Saturday Farmer's Market – 8/28/10

It’s that time of the week again…time for a garden update again. I’m actually thinking of possibly putting in another 4×4 bed this weekend. Most everything in my current 4×4 bed can stay in until December and I have a bunch of stuff I want to plant coming up in September…stuff like green beans, turnips, carrots, kohlrabi, and spinach in October. So I’m going to need some more room! But for now, this is what’s going on:

We have black eyed peas growing like crazy!! I’m really excited about these because they’re the first bean or pea that I’ve ever grown before with any success. Technically, I could pick a bunch of these right now and eat them fresh, but I don’t think there are enough of them to have a whole pot of fresh black eyed peas, so I’m going to harvest them dried. I learned that if you want to harvest them dry, you actually let the whole pod dry on the plant. When the pods turn yellow or brown, then you pick them and shell them! So that’s what I’m going to do.

My sunflowers are finally starting to bloom!! So far only two have bloomed, but there are tons of buds just waiting to unfold. The picture on the left is one of the smaller sunflowers. These are just going to be gorgeous because they come in all different sorts of shades and grow multiple heads per plant. The one on the right is one of the mammoth sunflower heads and this one is just partially opened. It still actually has a LOT of growing to do! As you can see, it still hasn’t formed it’s black center and isn’t near it’s expected 1 foot diameter that’s eventually expected. And as of right now, it’s already as tall as the fence as you can see in the picture! They’re just so beautiful. I really love these flowers!! So glad I decided to grow them. And I have a whole garden of them πŸ˜€

My pepper plant is looking so darn healthy, I just wish it would actually do something! It’s so very green and loaded with flowers! I don’t know if we have a cool front coming through or what, butΒ  temps are supposed to be in the 80’s this week instead of the normal 90’s that we’ve been having, so maybe that will allow some of these flowers to actually make peppers. We’ll see. My jalapeno peppers are finally doing well again. I didn’t think it would come back after a tomato hornworm ate half of the plant, but it has and I have a couple of little jalapenos growing. So that’s good.

And finally, here’s a look at the whole main garden since it’s been tidied up. Yep, the big change you’ll notice is that my beloved okra plant is gone. It’s now in the compost bin. It had done it’s job. It was now producing these little tiny okra that weren’t doing much or gigantic tough okra, so it came up. In it’s place and in some extra space, I planted four new tomato plants for my fall crop of tomatoes. We’ll see if I have better luck with these than I did with my summer crop. I just got started way too late this summer. It was too hot for my poor tomatoes 😦

As always, Saturday Farmer’s Market is hosted by Heather, the Capricious Reader. If you have a gardening post to share, please link your post to her site!!

7 Responses

  1. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ It’s all so freakin’ gorgeous!!! I’ve never seen black-eyed peas growing in their pods before…mmmmmm…they’re going to be so delicious! And your sunflowers…oh-so-beautiful! I really wish I’d planted some. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for your peppers!

  2. Your sunflowers are so beautiful! I planted a variety pack, which was supposed to come up with orange, bold red and dark maroon ones. So far only the maroon flowers have opened, and they look glum. I wanted brighter colors!

  3. Beautiful!! Especially your sunflowers! It’s like it’s sideways winking at me! πŸ™‚ It’s all Emoticon!!! lol

    Peas are yucky, but I’m glad you’re so excited! My fam would be too. Yuck.

    I’m getting ready to plant some fall crops too. I’m so excited!

  4. Debi, Well thank you!! I’m so so so excited about my black-eyed peas! I picked one yesterday just to see the beans and they’re so neat with their little black eyes!! I just love them πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to eat them. And I’m totally loving my sunflowers. I have a little maroon one about to open up in the little sunflower row πŸ™‚

    Jeane, Thank you!! I really like your sunflowers!! I think they’re quite pretty πŸ™‚ In fact, I got really excited because I have one that looks like it’s about to open up and it reminded me of yours because it’s all maroony! I’ll definitely have to send you some Mammoth seeds for next year if you want some! I think you’d love those!

    Heather, Thanks πŸ˜€ It’s totally sideways winking at you…it told me so :p Oh but have you had black-eyed peas??? I hate peas with a passion, but these are like beans and they’re SO SO good!! Can’t wait for my fall crops to get in the ground. I couldn’t plant any this weekend because it just rained all damn weekend 😦

  5. My jalapeno plant is FINALLY looking less sick. Lots of flowers, no peppers yet. I hold out hope for it when the cold weather hits.

  6. I also got problems like that Andi. My peppers are having flowers but didn’t produce any peppers since I’ve been planted it. I don’t know what the reason is. I just hope that my peppers will get well soon.

  7. My tomatoes are dried up too. The total heat really affects my plants and it made it dried to death. Now that fall is coming I just hope that my flowers can survive.

Leave a Reply

