It's RIP Time!!! What Are YOU Reading?

It’s the MOST wonderful time…of the year….Well for me at least 🙂 I just love Halloween to pieces and with this time of the year comes my favorite reading challenge of the year, the Readers Imbibing Peril Challenge FIVE. Can you believe it’s the Fifth RIP already??? And as always, it’s hosted by the amazing Carl over at Stainless Steel Droppings, one of my very favorite bloggers. My goal is to read nothing but spooky books for the months of September and October! Now I’m in the middle of Mockingjay and Heirloom right now, so those won’t count, but Curse of the Wolfgirl and The Stand certainly will count! And here’s a GIANT pool of other books that I’ll be dipping into for the next two months…though I certainly won’t be reading all of these:

Did you expect anything less from me? I thought not :p Plus I have a few preorders on the way that I’ll want to read…..yeah…we’ll see how many I actually get read, lol.

31 Responses

  1. Holy crap! Looking at your book images makes me drool and quiver with excitement!!! You know, of course, that I am completely cool with you counting books you are already reading but haven’t finished. I was looking at my Nightmares and Fairy Tales single issues the other day and was thinking of re-reading them sometime soon. Out is awesome! Alchemy of Stone is filled with such delicious melancholy. And so many more look so great. Thanks for joining in again this year, Chris, and thanks for your excitement. 🙂

  2. This is the first list that I’ve seen that comes close to the length of mine. Awesome! I hope you fully enjoy the next two months!

  3. Oh Chris, I’m swooning here. Swooning. What an awesome pile of books to choose from! I have to admit that I’m a wee bit upset with myself for weeding down my pile so much…every time I see someone’s list and it has books on it that I weeded out, I feel like I robbed myself. Yep, Come Closer and Pedro Paramo both have me pouting now. But I really need to stop whining here–after all, lists are made to be added to, right? 😛

    I really, really, really hope you have a chance to dip into Daphne du Maurier’s Classics of the Macabre! That is my favorite book of short stories ever!

  4. I started reading Mister B. Gone and it was kind of stupid. I’m interested for someone else to read it to see if it gets any better, because I don’t want to keep reading it. The rest of this list looks FABULOUS though! I really want to read the Terror, but my copy is so huge!

  5. Great lsit of books! Stiff and In Cold Blood are both must-reads!

  6. Love that list! I hope you enjoy Bluenose Ghosts. There are some stories in there that I still think about.

  7. So many good books here! Puppet Master! Blue is for Nightmares! Jamaica Inn! Shirley Jackson! 😀 I’m actually considering doing the same thing and mostly reading RIP books for the next two months. Except Bleak House, which I have no choice in, plus my book club books, and right now I’m rereading the Hunger Games trilogy (again). But other than that, my plans are tending more towards the spooky the next two months!

  8. good lord chris lol… have enough to choose from? lol.. Ohhh I have the Terror on my list also but all the books I have are huge!! I’ll be lucky if I read more than one lol…

  9. I think you’re missing a handful more :p I’ve read six from your pool and those were awesome reads (Stiff, Interview with the Vampire, In Cold Blood, A Study in Scarlet, Voice of Our Shadow and Wolf Moon). With your pool I’m reminded I do have a copy of Jamaica Inn and The Beekeeper’s Apprentice too 🙂 I’m sure you’ll have fun reading these (and probably the handful of others you forgot to add, LOL) in two months 🙂

  10. Fantastic looking pool you’ve got there! I’m hoping to do some Cherie Priest reading myself as I’ve had Dreadful Skin on my shelf for over a year. (And that’s not to mention the ARC of Dreadnought I keep putting off – simply because I don’t want to read it and be done with it. I know: weird. 🙂 )

  11. WOW Chris! Ambitious much?? LOL What a fantastic looking pile of books you have there! I have no doubt you are in for an amazing RIP this year! Have fun and enjoy all those books!

  12. You’ve not read The Savage yet? That one really needs to be one of your picks!

    And I’d love to see what you think of We Have Always Lived in the Castle…

  13. hmm, i’ve read 9 of your pool! And Beloved is in my list too! Glad someone else figures it counts for the challenge!

  14. FANTASTIC list Chris! I just posted my list, but I might just have to wander over and choose some books from your list too! I can not believe how insanely excited I get over this each year 🙂

  15. Ooh ooh! Stiff! And Ooh ooh In Cold Blood! Grrrreat books listed here, and I can’t wait to see what you embark upon!

  16. This list is pure temptation!! I will be referencing it for sure!!

  17. I love your pool! So many awesome books!

    I’ve been craving ghost stories ever since I read Carl’s intro post. I’m going to have to see if I can borrow an anthology or two from the library. Otherwise, I’ll dip into the wealth of free (and legal) horror available online.

  18. Love your pile! Cherie Priest is a new favorite after reading Boneshaker. I’m compiling my own R.I.P. list and will be adding Beloved to it. Happy reading.

  19. Wow! So many great books, Chris. I thinks I’m going to have to add some more titles to my list…

  20. Impressive list! I love seeing what everyone ends up reading. Good luck!

  21. Ooo, In Cold Blood *shivers*. Oh, that book scared me for months. I still get the terrors thinking about it, especially at night. What a great list!

  22. I read Jamaica Inn this year and was underwhelmed. However, Out by Natsuo Kirino is really good, but not super-spooky (more of a murder myster/thriller). But still worth reading, definitely. And I loved Stiff and In Cold Blood. I think I’m inspired to join this challenge!

  23. Hahaha, you are ambitious! I like it! I’m planning to read the Stolarz books for this challenge too, if I can get them. They are always checked out of the library and lots of holds on them. :/

  24. Such amazing choices, Chris!

    Beloved, In Cold Blood, We Have Always Lived in the Castle and Affinity are all on my list of favourite books of all-time.

    I’m compiling my list but Shirley Jackson and Natsuo Kirino will both feature.

  25. It’s RIP time? I’ve been gone THAT much??? What a stack!! I LOVE Jamaica Inn. It’s one of my all-time favorite DuMaurier books. You’ll enjoy it, I think.

  26. You have Graham Joyce on your list! Yay!!! 😀 😀 And omg Faerie Tale! I haven’t read that for years! Your list makes me go *_* – lol ❤

  27. So many fun books to choose from, I’m really looking forward to your reviews. I hope to spend some time rereading all of Anne Rice’s novels at some point. I just love her 🙂

  28. That’s quite the pile, Chris! There’s a few on there I wouldn’t mind reading myself… Let me know if you are interested in a joint review. We haven’t done anything together in a while!

  29. RIP is getting away from me and I still don’t know what I’m reading!

  30. Chris, what an amazing pile of books! I swear I started drooling halfway through the pile, because as always, some look so darned good and I haven’t heard of them. At least I am not the only one with over 20 books in their pile to read! lol “It’s the most wonderful time to read ghost stories, of the year”……I’ve been trying to find a copy of Faerie Tale for ages, lucky you! And Dreamside, which looks so very good. Lovely selection! I’m glad to see you have The Terror there, I hope you enjoy it, it was my book of the year two years ago. I almost want to reread it again, just because it was so good and scary. I have Cherie Priest too on my pile because of you! So at least we are contributing to each other’s bookaholic cravings! lol happy reading, Chris 😀

  31. Wow you have some wonderful books there! I loved Anne Rice’s The Witching Hour, Natsuo Kirino’s Out and Sarah Waters’ Affinity. All incredibly well-written books. There are some title I haven’t come across so am off to check them!

Leave a Reply

