Bad Bloggers! 8/1/10 and a Reading Journal Post

I can’t believe it’s August already! The eighth month of the year! And the hottest 😦 Today one of the streets around me actually buckled from the heat. Looks like that scene in the horrible Tom Cruise War of the Worlds where the aliens first come and split the streets open. My reading normally drops to about um….3 pages per month when the heat gets like this. Basically I don’t feel like doing anything but laying naked in a pool of ice cubes when it’s this hot. Yeah, try scrubbing that image from your eyeballs :p Somehow, I’ve still managed to read a little bit lately though!

I finished Coop by Michael Perry last night and I absolutely loved it!! Just as good as everyone said it was. Different from what I was expecting, but there were moments of just perfection in that book. I’ll be reviewing it on August 16th for Andi’s Bookclub Sandwich! I’ll also just happen to be in New York visiting Debi at that time too πŸ˜€ I can’t tell you how excited I am about that!!! Just two weeks now!!!!

Now that I’m finished with Coop, I’m on to Lonely Werewolf Girl by Martin Millar which was sent to me as an ARC and totally should’ve been read by now :/ Also just started Heirloom by Tim Stark which looks really cool! I started talking to Trish the other day about reading War & Peace with me….sort of jokingly and it quickly turned serious! It’s been my nemesis book for a long time. I have that gorgeous blue version that came out a couple of years ago and it taunts me all the time from my bookshelf. So it looks like we may be doing that eventually. But first it looks like Amanda may be hosting a read along of Bleak House!! I’ve been wanting to read that one for AGES!! Excited about that too πŸ™‚ Though I kind of feel horrible joining another classic read along because I sort of just dropped Middlemarch 😦 I was enjoying it too! I don’t know why I didn’t go back to it 😦 I guess I always can, right?

Right! So Bad Bloggers!! Not too bad this week. Especially considering that three books (2 not pictured) were gifts from a friend that were totally unexpected and oh so sweet πŸ˜€ But still…I cannot continue to accrue books at this rate :p

1. The First Part Last by Angela Johnson – Long ago when I had lofty dreams of actually completing the Printz project, I wanted to read this one. But then I abandoned that dream. And then Amanda reviewed this one and put it back on the top of my priority list by making it sound so irresistible! Point for Amanda!! (Paperback Swap)

2. An Instance of the Fingerpost by Iain Pears – I hadn’t even heard of this book before until Deslily reviewed it the other day. It’s a murder mystery set in the 17th century and sounds right up my alley! It’s a chunkster but she says it reads fairly quickly. Love those!! Point to Pat πŸ™‚ (Paperback Swap)

3. Rash by Pete Hautman – So excited about this one!!! I know that Becky loves loves loves this one! And when Becky loves loves loves a book, you know it’s going to be good! Point for Becky. (Paperback Swap)

4. The Selected Poems of Emily Dickinson – This was my first surprise gift of the week. I came home one day and had a package waiting for me from over seas! No idea what it could be. It was from the lovely Shanra πŸ˜€ She sent me three wonderful poetry collections! This was the first! (Gift from a friend)

5. Selected Poems From the Goddesses by Mo-jo Kuo (not pictured) – Another lovely surprise from Shanra! This is a thin little volume and it looks just wonderful. (Gift from a friend)

6. Barrack-Room Ballads by Rudyard Kipling (not pictured) – This is the last of the books from Shanra and I think this is my favorite!! This book is so beautiful! It’s bound in read leather with gold foil lettering and it just has an old time feel to it. And it’s Rudyard Kipling!! Can’t wait to read it πŸ™‚ (Gift from a friend)

7. The Backyard Homestead by Carleen Madigan – I’ve been wanting this book for so long and I finally broke down and bought it today during a trip to Borders. It is SUCH an awesome book!! It has everything you need to know about living sustainably. Yes, I know how to milk a goat now!! It also tells you everything you need to know about growing anything and then how to can it, pickle it and save it’s seeds afterwards! Fantastic book! (Bought it)

8. Heirloom by Tim Stark – Picked this one up on a whim today while looking for The Backyard Homestead. It sounded too good to pass up! The author was compared to Barbara Kingsolver, so I had to have it :p It’s about a guy leaving his job as a government official to become a farmer. I’ve really been into these types of books lately!! There’s just something so wonderful about living with the land and something great about reading about it too. (Bought it)

9 Responses

  1. So excited to see you have Rash!!!! I hope you like it πŸ™‚

    I think you’ll enjoy First Part Last. Angela Johnson is a great writer. And there are two more in that trilogy. (Well,three companion novels.)

    I look forward to reading your thoughts on Instance of Fingerpost because her review made me put it on my wishlist too!

  2. Yay for Angela Johnson! That’s a really good readathon book, short and quick and powerful! I missed the conversation about W&P vs Bleak House and the timing of all that (I was out to dinner with the boys, since Jason’s in Chicago), but I’m thrilled to hear you might read it with us! We’re going to start in a couple weeks and read about 80-90 pages/week for 10 weeks. That sounds doable, and you like Dickens right?

    The one really great thing about this August: you’ll get out of New Orleans and into some nice cool weather for at least a short break!

  3. Oh my! I got the blame! lol… I sure hope you like it! (Becky too!) I am shocked you put Middlesex down!.. I think you need to try to get down to one book at a time again (unless one is at work and one home). You drive me crazy reading so many books at once lol..

    Like Amanda says: you will be going to NY this month!! woohoo! I am jealous! lol.. take lots of pictures and share them when you get home!

  4. Russian literature intimidates me SO much!

  5. Backyard Homestead sounds so neat! I keep trying to convince my parents that we should get some pet chickens when we move, but they’re not buying it. lol

  6. Okay, I really want that Homestead book now. Just the info on how to save seeds would be worth it for me!

  7. I have An Instance of the Fingerpost by Iain Pears on my tbr list, it is an upcoming group read, so I’ll *have* to get to it soon πŸ™‚

  8. Emily Dickinson! Emily Dickinson! EmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmilyEmily

    DICKINSON!

  9. I’m over hear squealing because you’re going to read Lonely Werewolf Girl. I have it on my stack. I haven’t read it yet either. I don’t know why. Well, actually, I do know why. It is because I have too many books in TBR status (you saw my Library Thing account!) and that ones “ticket” hasn’t come up yet. Now you are making me want to drop my current book and start reading that one right now. But I won’t because I’m reading Howl’s Moving Castle and having too much fun. Can I give Bad Blogger points to you for making me want to abandon my current book to read that one?? Smile.

Leave a Reply

