Bad Bloggers: The Damage Part 1

So I’m dividing this Bad Bloggers post up into two posts :/ Yep it’s that bad. These are mostly all of the books that I got from my trip to New York when I went to visit Debi and family. I had to ship them home in a box and they arrived already!! Some of them I had acquired before the trip, but the majority of them….yeah…I got them there. So here are the first fifteen books and I’ll post the rest of the books on Sunday!

1. I’ll Get There. It Better Be Worth The Trip by John Donovan – This one just sounded really good so I preordered it! It’s a classic LGBT book that was just recently reissued in this nice new format. Looking forward to reading this one. (Bought it)

2. Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One Before by David Yoo – This one was one of the books from the first Nerds Heart YA tournament and I’ve been wanting to read it ever since. Just sounds like a good one. (Paperback Swap)

3. The Unwritten Volume 2: Inside Man by Mike Carey – Oh man this was an awesome book!! Really excellent graphic novel series and if you’re not reading it yet, you really should be!! I already read this one and reviewed it yesterday. (Bought it)

4. The Girl in the Flammable Skirt by Aimee Bender – The first of many books that I bought in New York :p After reading The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake I just had to have more Aimee Bender. And this was all that I could find. It’s a collection of her stories and despite it being a bit bizarre at times, I enjoyed it. I already reviewed this one too. You can check out my review here. (Bought it)

5. After the First Death by Robert Cormier – I’m in the middle of this one right now and damn it’s a cool book! It’s about a bus that’s taken hostage and about those who are holding it hostage and those trying to free the kids inside and make negotiations. Debi told me about this book while we were shopping at Borders so she’s totally getting the blame for it! (Bought it)

6. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – I guess I don’t really need much of an excuse for this one, huh? I just preordered it. I started this one but haven’t read much of it yet. Dare I say that I haven’t been all that excited about it? *ducks tomatoes* Maybe once I get into it I’ll get more excited! (Bought it)

7. My Queer War by James Lord – I bought this one in the used section of Debi’s Barnes and Nobles. Yes they have a used section at their B&N!! I was originally just drawn by the title of this book and then read about it and damn it sounds good. It’s about a gay soldier during WWII. When you think of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell now, just imagine what it must have been like back then. I can’t wait to read this!! (Bought it)

8. The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett – Ok, so I was introduced to the most INCREDIBLE little used bookstore while I was in New York and went just a little crazy while I was there. I bought 14 books for $62 dollars! And all in perfect condition!! This was one of them. I’ve heard great things about Hammett and Nancy told me that she thinks I’ll really like this one, so I got it! (Bought it)

9. Choke by Chuck Palahniuk – So for this one I’m giving a point to my friend Rachel that I work with. I wanted to read a book about sex addicts and she recommended this one. It’s a long story, but we have a compulsive behavior program at the psyc hospital that I work with and I was asking about sex addicts anonymous and she asked if I’d ever read this. I said no and she recommended it! So point to Rachel! (Bought it)

10. Owls and Other Fantasies by Mary Oliver – So very happy about this book. After reading Thirst by Oliver, I fell in love with her poetry and wanted more more more. The title of this book appealed to me more than any of her other work and I found it at Barnes and Noble! I can’t wait to enjoy these 🙂 (Bought it)

11. The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer – Sweet sweet Debi gave all of us a book one night as a present and this is what she picked for me! She couldn’t have picked a better book as this book reminds me so much of DEWEY. I remember Dewey reviewing this ages ago. I remember her review specifically. So Dewey will be getting a point for this one and I’ll think of her when I read it. (Gift from a friend)

12. The Poems of Sappho – I was so very happy to find this book!! It’s a little treasure! It’s from 1965 and it’s in near perfect condition. I found it at that little used bookstore. I’ve always loved Sappho. Well, since I discovered her in my Ancient Greek Literature course during my freshman year of college. I really can’t tell you how excited I am about this little book!!

13. French Dirt: The Story of a Garden in the South of France by Richard Goodman – I’m about to give a point to Debi for this book, but I won’t since she hasn’t heard of this one either :p But as if I didn’t have enough books already, she picks this one up off of the shelf and says “oooh, Chris…I think YOU need this one!” And of course, I did. It just sounds like my kind of book. About a guy who leaves New York and moves to France to garden. Ah…the life. (Bought it)

14. Of Love and Other Demons by Gabriel Garcia Marquez – I had to get this one. It’s short and it sounds so good! It’s about a priest who goes to exorcise a young woman and falls in love with her. Right up my alley. (Bought it)

15. Kindred by Octavia Butler – Another one that I just don’t know who to blame really! I’ve heard so much about this one for so long now that I could blame any number of people. I’m just excited to actually have it now 😀 Can’t wait to read it!! (Bought it)

Actually not as bad as blame game points go as I thought it would be. Which is bad for me I guess because now I’m just buying without being able to push the blame off on other people :p Hopefully the books that I post on Sunday will have more blame to go around!!

13 Responses

  1. has the top floor of the house met the bottom floor of the house yet? heh..when they do I hope mom and brother and sister are all upstairs with the books! lol

    i wish i could be more varied in my reading like you are!… wait… maybe not..then I would have a tbr pile as big as yours! “nevermind” (spoken in my best lily tomlin baby talk)

  2. Seeing your (partial 😉 ) pile of books there is sort of bittersweet–it makes me smile thinking about wandering through the bookstores with you but it also kicks of the missing you a notch, you know. Not that the missing you could get much worse. 😦
    It just makes me so incredibly happy that House of the Scorpion reminds you of Dewey–I’ve no idea what made me pick that book for you, but I’m so glad I did.
    And you know what–you should be mighty proud of yourself for having read and reviewed two of these already! 😀

  3. Oooh, some of those look really good. Am especially looking forward to your post about My Queer War.

  4. So many good books on this list. I promise you, Mockingjay is worth being excited about! And you remember how much I was disappointed with Catching Fire. This infinitely makes up for that one!

  5. I hope you get more into Mockingjay! I loved it.

    I also hope you love Stop Me, I really liked that one.

  6. Great Haul!

  7. My dad has the Owls and Other Fantasties book! I read a few of the poems when I was visiting him- they’re quite good (and I’m not usually very keen on poetry, so that’s saying a lot!)

  8. Wow! Kindred! Good one! A good little book that!

  9. Ah, I feel so much better about my trip to the second-hand bookshop today. Thanks Chris! 😛

  10. Oh, and Dewey’s review put Scorpion on my wishlist too! Not managed to snag a copy yet though. Hope you love it.

  11. Deslily, Nope, it hasn’t fallen…yet…:p I’m waiting for it to though…any day now :p It’s not going to be a pretty sight, lol. And yeah, I’m hoping for everyone’s sake that they’re up here on the top floor too! And yeah..you probably don’t want to be as varied in your reading. It leads to danger! LOL

    Debi, Oh trust me. This post was very bittersweet to write! It made me think of you the whole time I was writing it! And think of all the times I was walking the bookstore aisles with you. I am proud of myself for reading two of these already!! Totally didn’t think I’d get as much as I have read in August…and it’s not even that much at all, lol.

    Court, I can’t wait to read that one!! It’s one of the ones that I’m most excited about!!

    Amanda, I wasn’t that excited about that one at first but I started reading it and the more I read, the more I’m getting into it! I’m enjoying it quite a bit!

    Amy, I’m totally into Mockingjay now!! It just took me a couple of chapters to get into. I was scared I wasn’t going to like it!! And yeah..I’m really excited about Stop Me 😀 I had tried to get that one from the library a few times without any luck!

    Melanie, Thanks! I’m really excited about them…and this is only half of them :p

    Jeane, It looks like SUCH a good book!! And I love the simple illustrations throughout it as well. I just love Mary Oliver so much. She’s fantastic. Glad you enjoyed them too 🙂

    Carole, I’m so super excited about Kindred!!! And me and Debi both got a copy of that one!!

    Darren, Well I’m glad that I could make you happy there :p And hooray for Dewey putting Scorpion on everyone’s wishlist!! I’ll let you know if it’s worth the read, though I’m sure it will be. Sounds really good!!

  12. OMG I must have the owl book! I looooove owls!!!

    Mockingjay was flipping awesome. You better watch it, I have plenty of rotten tomatoes I can throw. 😉

    I read French Dirt years ago. It’s quite good. I think you will love it.

    I really need to read more Octavia Butler. I really liked Fledgling.

  13. Heather, You should get it! It’s absolutely gorgeous. The poems just sound amazing and it has gorgeous little drawings throughout. I’m enjoying Mockingjay much more, so that should make you happy 🙂 And I’m so glad to hear that you read and enjoyed French Dirt!! That makes me happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

