A Bad Bad Bloggers Post

Yep…it’s bad this week. The shelves are starting to overflow again, so I thought it was just about time that I went ahead and got the books listed. The next bad bloggers post will likely be pretty bad too because it will be after a week long trip to visit with Debi in New York!!! I have a feeling that I may have to end up mailing a box of books home with all of the book shopping we’ll probably be doing :p But we’ll save that for next time. Let’s just deal with the 14 books at hand:

1. Me and the Pumpkin Queen by Marlane Kennedy – I asked Becky, the queen of book recommendations AND middle grade lit for some recommendations of middle grade books featuring gardening after reading Seed Folks. This was one of the books that she recommended! I’m so excited about reading all of them. Point to Becky! (Paperback Swap)

2. Bleak House by Charles Dickens – I finally have my very own copy of Bleak House! And oh it is so very very gorgeous!! Yeah, when it comes to classics, I like to have really nice editions. I don’t like the cheap, mass market paperbacks. So I bought this fancy Nonesuch Dickens edition. It’s a facsimile copy of the original, cloth bound with a leather spine. It has all of the original illustrations and everything. And a ribbon bookmark. Just GORGEOUS! Oh, and Darla D. made me really want to read this one back in the day, so she gets a point for this πŸ˜‰ (Bought it)

3. When Nietzsche Wept by Irvin Yalom – After reading Love’s Executioner, I wanted to get my hands on as much Yalom as possible. This is a novel that he wrote in which a protege of Freud’s conducts therapy with Nietzsche. Interesting, no? (Paperback Swap)

4. Love by Toni Morrison – I’m in love with this cover! I think it’s just so gorgeous. I’m still quite intimidated by Ms. Morrison, but Ana (Nymeth) just keeps convincing me that I simply must read her. And she’s done the same thing once again with Love. Point to Ana. (Paperback Swap)

5. Man’s Search For Meaning by Viktor Frankl – This is one of the classic texts of psychology, but from everything I’ve heard, it’s also quite a moving and wonderful little book. I’ve been meaning to read it for years, but after Trish’s recent review, I just had to have it now. So a point goes to Trish! (Paperback Swap)

6. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender – Ok…so I’m actually almost finished reading this one right now and guys, this book is incredible!!! I’ll tell you all about it in the review. Unless the ending is complete crap, I’m really going to love this one. And Heather is totally getting a huge point (and a huge thank you for bringing it to my attention) for this one even though she can’t make up her mind on whether or not she hates it or loves it :p (Bought it)

7. Foiled by Jane Yolen – My first ever Jane Yolen book!! Every time I go to a bookstore, the first section I go to is the graphic novel section. And I saw this purely by chance! It looked really interesting and knowing that Debi’s son was taking fencing lessons (the main character in this book fences) I decided to pick it up. I loved it! My review of it is here. (Bought it)

8. Market Day by James Sturm – This was another impulse buy from the graphic novel section! It looks completely incredible!! I don’t really know anything about it yet, so this is all you get for now :p (Bought it)

9. White Teeth by Zadie Smith – Another point for Ana. I’ve pondered reading this one for awhile now, but it wasn’t until her recent review of it that I actually went ahead and ordered it. (Paperback Swap)

10. Squashed by Joan Bauer – This is the second garden book that Becky recommended to me! I have a feeling that I’m going to want to grow pumpkins next year after reading this one AND The Pumpkin Queen :p Another point for Becky. (Paperback Swap)

11. Shadow Man by Cody McFadyen – Every now and then I like to read a good thriller. And I haven’t read one in ages. Well Debi recently read this one and she made it sound so damn good that I just felt like I had to read it too! So I sent for it on Paperback Swap! Point for Debi. (Paperback Swap)

12. Whale Talk by Chris Crutcher – Hmmm….I don’t even remember what this one is about or who to blame for it :/ Is it an LGBT book? I really don’t remember. I just know it’s been on my wishlist for a long time and my turn finally came up on PBS. Sad when you start getting books in the mail and you don’t even remember anything about them :/ (Paperback Swap)

13. Mandy by Julie Edwards – And this is the final book that I ordered that Becky recommended to me! This was her favorite of the bunch and for that reason, I can’t wait to read it!! This is actually written by Julie Andrews. Point to Becky. (Paperback Swap)

14. A Blind Man Can See How Much I Love You by Amy Tan – Just because you can never have enough Amy Tan short stories. (Paperback Swap)

15 Responses

  1. Ha! I just brought home Market Day from the library! As well as Foiled (based on your recommendation). Aarti reviewed Market Day recently. It’s historical fiction about a Jewish craftsman who is getting older and having a hard time supporting his family. That’s so cool that you’re going to read it too!

    πŸ˜€

  2. I hope you enjoy! It looks like you’ve got some great books! Joan Bauer is a great author I discovered just a few months before I started blogging so I don’t have reviews of her books. I really need to reread her at some point!

    I *really* need to give Dickens a try.

  3. Oh, I have a few of your books on my wishlist: Love, the Lemon Cake one (I just found out that I always call it Lemon Pie in my head somehow..) and White Teeth has been on my TBR pile for ever.

  4. *omg!*sigh*… i am speachless!

  5. I can’t wait to read your review of Lemon Cake. Maybe you can help me decide! LOL What a great stack of books… I was wishing, last night, for a brand new stack of books myself. *sigh* πŸ˜‰

  6. Oh, and by the way, thanks a LOT *dripping sarcasm* for introducing me to the Nonsuch Dickens books because now I want to own ALL OF THEM. ;Þ

  7. I really liked Market Day when I read it a few weeks ago! I didn’t love it as much when I was reading it, but when I started reviewing it, I realized that there was a lot going on and I liked it a lot more.

  8. I’ve meant to read Man’s Search for Meaning for an age now! Memo to self, bump it up the tbr list. I think that means you get a Bad Blogger point πŸ™‚

  9. When I was cleaning up the living room yesterday, I finally emptied out this big box that had a bunch of yarn I’d ordered in. As I was carrying the it downstairs, I thought, “Oooh, I should set this aside…it might be just perfect for mailing all the books Chris buys when he’s here that won’t fit in his suitcase.” True story. πŸ˜€

    I actually haven’t finished Shadow Man yet. When I impulsively started Unwind, I got addicted and set my other reads aside. And since I finished Unwind last week, I’ve sort of been in a reading slump–almost a whole week with no reading. 😦 But I did finally pick it back up just last night and got sucked back in immediately. Compelling, disturbing read, I tell you. But very good so far.

  10. Whahahaha! I love reading these. I have several of the ones you mentioned on my wishlist. Now there are new books on my wishlist because you’ve introduced me to them (Market Day!).

  11. White Teeth was good.

    I’ve been keeping my eye on that Lemon Cake book. People have been saying good things about it.

  12. Mandy is one of my favorite books from childhood. I loved it. I just finished the Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake. I thought it was good but not great. I can see why it might appeal more to your taste than mine though. lol πŸ™‚

  13. Personally, I did not care for either Toni Morrison’s work, nor White Teeth (I know! No poitns for me!). But, I did love Bleak House when it was on PBS a few winters ago, and I think I should follow suit and buy that novel. (Does having it on one’s Nook count?) And, Mandy is a charming book. I loved when I discovered that Julie Andrews wrote children’s books; The Last of The Really Great Whangdoodles is another great one by her.

  14. Amanda, Oh awesome πŸ˜€ And totally weird! I didn’t know that Aarti reviewed Market Day…how did I miss that? It must have been one of those days that I marked all as read :/ Anyway, I can’t wait to read it! Looks incredible!

    Becky, Wait, are you telling me that you’ve never read any Dickens?! I can’t believe this!!! I’d highly recommend starting with A Tale of Two Cities! It’s my favorite Dickens!! I absolutely adore that book. I read it in 8th grade and I’ve loved him ever since.

    Iris, Lemon Cake is SO SO SO good! You definitely have to read that one!! Love sounds incredibly. Can’t wait to read that one.

    Deslily, What can I say? Nothing really…there’s no excuse :p It’s shameful!

    Heather, My review is up now!!! I really loved it! Thought it was so good. And you totally deserve a stack of books :p Go get yourself one! Yeah..those nonesuch dickens books are AWESOME! I want them all!

    Aarti, Like I told Amanda, I have no idea how I missed your review of Market Day! I’m going to have to wait to read it now until after I finish it. Glad you liked it though! Really looking forward to that one πŸ™‚

    Fence, Hooray! I’ll always take a point πŸ™‚ I’ve been meaning to read that one for ages now too. It looks quite short too!

    Debi, LOL…great minds think alike :p You know that’s truly sad that you’re saving boxes for me to ship books home. Our habits are just entirely too bad, aren’t they! I had a whole week without reading recently too..don’t feel bad at all. I’ve only read two books so far this month and one was a GN! I’ve had a really bad summer. Can’t wait to read Shadow Man now!! Looks fantastic!

    Andi, Doesn’t Market Day look awesome? I hadn’t even heard of it before, but as soon as I saw it on the shelf I grabbed it up into my grubby little hands :p

    Colin, I’ve heard nothing but good stuff about White Teeth! Looking forward to that one. Lemon Cake is awesome! I think you’d really like that one. Definitely try it out!

    Brittanie, Yay, excited about Mandy πŸ˜€ I loved Lemon Cake! Really loved it…seems like you know my taste well πŸ˜‰

    Belleza, I still haven’t tried Toni Morrison, so the judgement is still out for me on her! I’m just totally intimidated by her! You should definitely read Bleak House!! Yes having it on the nook counts πŸ™‚ I had it on my nook too, but it’s just way too long to read on the Nook :p Oh, and thanks for letting me know about the other Andrews book!

  15. Has anybody pointed out to you that you meant Amy Bloom not Amy Tan? Teehee. (The former I haven’t tried and the latter I absolutely love and would love to know if she has a new book coming out πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

