Saturday Farmers Market 7/31/10 – Pickles!

It’s WAY too hot down here in New Orleans…entirely too hot to even think…much less to go outside and garden for more than like 2 minutes. Unless you feel like getting a case of the heat stroke. So I thought I’d stay indoors today for this edition of Heather’s Saturday Farmer’s Market and give you a recipe I made today for homemade pickles! This’ll work for Beth Fish’s Weekend Cooking too! I got this recipe from the August/September issue of Organic Gardening – a magazine that I’ve subscribed to and have fallen in love with. This recipe is for Audrey’s Pickles. Here’s what it calls for:

A 2 Quart canning jar or container of any kind, really
1 pound of medium size cucumbers (I found that 2 medium cucumbers were just about 1 pound)
3 cloves of garlic
1/2 teaspoon of black peppercorns
1/2 teaspoon of whole mustard seed
1 teaspoon fresh dill weed
1 whole dried bay leaf
2/3 cup brown sugar
6 1/2 Tablespoons White Distilled Vinegar
6 1/2 Tablespoons White Wine Vinegar
3/4 cup of water

Chop up your cucumbers into spears or slices…whichever you’d prefer. I halved my cucumbers, then halved them again, then cut them into thirds, giving me 24 spears. From there, you put the cucumber spears, the garlic (which I chopped into large pieces), peppercorns, mustard seed, dill weed and bay leaf into the container.

In a separate bowl, combine your vinegars and water and stir it well, then simply pour it over your cucumbers in the jar! Give it a really good shake, after you’ve put the lid on the jar of course πŸ˜‰ That’s it!! No need to go through the canning process or anything. These will stay good for up to three months in the fridge according to the article. And they’re ready to eat in as little as 24 hours from preparation, but let them sit for at least 24 hours to soak up all that goodness. Can’t wait to try them tomorrow!! If you’re worried about them looking pretty, you may want to transfer them to a one quart jar after you’ve shaken them and let them marinade because it only actually takes up about half the jar…but I’m not that worried :p

Even though there are no pictures of the garden, I thought I’d give you a brief update of what’s going on…the okra are producing like CRAZY!!! Okra must like heat. I’ve gotten six okra in the last 2 days, which is a lot for one plant. The jalapenos are starting to produce quite a bit too, and I have three white eggplant growing now! The little baby one from last week is a good size now. The sunflowers are taking off like crazy now. Those things grow quick! I tied up my black eye peas today because they were starting to fall over. And my favorite new little garden critters are the little anole lizard hatchlings πŸ™‚ So very adorable!! They’re eating up some of the bugs in the garden. I keep finding them on the plants and they just make me giggle they’re so cute. Here’s a little guy on my coneflower pot:

That’s it for me this week! How does your garden grow?

17 Responses

  1. I made a cucumber salad tonight that’s basically Asian-tasting pickles; I’m glad I have it because otherwise I’d be drooling on my keyboard at those pictures. πŸ˜€

    My hostmom in Russia was the best canner…she gave me her pickled tomato recipe if you ever want it. They’re sooo good, and once they’re gone you can drink the juice. I wish I’d gotten her pickled eggplant recipe too: I remember slices of eggplant were tied w/ string around a shredded cabbage/carrot mixture, and that she called it Armenian style (her mother-in-law was Armenian). Maybe I’ll have to try to find it on the internet, but I think it requires ‘real’ canning (the tomato recipe is like the one you shared-just keep it in the fridge and no worries).

  2. I need a few of them lizards in my garden. πŸ™‚

    Sounds like an easy pickle recipe too.

  3. I have never tried to make a pickle…sounds easy and yummy.

  4. Ooooh, just look at that cute little lizard!!! I need to come back and see them in person again. πŸ˜€

    Well, I hate to admit it, but I am not a pickle fan. But if we start getting a lot of cucumbers, I think I’m definitely going to try your recipe for the rest of the crew here (all of whom do like pickles). We just ate our first garden cucumber of the season tonight–I swear it was the best cucumber I’ve ever had. Ahhh, fresh garden produce! πŸ˜€

  5. Pickles pickles pickles pickles pickles!!!!!!!

  6. Agh! My comment disappeared! 😦 It might reappear after I post it again, just to warn you. All I wanted to do was tell you how excited I am about pickles… :/

  7. Pickles! without canning! I have short, fat cucumbers or I’d try that! we eat them too fast, fresh off the vine. I love the little lizard- so cute. Wish I had him in my garden to eat bugs. We had a little toad once, but my kid kept wanting to catch and hold him and I guess he didn’t like it because he disappeared and never came back.

  8. Eva, I totally want that pickled tomato recipe πŸ˜€ I’ve never heard of pickled tomatoes before, but that actually sounds really good and like something that I would really like!! Can you email it to me if you don’t mind? I still think it’s so awesome that you lived in Russia πŸ™‚

    Other Chris, I’d ship you some if I could :p They’re cute little guys and they can have all of the bugs they want!

    Caite, They were extremely easy!! I’ll find out tomorrow how good they are, but I’m guessing they’ll be pretty darn tasty πŸ™‚

    Debi, Isn’t that lizard adorable? You would absolutely love all of these little lizards we have all over the place right now!! You should totally try this pickle recipe for the rest of the crew!! It was so so so simple. Even I can do it :p And I’m not a fan of cucumbers any way aside from pickled :p So this works for me. You can have ’em fresh, I’ll eat ’em pickled :p And yay for fresh, delicious, best tasting produce ever right out of the garden!!

    Amanda, Hooray!! I salvaged your comment πŸ˜€ It ended up in the spam section for some reason 😦 But I pulled it out!! And I have to say that it is one of the best comments ever πŸ˜€ Now you see, I finally found something about gardening that you could love!! You can make your OWN pickles :p

    Jeane, You can totally make this with short, fat cucumbers! You would just have longer spears! Just don’t cut the cucumber in half when you’re making your spears. Isn’t that lizard adorable πŸ˜€ Love the story with Isa and the toad πŸ˜€ That’s too cute. Maybe he’ll come back!

  9. I love how easy those refrigerator pickles are. I am starting to get an abundance of pickles from my CSA, so I may just have to make these this week. Oh and I love how you can eat them the next day and do not have to can.

    The cover to the magazine looks beautiful. I may have to pick up an issue next time I’m at the bookstore.

  10. Oh Chris. Your pickles sound so yummy! I think I’ll be trying that recipe! πŸ™‚ And I have to get my hands on that magazine.

    My okra has really taken off as well. It’s almost as tall as me!! I have three freezer bags stuffed full of the stuff. I think we’ll be frying some up soon! Yum! I can’t wait!

  11. Well, it’s been a long time since I’ve seen him! But I took some pictures here.

  12. Yum. Drive down to Orlando and bring me some. πŸ™‚

  13. What a great recipe! I would never think of making pickles (but then, I’m not a real cook), I like the idea of this!

  14. Yum! I wish I could taste them, I may have to try this one myself. So glad to see the anoles, all I have in my garden right now are squirrels eating the strawberries!

  15. Mmmmm–will you be pickling any of that Okra? πŸ™‚ I’m so envious of your garden–do you find yourself watering all the time? I did a bit of weeding this morning (early before the heat set in) and the ground is dry and as hard as a rock. I finally dug up my dead impatiens, but the begonias seem to do fine in the heat. But I hear ya–too damn hot to do ANYTHING! Even read…

  16. Beth, They’re super simple!! And they’re delicious. I tried them today and they’re sweet with a hint of spice. And super crunchy πŸ˜€ I highly recommend trying them out! Definitely pick up the magazine if you get a chance. I love it. It’s a cover to cover magazine!

    Heather, They are! I tried them today and they’re great! My okra is as tall as me too! And it’s still growing. It’s putting out more and more okra. I’m thinking it might be time to make some stewed okra or a gumbo with some of this stuff πŸ™‚

    Jeane, yay πŸ™‚ I’ll be off to check them out in a sec!

    Christina, If I had the time, I totally would πŸ™‚

    Leeswammes, Trust me! I’m not a real cook either by any means!! These are so easy though πŸ™‚ You’d have fun making them!!

    Gavin, You should totally make them!! They’re delicious. Aren’t the little anole lizards adorable? We have plenty of squirrels around here too, but so far, they’re leaving everything alone :p

    Trish, I would love to pickle some of the okra but I don’t know how to do that really :/ I bought a book today though that explains the pickling process though, so I may try it out!! Yeah, I have to water every day and sometimes that still doesn’t seem like enough 😦 It’s just so damn hot!!! One thing that really sucks about living in the south!

  17. I love to make pickles but not in the hot weather. This is a wonderful solution. I’m going to give it a try this weekend. I’d love to try the pickled tomatoes too. I hope you’ll share the recipe.

Leave a Reply

