over crowded…they always have been. I put WAY too many seeds in this pot when I planted them. But they’ve sort of killed each other off. They’re finally getting to the point now where we’ve been able to start picking some and using them and they’re really delicious!! Home grown really is so much better tasting than store bought.

15. And finally, I wanted to show you this. This is about how many black eyed pea pods I harvest each day from the garden. I’m learning to appreciate the cost of produce much more!! Especially organic produce! I can’t believe that beans are as cheap as they are for as few as you get per plant!!! Or I should say for as many as you need to make a meal for a family compared to what a plant can provide.

5 Responses

  1. great pics Chris!!. I love the lizard shot! I wish I had the green ones here I have the brown ones and they breed faster than the Moorhens!

    I’m with you I love turnips and rhudabega, I love them both! Many don’t like them but I do! Your garden is doing wonderful!!! I am so glad you enjoy gardening!

  2. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ What a bunch of beautiful, beautiful pictures!!! You’ve got so much green still going on there! Things here are definitely on their way out…though we’ve still got bunches and bunches of tomatoes left to ripen.

    I love that little anole!!! He’s so stinkin’ cute…I wish we had them here!

  3. Wow, look at all your stuff growing! I wish I had little lizards in my garden. The closest I can come to that is mantids, but I don’t see them very often. There’s lots of farming land not too far from my town and I see offers on craigslist all the time of free manure, but my husband refuses to let me haul manure in our new(ish) car ha ha. So I’ve given up on that idea for now. Maybe I should just go buy a bag from Home Depot, I never really thought of that. I bet the plants would love it.

  4. Deslily, Thanks! I love these little lizards πŸ˜€ the fun thing about them is that they can turn themselves brown!! It’s all depending on what they’re sitting on. If they’re on something brown, they turn brown! We don’t have the big brown ones though. Yeah, the lizards do breed like crazy!

    Debi, Thank you πŸ˜€ Everything is actually getting MORE green now!! It’s getting to be growing season again down here now that we’re getting out of the hottest part of the year. It’s really sad that everything is on it’s way out there though 😦 I wish you had some anole’s too!!

    Jeane, It’s growing great recently!! I’ve been having so much fun watching everything. I wish I could send you some lizards :p You should totally go get some free manure!!! Just don’t tell your husband, lol…have them double bag it and it won’t get in the car!

  5. Nice garden Chris! I did a bit of gardening this weekend. I bought a few additional herbs (thyme, oregano, rosemary). They seem to be doing well after my root separation and transplant into separate pots; the oregano looked iffy for the first day, but seems to be recovering nicely. My husband bought a teeny little parsley plant that, I swear, visibly grew since Saturday! And my happiest purchase is my strawberry plant! Glad to hear that it will spread itself so I can have more berries :o)

Leave a Reply

