What Are You Waiting For?

I love posts like this. Posts where people put up a list of all of the books that they’re waiting on pins and needles to hit the shelves! Every now and then I find a gem of a book that I had no idea was even due out! So I thought I’d put together a list of all of the books that I have on preorder right now and tell you a little bit about them. And MORE importantly, I thought I’d invite all of you to tell me what I’m missing! What’s coming out that I have to read that I don’t know about? Let me know!!! While I was browsing Amazon, I saw that they’re releasing a whole new line of the Sandman volumes. Does anyone know what’s different about these? Is it just the updated artwork that’s in the Absolute editions? Ok…here’s what I have preordered:

1. Fated by S. G. Browne – I’m THRILLED to death that there’s more S.G. Browne coming out!! Breathers: A Zombie’s Lament was one of my favorite books I read all year last year and I think it’s one of the most under the radar books out there. It really deserves much more attention than what it gets. I absolutely loved that one and when I heard about this book, the story of Fate who’s tired of his job..well, I just can’t wait to read it.

2. Handling the Undead by John Ajvide Lindqvist – Like with Breathers, I was blown away by this author after my first read of his work. That would be with Let the Right One in. Let the Right One in is by far one of the best, most original vampire stories I have ever read. Now I’m looking forward to seeing if Lindqvist can do the same thing with a zombie story! My money is leaning towards yes. So excited about this one!!

3. I’ll Get There. It Better Be Worth the Trip by John Donovan – This book is actually a reissue of an lgbt classic. It’s one of the first books to “deal openly with homosexuality”. And it just sounds like a really good story. I had actually never heard of this one before, but the tale sounded good enough for me to put an order in for it!

4. Matched by Ally Condie – Ok…so I had NO intention at all of ever reading this book. In fact, I was all ANTI-matched. But then Amanda (who had every reason not to promote this book :p) read it and seemed to really love it. And she met Ms. Condie and I have to say she sounds like a lovely person! And the story just sounds really good. So yeah…I’ve ordered it.

5. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – So who hasn’t preordered this book :/ I’m actually kind of completely over The Hunger Games right now. I could kind of care less what happens in this book ๐Ÿ˜ฎ don’t shoot me. That will probably totally change once I actually start reading this book. But when a book gets hyped up so much I just want to run away from it and never hear about it again. I’m sure I’ll enjoy it though.

6. The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoffย  – Um…I actually have no idea what this book is about :/ Someone briefly mentioned the plot and I remember thinking that I might be interested in it, but I really just bought it because I figured I couldn’t go wrong with that cover >>

7. Room by Emma Donoghue – OMG OMG OMG. I can’t even describe how much I’m obsessing over the release of this book. And it was seriously all brought on by Aarti’s amazing review of it. She deserves the Baddest of Bad Blogger points for making me want this book SO BAD! This book just sounds absolutely incredible. About a boy who has been traumatized along with his mother and shut away from the world seeing the world for the first time after escaping from a room that he’s been kept in.

8. The Unwritten Volume 2: Inside Man by Mike Carey – I read the first volume of this amazing graphic novel series and never did get around to reviewing it which is unfortunate. Because it’s amazing. All I can tell you is GO READ IT!!! You won’t regret it. It has some amazing literary references in it and it’s just such a wonderful new graphic novel series. And the new volume is coming out really soon ๐Ÿ˜€

So what are you waiting for? What are you looking forward to? And what am I missing?!

14 Responses

  1. Those all look really good! I have a few in ARC form…and the Hunger Games can withstand the hype, I believe…I hope! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Was this really necessary, Chris?!! I’d never even heard of half of these, and now I feel like I need to add everything to my wish list.

    Can you believe I haven’t even read Catching Fire yet? I think I was the only person on the planet who thought The Hunger Games ended perfectly and didn’t want a sequel. Oh well, I did buy it, so I ought to get around to reading it one of these days. To be perfectly honest…I think some of my negative attitude has to do with the hype as well.

  3. What are you missing? Is that a joke? You miss nothing !! lol..

    I had to laugh when you said you bought the Replacement due to the cover.. before I read what you wrote that was the cover I wondered about lol..some of these artists are darn good!

    I don’t think I am waiting on too many books for a change but I’ll have to check on ye old wish list lol

  4. *gasp* Shooting you Chris! How can you be over Hunger Games? ๐Ÿ˜›

    You know I have Let The Right One In on my shelf. (Shhh!!! It’s been there for over a year) and still haven’t read it. My goal is to read it in October this year. And also, I have Breathers on my wish list. I s’posse I need to read these two since the authors are coming out with two more!!

  5. That was me who mentioned The Replacements on my vlog back from BEA, and mostly I raved about the cover…do I get a Bad Bloggers point for that?? ๐Ÿ˜€ I didn’t know you wanted it – I did a twitter giveaway for my copy a few weeks back. Ironically, another male blogger named Chris won! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Matched is good. I hope you like it. And I hope one day to get a copy of MatchMakers to you, too.

  6. Don’t forget A Tale Dark & Grimm by Adam Gidwitz! It releases in November.

  7. Oooh, yes that The Replacement cover is wonderful!
    Also have Room on the tbr list, soon as we get it in at work I’ll be nabbing it.

  8. Totally ignoring the HG comment! ๐Ÿ˜›

    More books to add to my wishlist. Fantastic. ๐Ÿ˜‰ That Lindqvist sounds really interesting!

  9. Aaaagh, I am so excited about the second volume of The Unwritten, even though I’m pretty sure I’ve read all the single issues that it comprises. I love that series, and I cannot wait to see where it’s headed.

  10. I received ARCs of Matched and The Replacement in the mail last week – they both look fantastic!

  11. Since I’ve been trying to be good I haven’t been searching as much for what is coming out, so I’m not sure exactly what specific books I am excited for. With all sincerity I can say “Neil Gaiman’s next novel”, but I’m not holding my breath for that one, whatever it may be.

    A perfect example of the Collins books and hype is the fact that I had thought this one was already out. I was surprised to see it on your list. I’ve see it and heard about it so much for so long I just assumed.

  12. Oh Chris! I’m reading ROOM right now and let me tell you buddy, you are right to be salivating over it. It. Is. AMAZING. You will love it.

    I did something unprecedented. I have August 24 an 25th off of work. ALL to stay HOME and read MOCKINGJAY! I have never done that before, not even for a Harry Potter! I cannot wait!!!!

    I want Matched too and now I want Fated too. Thanks a LOT Chris. ;รž

  13. Oh, I’ve been waiting for Handling the Undead since Bride raved about it last year! I so very much want to get this, even though I have Let the Right One In on my TBR shelf too! lol I saw the movie of it, and it was so very good. I’ve heard of Suzanne Collins because of book bloggers, but haven’t read anything yet. Maybe Debi and I can start a support group for people who haven’t read Catching Fire yet! lol

    What I’m waiting for, good question. Mostly mysteries to come out in softcover, though I am also waiting for The Kraken by China Mieville to be soft cover too. I can’t carry hardcover books, they are too heavy for my back. Oh, The Passage by Justin Cronin too, in soft cover ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. i think i’ll have to bite the bullet and preorder the hardback of Handling the Undead. I haven’t bought a hardback at the release date since the last Harry Potter book but i know i cannot wait for the library to get it. I almost bought it off the british amazon last year after reading Let the Right One In. do you think you’ll see the american remake of that movie?

Leave a Reply

